Ratings based on 553 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by Christina from Australia

Posted Mar 11, 2016 on Hotels
Just ok stay. Hotel difficult to find at night, room had distinct smoke odour, changed the next night, domestic disturbance interrupted our sleep at 3 in the morning. Security didn't handle it very well. On third night everything was quiet enjoyed great food locally.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 25, 2016 on Hotels
It is entirely possible that I am biased after a long very cold visit to China during the month of January. The map posted on the Hotels.com app for this location was wrong. When the great firewall of china is so strong, it is necessary to have the right directions. Due to this mistake we wondered in the cold for nearly an hour trying to locate this hotel, in the wrong side of this neighborhood. When we finally arrived to check in, and informed the clerk of this error, she smiled and said, "yes." I assume she misunderstood our frustration. Then she tried to find our reservation under the last name "states" because she was reading the incorrect line of my passport, and thought United States was my name. Next our room key didn't get activated properly. Later in the evening, they lock a portion of the hotel, without notifying you that you'll need access to the passcode. Just a few inconviences, but adding up altogether made the stay unpleasant and not worth the price.
5 out of 5
by Anna from the U.S.

Anna

Posted Dec 19, 2015 on Hotels
I feel very comfortable and safe while staying at Asset Hotel Shanghai. Everything looks good to me except unstable WiFi network connection. I am satisfied with their services in general.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Good district

Posted Dec 17, 2015
This is a little off the beaten track if you're looking for a fashionable or touristic part of Shanghai but I liked it. It felt more 'local'. The staff were helpful and during the day there was usually someone around who spoke English. The advice about getting around was good. They provide ac continental breakfast, but don't bother; the Chinese breakfast was solid and really hit the spot for a cold winter morning. I couldn't work out how to get the fridge to work, and had I stayed longer would have had to ask, but it didn't seem worth it at the time. The bed was quite hard. This seems to be a Chinese preference. It was clean and felt safe. I'll stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Nice hotel close to subway, shops, and eateries.

Posted Nov 29, 2015
Pros: See above.
Cons: I wish there was a microwave for heating my food.
Location: I had to get a massage and found a hospital across the street,
Nice to be back at the same place I stayed previously. I was welcomed buy staff and given a nice room to rest from the trip. I enjoyed the free breakfast each morning prepared by a few nice ladies also very friendly. People staying at the hotel are friendly and considerate--no late night noises. I also got a discount for booking early.
4 out of 5
by Juliet Ye from singapore

convenient and quiet location in residential area

Posted Nov 23, 2015 on Hotels
it is in a very residential area and next to all the hospitals (not that I need it but it feels safe), small shops around for snacks and transportation is quite convenient
2 out of 5
by Viktoriya P.

Great neighbourhood of Shanghai

Posted Nov 3, 2015 on Orbitz
The hotel is good for those on small budget and location is neat, however the rooms was too dated and had a funny smell. Walls are very thin so you could hear every noise from the lobby, outside and other rooms. Also, our view was the garbage dump. Otherwise, the breakfast buffet was a good asset.
3 out of 5
by James from San Diego, CA

I would say that the hotel rates as a 2.5 - 3 star

Posted Nov 1, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel is hidden away from the main street, somewhat hard for taxi drivers to spot the entrance. A quiet setting but the hotel needs renovation; hallway carpeting, breakfast area and only one elevator; staff is friendly and helpful.
1 out of 5
by GAN FEI YING from Malaysia

SUCK

Posted Oct 19, 2015 on Hotels
Not that good. Cannot online, wifi suck. The receptionist was trying to cheat my money by saying i need to pay RMB30 so that he can upgrade my room. In fact he takes the money for himself, and the room suck.
4 out of 5
by Michael

Posted Oct 16, 2015 on Hotels
Easy airport access via subway, 1:45 minutes and 7 RMB. 5 minute walk to subway.