Ratings based on 334 Verified Reviews

2.8 out of 5
47% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South Dakota


Posted Jul 25, 2017
The rooms smelled must even with the A/C running all day. The free WiFi didn't work unless we were standing right by our door. The entry door to.our room and bathroom didn't close right, had to really slam them shut. As we were leaving one morning, my daughter saw the front desk staff putting the breakfast bread items away with her bare hands. The overall experience was awful, I wouldn't recommend and I won't stay there again.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Forest Lake, MN

Great for crashing after Valleyfair

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: Smaller, older
Cons: Key cards seem to have consistent trouble
Location: Valleyfair, RenFest, Canterbury Downs
Came in late night- pleasant front desk, keys had some trouble, the rest was okay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2017 by Travelodge Valleyfair , Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We use such information to improve training and procedures for our staff. We hope you will come see us again soon. Thank you again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

not clean

Posted May 21, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel was moldy and gross
Comment from Hotel Management
May 25, 2017
Thank you for your feedback. Altho you have chosen to remain anonymous, I was curious if you had addressed your concerns with any member of the staff during your stay. We again apologize for any inconvenience you have experienced and will use your feedback to further our training of our staff so that our future guests will have an enjoyable stay.
1 out of 5
by Chad

No Way

Posted May 21, 2017 on Hotels
Stinks of cigarettes and was getting sick so we left
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 18, 2017
We thank you for choosing Shakopee Travelodge, and apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your stay. We use all feedback to improve the training of our staff and also for making improvements to services provided and property enhancements.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from shakopee, mn

Ok, but not again.

Posted Mar 28, 2017 on Orbitz
Lobby and hallways smell strongly of cigarette smoke. Bathroom wall was deteriorating because of water damage. Refrigerator was very loud. We unplugged it to be able to sleep.
3 out of 5
by Cassandra

You get what you pay for..

Posted Mar 27, 2017 on Hotels
Our room was fairly decent for the price you pay. I would stay here again if it weren't for the rude staff. Our check in went well however the evening staff weren't very accommodating. We were here with family and wanted to visit in the lobby and two of us had alcoholic beverages with us. Not more than two seconds after sitting down we were told we could not be there. We went back to one of the rooms which happened to be a smoking room, however none of us were smoking. We had the door propped so family could go back to their rooms and come back in, however we were told we had to shut our door so smoke wouldn't enter the hallway. We did inform her we were not smoking. I will stay elsewhere on my next trip here.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minnesota


Posted Mar 20, 2017
The hotel itself is not welcoming. The entire public area smells like an ashtray. They refused to let us cancel the room and Expedia was not able to help us get out of there without a penalty. Not a place for kids or anyone who enjoys breathing.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 21, 2017 on Hotels
Not up to mark
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Spend the extra $$ and stay somewhere else.

Posted Jan 24, 2017 on Hotels
Dirty hotel. Terrible breakfast. Had to ask for more than 2 towels or washcloths everyday even though we had to pay extra for the 3rd person each night. The WiFi was terrible.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 23, 2017
Thanks for your review. I am sorry to learn what you had to say. I respect your opinion and wish we could have done better for you. We will certainly use your feed back to improve our property and procedures.
3 out of 5
by Cole

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 23, 2017 on Hotels