Ratings based on 122 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Decent location, decent price.

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Pros: Good value, helpful staff.
Cons: Our view, but that's the luck of the draw,
Location: Opposite the Alcazar and 5 mins from centre of town.
As the title says, decent value. Short walk into town which means less noise. Small room but didn't spend much time in there and when we did, the shower and air con were invaluable. Staff were friendly and helpful as well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean, modern, good value, pleasant staff.

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Used the hotel for a short sightseeing stay with a friend. Wanted somewhere near the old town, and could not fault it on that basis. Upper room had view over Cathedral. It is plain and honest, very clean and modern, and the room and bathroom were spotless. The only slight disappointment was the breakfast, which was low quality and 'canned'.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Hotel Alkazar.

Posted Sep 10, 2016
Cons: 1 of the two coffee machines.
Location: A short walk from the old town.
Excellent value, good staff and great breakfast. Good location for all attractions.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from TX

Great basic hotel in perfect location

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Pros: Location, friendly staff, clean and safe. Oh, and did I mention the location?
Cons: I'm in my 70s, and consider an elevator to be a basic necessity. They have one, but you have to lug your stuff up 6 stairs to get to it.
Location: You're across the street from the pedestrianized old part of the city: the Alcázar, the Cathedral, Santa Cruz.
I knew I wanted to be out and see the historical sights, and not spend time in the room. I was looking for a place near the Alcázar that was clean, safe, and had an elevator and wifi. For a good price. Bingo! With those criteria, this is a 5. No glitz, just a good basic hotel in a great location with nice people. It was beastly hot outside, but the a-c worked just fine. You're right by the Alcázar, cathedral and Santa Cruz, with neighborhood sidewalk eateries.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 7, 2016
Clean, comfortable hotel in a good location. Windows opaque, with poor view when windows open. Most of the staff were helpful but one or two were particularly rude/unhelpful. Breakfast poor.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Basic hotel that can accommodate a large group.

Posted May 4, 2016
Pros: Nice helpful staff, clean rooms, proximity to Old Town.
Cons: The breakfast, and duvet covers instead of two sheets tucked in so tight you have to bend your feet over to lie down.
Location: Once you've crossed the four-lane highway right outside the hotel, you can walk through the gardens to the Barrio Santa Cruz in five minutes.
I stayed here for a week as part of a large group and I understand why our organisers put us there: it's close to the Old Town, across the road from the Alcazar gardens and not TOO expensive. But you have a choice between rooms that overlook a busy main road, or rooms that look into a small and gloomy light well. My room was extremely small and on the second floor so I could not see the sky even if I wanted to poke my head out of the very small high window. There's air conditioning but it's noisy. However, the staff are very nice, friendly and helpful, and it is all very clean: shower, storage space and lighting are also all fine. Like most hotels, they have not yet discovered how to use duvet covers. The breakfast is limited: large tough apple, orange or banana, or tinned fruit salad; cornflakes or puffed wheat; doughy croissants or sliced white bread; slices of processed cheese or ham; recalcitrant coffee/tea machines. If you're with a large group and have plenty to get on with away from the hotel it's probably a satisfactory deal; if you're travelling alone or with partner/family and looking for a pleasant place to retreat to when you're tired of walking on cobbled streets in the heat, don't go there!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from singapore

Reasonably price hotel very close to attractions

Posted Jan 5, 2016
Pros: Hotel location is most ideal.
Cons: Direction to the underground can be improved. Never expected to be in another building carpark.
Location: Be sure to visit the Alzahar, Cathedral, Palacio Espana and the nearby park/garden.
Hotel is located close to the Real Alzahar and the main Cathedral. The labyrinth narrow lanes between the Alzahar and Cathedral is a great place to explore. Can never seems to find my way out. Fantastic tapas joints, handicraft, spices, restaurants and services shops lined these lanes. Try the Segway tour for a quickly wonderful history of the city.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Buffalo, NY

Too Noisy

Posted Oct 19, 2015
Pros: Comfortable bed, comfortable location close to major sites.
Cons: Do something about the echo.
Hotel room, staff, and location were all fine. Everything outside and inside the room was marble and plaster, so the echoes were awful. Lots of noisy tour groups keeping me up late and waking me up early. Not a fan.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Close to the cultural sights

Posted Oct 14, 2015
This hotel came recommended by my sister and her husband who stayed there the previous year. It lived up to and surpassed our expectations. The room was clean and basically furnished with a very good bathroom, with bath and adaptable hand held shower which is the ideal combination. A comfort room meant we had a great view over to the Jardines del Icazar. Double glazing meant we heard no outside traffic noise at all. A top feature was the absolute friendliness and helpfulness of the reception desk team who were smilingly efficient. A really great value place to stay and I would certainly be happy to stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, ON

Posted Oct 3, 2015
Great location - walking distance to major attractions, spainish square, cathedral, alcazar etc.