Ratings based on 78 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montreal, Canada

Good but not great

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Pros: The room and views are amazing from the Pool Vilas. Great ocean access.
Cons: Food is ridiculously overpriced. Kitchen staff are generally unpleasant and there's very slow service. Nobody goes out of their way to please you.
Location: Not much to do nearby besides going from one beach to another.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 28, 2016
.............................................................................................................
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Everyone will ask if you got engaged

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Pros: The staff, the views, the food and the comfort. The cocktails were pretty spot on, and there are free to use snorkels and kayaks at the private beach.
Cons: They say they offer a litre bottle of water per person per day in the room, but usually forget to deliver it. Expect to spend LOTS of money.
Location: The nearby beach of Beau Vallon is a hub for water sports, boat charters for fishing and diving and a cheaper beachside pizza place.
Even your family and those closest to you will be all "SHOW US THE RING" and you'll be all "IT WAS JUST A HOLIDAY" and they will be all "LIAR" and you'll be like "I'M SORRY" The hotel is absolutely glorious. Look in any direction and it's either crystal blue water, white sand, misty mountains or tropical jungle. The staff are utterly attentive, and always chatty and helpful. We spent ten days with Hilton, and only left the premises three times in total as it was just so relaxing to stay in the private villa or down by the pool or beach.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from State College, PA

Beautiful property but not recommended

Posted Sep 1, 2016
Pros: Property and views
Cons: Maintenance, service, food.
Beautiful property with nice sunset views. Numerous disappointments however. Room have electrical problems with lights and ceiling fans recurring over three days ... never fully resolved. Location doesn't have much beach, none at high tide. Staff was very friendly but service was always slow. Food and drinks were very over priced and quality was just OK.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Beautiful pool villa, food is a very low standard

Posted Aug 28, 2016
We stayed in a beautiful pool villa and the resort itself was stunning. A beautiful private beach and decent facilities, the resort itself felt like a good 4 star, not up to 5 star standards in my opinion. We stupidly paid for 1/2 board (breakfast & buffet dinner) breakfast was ok, sausages & bacon were not good (dry & overcooked) kitchen staff cooking omlets seemed rude & miserable. dinner was appalling, the food was on par with a holiday in. Dry & overcooked. No fresh fish or veggie options ever! felt this is no way a 5 star experience, also they charge for water which we would of expected to be inclusive in 1/2 board. Management did remove this cost after negotiations. I feel that we wasted allot of money on 1/2 board & would never recommend it here. Real let down to our week here. food so bad we are out a few nights as couldn't bear it any longer...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Excellent villa, great views, private pool

Posted Jul 10, 2016
Pros: Villa size, ocean views, private pool
Cons: Room service--get warming carts to keep food hot for delivery.
Location: Beaches, scenic drives and walks, all types of water sports.
Beautiful villa, well maintained, private pool, sitting area, large bathroom. All well kept. Staff was pleasant and courteous. Only downside was room service, although prompt delivered cold dinner. No heater carts to kept meals warm until serving. Don't order a room service dinner. Great location for the whole property. Very helpful with service requests, restaurant bookings and local travel. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Relaxing beautiful wooden villa on the hillside

Posted Jun 2, 2016
Pros: Location: Close enough to town but a far away feel at the same time. Porter James was wonderful. Everyone friendly. Loved the wooden villa. relaxing.
Cons: Communication with staff, expediting response time to an undue occurrences. Better options for vegan friendly menu at breakfast would be nice.
Location: Close to town for water activities, good swimming, restaurants. Recommend renting a car to explore the island, which is very nice.
Wonderful 12 night stay in a beautiful wooden villa. Relaxing feel. Comfortable. Spacious. Close enough to town but not too close. Quiet. Beautiful views of the bay and beau vallon. Lovely sunsets. On the tip of a point on rockey shoreline so you get southern, western and northern expose so good sunshine all day ( if a Sunday day) great snorkeling near by at sunset beach. Loved the spa that is built over the ocean. Stunning views. Loved the culture, loved creole food. Most relaxing vacation in a while. Has a very nice laid back vibe to the island and culture.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alberta

A little piece of paradise

Posted Apr 23, 2016
Being from mainland Canada, having the opportunity to wake up every morning with a view of the Indian Ocean from the bedroom (& bathroom) was quite the experience. The staff were incredibly friendly & accommodating, & they went out of their way to make our stay memorable. We did not feel as if we were just another customer.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bournemouth, UK

Good but no 5*, things just dont work!

Posted Mar 26, 2016
Pros: Like the resort and private feel of it.
Cons: Staff do not come across very caring and say your welcome to everthing like some kind of ropot.
Location: Ideally need a car or bus to get into nearby Beau Vallon, can walk but is 20 minutes and no foot path so quite dangerous. Lots in Beau Vallon to do.
We stayed here for 2 weeks as a beach holiday and were amazed by the island and the beauty of it. When we fist arrived at the hotel all seemed perfect. Great setting and amazing views out to sea. Things soon changed as we noticed the leaks from the room above and that several things in the room just did not work, lights, hair dryer, dvd player and the door handle to go onto the balcony came off in our hands. Now for a 5* hotel this is not good enough and should have been checked. We did mention this to the staff at the reception the following day and they said would sort it, no problem. After 2 days nothing was sorted so I asked to speak with the manager who was very good and did changed the room for us. He assured us everything in the new room would be checked and it was an upgrade to an ocean view room. We then moved into our new room to find things were still not working but wanted to enjoy our holiday so left it at that. The staff are friendly but don’t really care as they always say your welcome before you have even finished what your saying. Real shame as they hotel could be amazing... Try Kempinski for similar money which we visited and spent a nice day there or if you want true 5* and budget allows go to Four Seasons Hotel which also has best beach on the Island.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Nairobi

Honeymoon Getaway

Posted Nov 23, 2015
Location: Get the private boat ride to the islands, with a beach side barbecue.
Fantastic ocean view all round, perfect setting for a honeymoon. Superb hotel staff, very helpful & friendly. Loved the food as well.