Ratings based on 128 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely and sparkling clean.

Posted Dec 28, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely hotel with a perfect location for enjoying a walk through Carmona.
5 out of 5
by Caroline from Cymru/ Wales

A truly wonderful hotel.

Posted Jun 13, 2016 on Hotels
Wonderful hotel: lovely pool: excellent food: very friendly and helpful staff. We overshot the entry road to the hotel and the charming young gentleman at the reception desk came out to sort out our problem. Carmona is a real gem of a town. We would certainly stay at this hotel again. Very good value for money. We can not fault it.
5 out of 5
by matthew from London

Relaxed

Posted May 30, 2016 on Hotels
Very relaxed, helpful staff. Generally attractive.We were in Carmona for a friend's party and this was ideal.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Essex, England

Weekend trip to Seville to see the Feria de Abril.

Posted Apr 18, 2016
Pros: Huge room overlooking the most incredible view. Staff were very helpful and friendly and the breakfast was delicious and plentiful.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Carmona lovely town, although roads really narrow.
Hotel was wonderful, the building was full of cultural charm and the staff were most helpful. Carmona is a lovely town although the streets are extremely narrow: if hiring a car I would recommend that you book a very small one, as you will struggle to get around corners. Feria de Abril was amazing and is a trip that I would recommend to everyone - make sure to allow a couple of days and stay for the last evening to see the fireworks. Seville is incredible, lots of historical buildings from different eras and a gem around every corner.
5 out of 5
by MARIA TERESA from Madrid

Excellent for handicapped people. Poor parking

Posted Jan 7, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel Alcazar de la Reina is very good in overall terms and the room was excellent specially for handicapped people, with a bench in the shower. The New Year´s eve special dinner was also very good. The only weak point is the lack of parking (the hotel has an underground parking but not big enough for all the rooms). And the Wifi, with the user and password, I could not do it work for my iPad
4 out of 5
by hoi ting from Hong kong

Discover more

Posted Oct 11, 2015 on Hotels
If you really love Spain and discover another side of it, pls add Carmona this charming and small town in your plan! This hotel is safe and contains big room. Around 15mins walk from the Bus station to Seville.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from West Sussex UK

Nice Hotel BUT

Posted Sep 16, 2015
Pros: Design, layout of rooms and staff.
Cons: Improve on experience if posible.
Location: Location convenient for us.
Third stay but 1. Narrow streets, narrow streets to damage sides of vehicle at times, closed off for carnivals, smallLoca car's recommend 2. Lousy breakfast 3 Wet room overlows into bedrom. (room 109) but nice hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 15, 2015
Pros: Location, and cleanliness
Location: Did not have time to explore, but will be able on the next stay.
Lovely hotel, and seems to be place the "locals" enjoy. Food is very good, and the rooms are clean and bathrooms are huge!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portugal

Does not warrant five star rating

Posted Nov 27, 2014
Pros: The architecture was impressive
Cons: The whole hotel organisation.
Location: Location impressive, but very little to do on foot. A small map of the area would have been useful
Difficult to find without a GPS. Parking facilities poor. Indoor parking expensive., difficult to get out of. No information regarding restaurant opening times etc. At 8.00 pm we tried to enter the restaurant, door locked, called receptionist who came to the restaurant door, knocked, no reply and the inside light was then turned off. She then went and entered the restaurant by another entrance and we heard arguments, shouting. We then went to the nearby hotel, Casa de Carmona, another supposedly five star hotel. We were the only people in the restaurant. We ordered our meal and a bottle of white wine. We were brought water without ordering which was poured from a jug, which was then removed from the table. He then brought a bottle of wine, which he proceeded to open and poured into both glasses without the opportunity to taste / reject. The wine turned out to be acceptable. He then took the bottle away, there was not a cooler by the table, and we had to ask each time to have our wine and water glasses refilled. On paying the bill, we found that we had been charged twenty six euros for the wine. When we queried why we had not been shown the wine list, they were not forthcoming, but kept insisting that they were a five star hotel, so this is how we presume they operate. The meal was acceptable, but the portions of hake were meagre and the meal was padded out with small cheese on toast. The final bill was ninety five seventy euros for two.
4 out of 5
by Peter from Nerja

Traditional Spanish decor in this grand hotel

Posted Oct 14, 2014 on Hotels
A good location for this traditional hotel. We parked on the road outside the hotel but there is a fee paying car park if you prefer. The square at the rear can be a little noisy as the windows are original but this is to be accepted in a historic building. Free wi Fi is good but no tea making facilities in the rooms. Again this is not unusual. Beds were clean and comfortable and the rooms spacious. Streets in Carmona are all cobbled so wear sensible shoes.