Ratings based on 137 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Our favorite Island of Seychelles and awesome stay

Posted May 6, 2017
It's our first visit to Seychelles and if we had known better we'd book more nights in Praslin. We love the island much more than Mahe and La dique. The local food was much better, and the Raffles hotel was also a highlight. Beautifully located on a hill, the villa was really nice and the service was very good! They came to draw us a rose- bubble bath and the towel swans and sweets upon our arrival since it's our honeymoon made us quite happy. The management also invited guests out for a cocktail which is a smart business move. The pool in the villa is too small for two tall people to really swim. And sometimes the reception desk is too busy to take our call. It's worth for the hotel to invest in more buggy services or front desk staff to ensure guests get timely service. Other than that, it's a hotel worth returning to!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Jeddah, KSA

Great Escape

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Pros: View, atmosphere, and the staff *****
Cons: phone docking , or a stereo ... Any sort of audio or at least a radio channel on TV
Location: Location is about 30min from the airport, the nearby restaurants are a long walk and closes early. Lay back or go island hopping
My wife and I enjoyed our stay there, check in was easy/fast as well as check out, and all the staff are doing their best to make everyone comfortable. The resort and room facilities are all clean and well maintained, except our room TV was not working the first night due to weather I think, then the control panel beeps every few minutes annoyed me. The hotel beach is somewhat shorter and narrower than what I have imagined, but it was fine since the view is beautiful wherever you go... and more to see if went on islands hopping. Food/drinks are available in various restaurants in the hotel, so delicious and well served, we loved it. Around the hotel there is almost nothing, many places in the island closes about 5pm, with very few places can be found to eat ! am glad that I rented a car and kept driving around to find places. Back to the room again, personally I like music in the background wherever I stay, and there was no any kind of stereo of phone docking, also TV channels did not have a dedicated radio, so my iPhone did the job, but the amenities are great and WIFI is everywhere ^_^
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 15, 2017 by Raffles Seychelles, Hotel Management
Dear Abdulelah, Thank you for sharing your review with us on your stay. We've enjoyed your presence at our resort and we're happy that you've enjoyed your stay. We do apologize if you felt like a stereo was missing from our villa, however, we do provide this upon request. Also, you're correct, the weather can have an effect on our television provider which may cause some inconviniences, however, we're sorry that this isn't within our control. We do hope to share many more pleasant memories with you and your wife and we'd like to thank you sincerely for choosing Raffles Seychelles. Kind Regards, Raffles Seychelles Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Sublime but outrageously expensive food and drinks

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Pros: The staff
Cons: the cost of the food and drink
Location: swimming, walk to Lazio beach, walk to PKs restaurant, take boats to other islands just down the road on the way to Lazio, small store on the way
The location, the rooms, each with own small pool, and the wonderful staff were sublime. What was difficult for me was the outrageous cost of food and drink. It is incredibly expensive Otherwise, it was wonderful. We paid SCR 70 ($5.25) for cans of soda and SCR 1,400 each for the food portion only of a buffet--which was excellent but at $100 it should have been amazing. We are not used to luxury travel so maybe this is normal for others but it was shocking to me. Outside the hotel a soda costs $1 or $2 and meals varied but under SCR 1,000 including starter, two entrees and 2 glasses of wine. Or we could get take-away meals for $5.00 each. You need a car if you want to go other places. The Seychelles are an expensive place but the hotel took that too new heights. Nevertheless, loved the Raffles. It was a great stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 7, 2017 by Raffles Seychelles, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us on your stay at Raffles Seychelles. We're happy that you've enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our team to be helpful. However, we do apologize if you found our food and beverages to be expensive. We hope to share another pleasant vacation with you in paradise. Thank you for staying with us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Great villa resort 15 minutes away from Anse Lazio

Posted Dec 30, 2016
Loved their breakfast buffet, so many choices - local smoked fish, omelette bar, dim sum bar, indian breakfast, and tons of bread selection!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 2, 2017 by Raffles Seychelles, Hotel Management
Dear L, Thank you very much for sharing your feedback with us. We've had a wonderful time sharing such an exciting vacation with you in paradise. Thank you for choosing Raffles Seychelles and we hope to see you again very soon.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Nice views but terrible service/staff

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Location: Location was not close to any attractions but you can easily take taxis.
Food: Dinner at Losean was not great. Expect overcooked seafood and mediocre to poorly executed dishes if you're a foodie. The poolside food and the breakfast spread were a bit better. Terrible service at Losean. I waited over 30 min before someone would take my order. Service: Wow. I've never experieneed such terrible staff etiquette in any hotel or accommodation I've stayed at in my entire life. This definitely ruined the experience. From the moment I got there until the day I left, I experienced a lot of racism. There wasn't any ill intention, but it's just blatant unconscious racism that's very annoying. If you don't look white or black, they will just openly say things or do things that are racist. For example, I gave them my US passport and they printed out a piece of paper to fill in the rest of my information. The only two pieces of information that were printed was my name and "China" as my place of residence bc they were certain of that information. Hmmm. What about my US passport says I live in China?? I had to cross that out and write in US as my place of residence. They also kept asking me where I'm from and replying oh your English is very good. Excuse me??? Additionally, you have to ask for things multiple times. At check out the night before, I asked for breakfast and a taxi to the airport for my early morning flight but of course neither of those were done. A couple of staff members made rude comments in addition to the racist ones.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 28, 2016 by Raffles Seychelles, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for providing feedback on your stay at Raffles Seychelles. We're pleased that you have enjoyed the views from our Resort, however, you've made some statements that really got our attention. Firstly, we do apologize if you felt like your meals at Raffles were not of the standard you expected and also, we do apologize for your lengthy wait in the Losean Restaurant. Our Food and beverage team tries their hardest to provide meals of very high standards at the Losean Restaurant, but for you, we will try much harder next time. Secondly, you mentioned our staff members displayed some racism. This is very alarming and a bit hard to swallow as our staff team is a very diverse one at Raffles Seychelles and is made up of many nationalities from all over the world (including the U.S). We're very sure our front office team did not mean to seem racist towards you as we do not accept any type of racism among guests or staff at our Resort. Every staff member will not know your nationality when they run into you and in efforts to engage conversation with you, our guest, a lot of them may ask you about your home country or whether you speak English or French. We serve guests from all over the world and not many of them speak English, so please, next time do not be very surprised or alarmed if a staff member comments that your English is great. Lastly, we do apologize that you had a bad check out experience but we're sure that we did arrange you the taxi you requested after your check out. We hope that we can regain another opportunity to prove ourselves to you and deliver an amazing vacation experience. Thank you for choosing Raffles Seychelles.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 14, 2016 on Hotels
Negative: -service was slow -some of the staff are rude -wifi is extremely slow -tv doesn't work -insects in the room positive: -food is good -game room is well equipped -spa is amazing -beach access -hotel location -conceirge is good
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 16, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We try our best to provide very timely service to our treasured guests and we are sorry that you have experienced slow service during your stay with us. During some periods, our hotel can become very full and busy, therefore it may hinder our service capabilities at times. This is no excuse and we take full account for your experience. Our staff are trained to be very polite and professional towards guests, therefore we will look deeply into this matter if you are willing to assist us with further information. With regards to the WiFi speeds on Praslin, our I.T team has the best and most current equipment available, however there is only so much they can do as Praslin does not have a Fiber Optic cable ran directly to the island from the service providers. Due to this, WiFi speeds on the entire island may generally be slower than other larger countries/cities. Our maintenance team is always quick to change or fix any appliances that produce problems once reported by our guests. We are sure that as long as you have reported your television, the problem was addressed. Also, please be mindful that Praslin is a tropical destination and insects are something we may not have much control of seeing our villas are an 'open plan style'. We do advise our guests before arrival to bring their insect repellent. Insect repellent is also available for purchase at our hotel. We apologize for your inconvenience while staying with us and we hope to get another chance to deliver the perfect stay you deserve. Thank you for your review of our Hotel, Raffles Seychelles.
4 out of 5
by FATMA from kuwait

dinning was over priced and limited selection

Posted Jul 31, 2016 on Hotels
I did not like that there were not a lot of choices when it came to dinning. Also 2 restaurants close because of a tandoori night. we reserved at one of the restaurants and the reservation was confirmed but when we went down to the restaurant it was close and only offered an Indian buffet. it was extremely disappointing and ever priced. my husband got sick that night because of the food.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 26, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review of Raffles Seychelles. We're sorry we weren't able to meet your expectations when it came to dining options. We're not sure exactly how you have booked a restaurant that was closed but we definitely do apologise for the inconvenience and also if this restaurant was closed, how did it offer an Indian Buffet? Lastly, it's very alarming to us because you also stated that your husband got sick from the food. We have no reports of guests getting sick as a result of dining on property, perhaps you forgot to let us know while you were here? Send our apologies to your husband and please let us know if there is anything we can do to make up for your bad dining experience. Thank you for staying with Raffles Seychelles. Kind Regards, The Raffles Seychelles Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best week of the year

Posted Jul 30, 2016
Breathtaking; it was great experience and everything was perfect except for one thing only: a lot of lizards were around.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 23, 2016 by Raffles Seychelles, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review of Raffles Seychelles. We're very pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We do apologise for the presence of lizards at our hotel. However, lizards are a norm in Praslin and they are found all over the island. | Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon. Best Regards, The Raffles Seychelles Team
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overall nice resort but room for improvement

Posted Jul 13, 2016 on Hotels
We were supposed to stay 4 nights at this resort but ended up staying 6 nights after my wife became ill. The service here varied dramatically. Most of the staff were very friendly and interested in chatting with us and offering good service. However, some staff were frumpy or just plain rude, which you don't expect in a property of this standard. Food was generally good but probably not up to the standard you would expect for the price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 26, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for reviewing your stay at Raffles Seychelles. We're sorry to hear that your wife took sick while on vacation. At Raffles, our staff are trained thoroughly to handle guest encounters in the most generous and professional way. We're sorry that you found that some of our staff were "frumpy" and we hope to gain another opportunity to wow you with our renowned Raffles service. With regards to the standards of the food, our team of chefs are working very hard to make the most of what is available on Praslin island and at the same time generate an effort to avoid high costing. Again, we hope to make your experience much better during your next stay at Raffles Seychelles. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards, The Raffles Seychelles Team
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overrated and expensive hotel

Posted Jul 10, 2016
Breakfast is disappointing there's no peanut butter and chocolate. Some of the staff are rude and they don't reply if you say "good morning". I made my reservation via expedia and they charged my credit card 3 times more expensive than the price difference I saw on expedia. And they cheat customers by saying they provide room upgrade although there is no room upgrade.