Ratings based on 54 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Beautiful beach right on the doorstep

Posted Dec 20, 2016
Pros: The beach and the staff
Cons: The dinner buffet is overpriced.
Location: The setting is beautiful but there is nothing else to do nearby and taxi/trips are very expensive
The location was fantastic, the beach is beautiful and the hotel staff were very friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 16, 2017 by Mohit, Hotel Management
Dear Krisztina, First of all I would like to that you for choosing AVANI Seychelles Barbarons Resort & Spa during your recent visit to the Seychelles. I'm very pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us including all the facilities and amenities the resort has to offer. Your constructive criticisms and feedback is highly appreciated and will be shared during our weekly meeting with the entire resort team. I sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our paradise, in a not too distant future. Warmest Regards, MOHIT DEMBLA– Director of Rooms, AVANI Seychelles Barbarons Resort & Spa
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Good hotel very friendly staff excellent location for peace and quiet
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2017 by Mohit, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing the AVANI Seychelles as your holiday destination. We are thrilled to read that you have had a magical experience from start to finish. Your concise review of our island paradise summarizes what we always aspire to deliver for all our guests, excellence in every aspect of our services and amenities. It was our pleasure to have given you a perfect stay with our gracious hospitality and picturesque views. I am so glad that we sent you off in true AVANI style and hope you will be able to pay us a return visit someday in the not-too-distant future Warmest Regards, MOHIT DEMBLA– Director of Rooms, AVANI Seychelles Barbarons Resort & Spa
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Dubai, UAE

Awesome Location only let down by subpar food

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Pros: Location, Rooms, Beach..
Cons: Increase the staff & the food quality must get better or cheaper...
If you're looking for a hotel with Night Life, don't read... This is a hotel for families and people looking to relax & sleep early & wake up early... Otherwise, the hotel's location is its highlight. very spacious beach & large pool. Rooms are nicely equipped & spacious, the Internet is speedy enough & covers all the hotel nicely. However, our biggest gripe was the food & very very slow service. Aside from Breakfast, which was quite Ok, all other food we tried, a la carte or buffet was just not up to the standard or price we paid. Also, the same item's price will vary if you pay at different places in the hotel. for example the Buffet is cheaper if you pre-pay it at the reception, a burger or pizza is cheaper at the bar vs at the pool or room service. It's the same exact item, just more expensive for a mysterious reason. The hotel is generally understaffed, we would wait for a while before someone cleared our used plates at the buffet, or bring coffee, you feel it & the result is that the service, from check-in to room cleanup to food & drinks service is generally very slow. It's a nice hotel, just go with the expectation that you'll relax & don't mind the time...
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 30, 2016 by Mohit, Hotel Management
Dear Michael, First of all I would like to that you for choosing AVANI Seychelles Barbarons Resort & Spa during your recent visit to the Seychelles. I'm very pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us including all the facilities and amenities the resort has to offer. Our food has a very special touch, as we are exclusively using fresh local products from meat to vegetables, to support the local farmer's community with their BIO products and free range chickens. This great fresh authentic food is served by our friendly and professional waiters, to make sure your experience in our outlets goes beyond expectations. Your constructive criticisms and feedback is highly appreciated and will be shared during our weekly meeting with the entire resort team. I sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our paradise, in a not too distant future. Warmest Regards, MOHIT DEMBLA– Director of Rooms, AVANI Seychelles Barbarons Resort & Spa
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leeds, UK

Amazing and relaxing stay, expensive food

Posted Aug 29, 2016
We had a wonderful stay for 6 nights at avani on our honeymoon. We got a free upgrade on arrival. The staff were very friendly and accommodating, nothing was too much trouble. The hotel was lovely, quiet with a peaceful atmosphere. Might be a bit boring if you are looking for a busy resort but perfect for couples or people who just want to chill. It all felt very luxurious. We had absolutely no complaints, the room and grounds were beautiful and clean, lovely scenery. However, food and drink is incredibly expensive, at least double the price of the UK. Come prepared to spend way over budget for the food. However, it's very tasty and very good quality. The beach is also beautiful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean hotel, friendly staff

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Nice hotel with a nice sandy beach next to it. The food was nice and the staff were very friendly. One thing though, the hotel linked me to an excursion, which was for a glass bottom boat ride. I was told that they would take us to another island, which they did, but the island did not have any toilet facilities or changing rooms. Also, the lunch which was supposed to be a barbecue at 01:00 P.M. arrived over an half an hour late. Ended up getting a 50% refund from the service provider but I don't think the hotel should be connecting guests to this provider. Other than that, had a lovely time at the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Unforgettable stay

Posted Mar 19, 2016
Beautiful hotel sitting right on one of the best beaches on Mahe. The breakfast buffet was also very nice and the times we had dinner was lovely but can be a little expensive (40 euro per person). We were upgraded on arrival to a garden view room. The title isn't as apealling as the actual room which had amazing mountain views as well as view of the Sea. Would definitely go back to this hotel. All the staff were extremely nice and made you feel at home.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 3, 2016 by Mohit, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, I'm delighted to read that you had such an enjoyable stay with us recently and that you found your villa to be so peaceful amidst the beautiful nature and picturesque views that our resort has to offer. Thank you for appreciating our lovely Barbarons beach on which the resort is situated and most of all the team members who provided unparalleled services to make your holiday an unforgettable one. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with such valuable feedback. You very much have an accurate observation on the prices - being placed on a small tropical island means that we need to import most of our goods, subject to taxes, which unfortunately affects the rates. However, we are pleased to inform that our prices are on a par with other luxury resorts in the destination, although it is something that we are constantly working to improve. I am so pleased that you had a relaxing getaway with lots of happy memories and that we will be able to welcome you once again to explore more of the island. Warmest Regards, MOHIT DEMBLA– Director of Rooms, AVANI Seychelles Barbarons Resort & Spa
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel but not enough food choice and cold

Posted Nov 17, 2015
Beautiful grounds.comfy beds good shower .not enough food choices and buffet always cold.nothing to do in area so ok if you hire a car or just want to sunbathe
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas/UAE

Quiet hotel, surrounded by greenery w/ great beach

Posted Nov 11, 2015
Pros: location, greenery, scenery (mountains/sea), THE BEACH!!!
Cons: All depends on what you are looking for... for us was perfect!
Location: very private location, no other hotels nearby... is on main island, so within 30 minutes of everything! West side of island is marine preserve!
10 steps from the room to the beach! was really cool! great beach, wonderful green, was like being on your own private island... Food tasty... Thanks Chef! and great happy hours! Fabulous, large pool (1/2 olympic??) really relaxing! Within 1/2 hour of everything, so easy excursion to N. Island for boating/jet skis.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Quiet relaxation by the sea

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Pros: It is not too big and it's not stuffy. It is friendly and nice with good range of services and facilities. upstairs Gravity bar is lovely.
Cons: The toiletries in the bathroom are disappointing compared to quality of everything else.
Location: 10 mins on the local bus takes you north to Port Laune with its stunning beach. The bus is 5 rupees (25p) and it's a flat fee.
Very nice hotel with pleasant and friendly staff. Lovely reception and restaurant areas. Large breakfast buffet selection was excellent value. Ocean view room was very nice with lovely balcony with great pool/sea view. Very comfortable loungers around the pool. Great cocktails at Happy Hour made with local rum or vodka. Bus stop just at gates take you to Victoria or north or south to west coast villages and beaches. Handy supermarket and take away store less than 5 mins walk. Nice mix of guests, young couples, older couples and families.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great hotel and staff

Posted May 9, 2015
Absolute great stay. Very hospitable staff, nice and pleasant environment.Pictures don't do justice. Very clean and comfortable room. Calm and relaxing experience. My luggage got delayed because of problem with the airline but the hotel staff went extra mile to make sure my stay remains as pleasant as possible. Would recommend to people.