Ratings based on 349 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sammamish

Very expensive

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Very expensive. No parking in hotel had to park in open street a block away from hotel. The Air conditioner was not working and we were given a fan as alternative. Considering the cost it is not value for money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Historical Hotel

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: the restaurant/bar while small has a great and attentive staff
Location: stayed there while on a fishing trip. would stay there again
Hotel Seward is in the old part of town . a lot of charm and nicely appointed. it was quiet and clean and has a nice little restaurant / bar in the hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel. right downtown.

Posted Aug 1, 2017
Cons: To be clear about some of the rooms not having a bathroom.
We were surprised to find the rooms we booked had no bathrooms. We had to pay additional money to upgrade to a room with a bathroom.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Close to where we wanted to be

Posted Aug 1, 2017
It was fine. The people working the desk were hit or miss as far as helpfulness. It was very near the SeaLife Center and a lot of the restaurants. There are probably better places at a comparable price, but it was fine.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 15, 2017
Location: Location is close to downtown and cruise terminals.
Rundown, expensive, and noisy. Had a room on top of kitchen fan exhaust which ran until 10:30pm and restarted at 5:00.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Great family hotel

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Lovely hotel family owned - beds were great!! Only stayed one night but wished I could stay longer! Had bar- good atmosphere and very friendly hotel staff.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MA

Don't stay in the economy wing

Posted Jul 10, 2017
I didn't realize, when purchasing on Expedia, that we would have shared bathrooms in the economy wing. I don't fault the hotel for that. But I do fault them for not having one shower working (leaving one shower for the entire wing) or for having exceptionally cramped rooms with uncomfortable beds. The staff was great, and more modern rooms might be better, but don't stay in the economy section.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland, Oregon

Charming hotel in the center of Seward's "downtown

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Pros: Staff, clean rooms, helpful maid staff, close to good restaurants and a microbrewery, close to the Seal (and walrus) center. Close to a walking path.
Cons: The design of the hotel is a little confusing, but this is understandable given that the whole town was destroyed by a tsunami in 1964.
Location: Good location.
Very pleasant staff. They were preparing for the Mountain Marathon footrace (actually, only 3 miles or so), and all of the crowds expected on this July 4th holiday weekend. The staff was attentive and full of useful information, even though most of them were seasonal workers, and had only arrived a couple of weeks before.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Tired, but comfortable hotel

Posted Jul 5, 2017
No AC, so a bit warm. Otherwise, comfortable. Within walking distance of Sealife Center, shops, & restaurants. Nothing more to add.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Good hotel with great location.

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Pros: great location, friendly staff, good food, comfortable rooms, accept pets.
Cons: Like airlines and cell phone plans, the prices vary all over the map depending on the day. A bit annoying but all hotels seem to do this.
Location: 1 block from the main street (5th avenue) where there are many restaurants and interesting shops and the sea aquarium.
We like the Hotel Seward because it is located in downtown Seward close to the sea aquarium, shops restaurants and bars. The hotel also accepts pets which is great. It has a good restaurant and friendly staff. It could use an update but is clean and neat. The other major area in Seward is the boat harbor which is about a 5 minute drive.