Ratings based on 70 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Beautiful hotel in the heart of Seville

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Pros: Comfortable beds, large well-equipped bathrooms (plenty of hot water), pleasant staff and main reception rooms that felt like a very upmarket hotel.
Cons: Very little could be improved upon for the price. If one paid more some additional services would be expected, but this was 100% for the price.
Location: Central, well-served by cafes for simple meals and slightly more elaborate meals, although the majority were based on tapas menus. Good for breakfast
The hotel, a collection of old houses (more than 20) connected and inter-connected by courtyards, underground passages and internal gardens is a beautiful and, although obviously commercial, integral part of Seville. Through Expedia we had rooms at the 'affordable' end of the range and they were excellent -- clean, comfortable, and hidden away enough to make us feel we were staying deep in a secret quarter of this ancient city. The hotel was very central, easily walkable to many of the main attractions (Cathedral, Real Alcazar) and well served by good local cafes and restaurants. Although not provided by the hotel, there were clear skies and a warm sun in early February, and that only added to a very happy experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Loved this hotel, very quirky...

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Pros: The comfy beds, the quirky décor and the lovely staff.
Cons: Redecoration of the grout in the bathroom to take away the black and make it more pleasing to the eye.
Location: Fantastic location, loads of restaurants and bars.
We enjoyed our stay in this hotel. It's a very different experience to the norm as it isn't laid out in one building. It is lots of different buildings all joined together by tunnels so you effectively stay in a house. Very quirky décor, old fashioned beds etc., which just adds to the charm. The photos don't do it justice really. The main building houses the reception and the piano bar, seating area etc., which is just lovely and we enjoyed a cocktail whilst sitting in this lounge area listening to the music. Excellent pianist. The hotel reception staff were so friendly and helpful, as were the room service staff. We were personally disappointed in the spa and couldn't recommend it - very expensive for use of the Jacuzzi pools which were warm to cold and a sauna which wasn't a sauna at all, just a room with candles. The steam room was the only room that fitted the description in terms of steam but the seat was so hot you couldn't sit on it in places. This area definitely lets the hotel down as when you first walk in to the spa you get the wow factor which then very quickly goes downhill. We didn't have a massage so can't comment on the quality of that. Overall we had a great 2 night stay here and would recommend. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Fantastic location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto Canada

Beautiful historic and elegant hotel

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Historic and elegant in a perfect location. Excellent staff .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vermont

Great hotel with amazing location!

Posted Feb 2, 2017
This hotel was wonderful! The staff was so friendly and helpful. The hotel is absolutely beautiful and set up in such a unique way. The location is perfect, it is close to the shopping streets, the main center, and also parks. My husband and I loved this hotel and highly recommend it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cambridge, UK

Excellent hotel to explore old Seville

Posted Jan 10, 2017
Pros: The variety of homes that make up the hotel and the little courtyards.
Location: An excellent place to stay to visit the old city, within walking distance of everything you would like to see, eat or drink!
This hotel is an experience in itself. What a wonderful place to stay. Every step takes you to another area of beauty and wonder to be explored. The swimming pool was an excellent place to cool off after a hot day exploring the city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London UK

Quirky but stylish hotel

Posted Jan 5, 2017
Collection of interlinked houses in the old Jewish quarter. Navigating the route to your room can be tricky at first, but the rooms are first rate as is the breakfast in the basement dining-room. The staff are helpful, the hotel is convenient for the Alcazar and Cathedral and also has a stylish Piano Bar.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

a set up for disappointment

Posted Jan 4, 2017
Pros: nothing
Cons: clearer explaination of upscale hotel vs. cheap rooms so that guests aren't frustrated, disappointed, and angry.
The fancy online photos presented on the website are a far cry from the "inexpensive" rooms located FAR from the main hotel in a dark street of one-star pensiones. The check-in for the 'cheap" rooms is a bare room with a space heater, and minimal/no concierge help. The rooms were cold and LOUD with echoing conversations and footsteps all night long as people checked in and out of hotel and used wifi. No wifi in rooms, only in courtyard outside our door(winter even). The movement and activity of people caused echoes reverberating in the several level stone/hard surface courtyard constantly. Finally, with the exception of the first night's guard, all employees were unsympathetic. When we requested a room change the next morning because we received no sleep the first night, a minimal one was offered, at the cost of separating our children from us, as well as no double bed for us. we chose to think over. When returning from our trip to Cordoba, reception denied that a room change was offered, at one point straight up charging that my husband was a liar (all of this in front of our children.) When we returned to the room, a room change miraculously materialized on a higher floor, however there was a moldy smell in the new room(w/problematic allergens), and the shower did not drain properly. the manager was never on site as we repeatedly requested to speak with them. The staff's behavior was unacceptable for dealing with customers. It pretty much ruined Seville
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Unusual Hotel

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Pros: It's uniqueness
Cons: Showing how to get to the rooms at the back of the buildings, especially when you take a wrong turning!
Location: Near to tapas bars and all the main attractions all within walking distance
The hotel is definitely different! as our room was at the back of the complex we had fun winding our way up and down the complex, through courtyards across a small street and then through passages to reach the room. It took us a couple of days before we didn't go the wrong way but we loved looking at the surroundings on our route and it did cause laughter.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Quirky and very special.

Posted Dec 9, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: Wi-fi
If you have any life left in you then you will love this hotel. I see from previous reviews that some people objected to getting lost trying to find their room. This problem only lasts a couple of days and why not get lost in magical little courtyards and mosaic lined passages ? It's called fun ! The hotel is like a group of villas and dwarf palaces joined together and not a single monolithic block. It's more than just a place to stay, it is an experience. The staff are wonderfully friendly and helpful and the location must be the best in Seville unless, possibly, you are there on business in which case you probably shouldn't be there at all. PS The little cafe literally on the other side of the road to the hotel main entrance is excellent until you get your bearings and become more adventurous
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Unique hotel. Great location.

Posted Dec 3, 2016
Loved the uniqueness and historic feel with terrific beds and very clean.