Ratings based on 238 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice place

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Pros: everything was great - 5 stars all the way
Location: nothing really close by - need a car
it was great to stay here in one of villa's....really nice grounds, beach was great, live music at night....the villa was super
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 21, 2017 by Masami Egami, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, What a great review! I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay and I hope we will be able to welcome you back soon on another occasion! Best regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dubai

Beautiful, friendly, relaxing!

Posted Apr 1, 2017
Pros: Everything! Although in hind sight we would book a ground floor sea view room to actually see the sea.
Cons: We had a sea view room which was obscured by the thick palm trees which in itself is lovely but would have liked to have seen the sea!
The initial reaction upon arriving in the hotel reception was WOW! The actual view and look of the resort was just beautiful and exceeded our expectations even after an overnight flight and no sleep! The champagne served with breakfast as part of the half board deal kept that happiness flowing every morning!! The beach staff were so friendly and knew my son's name by the end of the first day. They couldn't do enough for us. We did aqua aerobics and cocktail making but the ultimate was feeding the tortoises that were kept there. There was always something to do if lying on a sunbed was not enough stimulation. The staff arranged a helicopter tour as well as a day on a catamaran which gave us chance to see more of the beauty of the Seychelles. We had hired a car which meant we could also explore ourselves.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 4, 2017 by Masami Egami, General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for this great review. I am pleased to see that your family enjoyed the time at our resort and have also well taken note of your remark regarding the obstructed view. I hope we will have the chance to welcome you all back to the hotel soon on another occasion! Best regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Secluded Hotel on the Beach

Posted Mar 16, 2017
Great hotel, amenities and food options. It seems relavitly new. The beach area is small but not horrible. Also, there is no surf in that area but a beautiful view.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2017 by Masami Egami, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Mr. Michael, What a great rating, thank you very much for sharing your experience! The surfing in the bay next to us is possible most of the times as the conditions there are different but this indeed depends on the weather. I hope we will be able to welcome you again soon on another occasion! Best regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Luxembourg

Beyond my Expectations

Posted Mar 1, 2017
Pros: You can't go wrong on an island like Mahe but what made Kempinski special for me was the wonderful staff, spacious rooms, and delicious food.
Cons: Nothing
Location: The other nice thing is that they had snorkeling equipment and kayaks available. I wish I had known so I didn't pack mine.
From the moment we arrived we were greeted with warmth, pampered and treated with a combination of professional staff who possessed a lovely sense of humor. We arrived early and the staff did an excellent job making us comfortable until the room was ready. I thought we would have to wait an hour or two and instead it was less than 30 minutes.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2017 by Masami Egami, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear valued Guest, Thank you very much - what a great feedback. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and am especially proud that our staff could make your time on the Seychelles special. I hope we will have the chance to welcoming you back soon at our hotel or one of our sister hotels in the world. Best regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice 4-Star Hotel

Posted Feb 28, 2017
Pros: Grounds, room
Cons: Beach service needs a little work. The water jugs are nice, but at times difficult to get your hands on. Add staff to the beach to help more.
Very impressive entry and grounds. Our room was very clean and the complimentary water provided during room make-up in the morning and for turn down service on the night stand was a nice touch. In general, the staff were good, not great. Several people were wonderful, but others were average and did not go above and beyond as should be the case in a "5-star" hotel. The food was average, not incredibly impressive, but the variety was nice. Drinks were definitely resort prices, paying the equivalent of 10-15 USD for a beer. Beach is a lot of reef, great for snorkeling, but not as nice for just plain swimming. Enjoyed it, but not the 5-stars I thought I was getting.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2017 by Masami Egami, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Mr. Chris, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience. I truly appreciate your valuable feedback as it helps us to improve further. We indeed just recently added more staff to serve on the beach since we are experiencing a higher booking volume than ever and I will also address your comments regarding the food and the staff so we can improve our service quality. I still hope that you enjoyed your time with us on the Seychelles and thank you again for sharing your feedback. Best regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Excellent resort with very friendly and helpful staff. There are better beaches on the island but the one here is great considering it's literally on the doorstep.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2017 by Masami Egami, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear valued Guest, Thank you very much for your great rating and for taking the time to share your experience. I am pleased to note that your enjoyed your time with us and I hope we can welcome you again soon! Best regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester by the sea Ma

Resort on beach in Seychelles

Posted Feb 1, 2017
Pros: All said above
Location: On a lovely beach.....lots of water sports.....local restaurants about a 15 minute drive.....about a 20 minute drive to the capital of Victoria.
We were thrilled with our stay from our arrival on....property is lovely...spacious guest room with the most comfortable bed....twice daily maid service....comp. soft drinks and water daily. Staff is OUTSTANDING...good food and lots of choices at breakfast and "Themed" Buffet Dinners. Also a lovey restaurant on the beach. Extra touches...pitchers of ice water on beach....."tasting" drinks...ie ice tea, smoothies...brought to you at beach area.....staff there for snorkeling, paddle boarding...kyaking...overall a great experience...would highly recommend and would go back...STAFF is the BEST...from the dining room to the front desk to the "beach staff" and housekeeping. The Assistance Front Office Manager Mr. Alexia was very helpful as was Sarah one of the guest relations staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2017 by Masami Egami, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Mrs. Stephanie, What a wonderful review. Thank you very much for taking the time to share your positive experience - I am happy to note that you enjoyed your stay and will share your feedback with my team. I hope to welcome you soon on another occasion. Best regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Dubai

Amazing Hotel

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Pros: As above.
Cons: A drinks package may be a good idea for half board guests.
Location: Baire Lazare
It was an amazing hotel with such excellent staff. There were so many plus points about the hotel and employees at the Kempinski that I could not put them into words. The staff made us feel welcome on arrival, and nothing was to much trouble. My wife and I shared our Birthdays at the Kempinski, and we both received cakes and well wishes from everyone at the hotel. A truly wonderful and beautiful holiday resort.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2017 by Masami Egami, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Mr. Fred, Thank you very much for your kind words. I am very delighted to hear that you enjoyed your birthday stay with us and hope we will have the chance to welcome you back soon on another occasion. Best regards
5 out of 5
by Sandra

Classy, great ambiance, great holiday spot.

Posted Jan 20, 2017 on Hotels
It was a relaxed stay, great customer service and lovely people. I suggest u do themes with your bands every night
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Mrs. Sandra, Thank you very much for your great feedback. I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and will take your suggestion on the themed band evenings well into account. Best regards, Masami Egami General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Resort Hotel away from it all

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Pros: Efficient staff. Small jazz combo in the bar in the evening.
Cons: Food prices, wine prices. Wines by the glass were bad South African wines, probably corked. Pillows should be down at these prices. Decent bath robes
Location: Location away from everything so you are reliant on the hotel for everything. It was raining so we did not explore.
We stayed one night- we found the food and wine very expensive, and early continental breakfast not good at all- sad looking fruit with flies crawling on them, and stale croissants. Pillows were strange- puffy and polyester. I'm glad it was only one night. The best thing was the lovely drive back to the airport early the next morning.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2017 by Masami Egami, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Mrs. Anne, Thank you very much for your feedback. I am sorry to note that you did not enjoy your stay. I will look into the pricing of the wines with my team. It appears that you stayed with us during a period when the Seychelles experienced a plague of small flies which was indeed a big challenge for all hotels. With regards to the pillows - of course every guest has different preferences here. That is why we offer a special pillow menu with different pillow choices. I still hope that you enjoyed the Seychelles and thank you again for taking the time to leave a review. Best regards,