Ratings based on 992 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Taiwan

Nice location and historical place

Posted Oct 20, 2015
Very good location near the famous bridge! The building is very historical beautiful. We like it!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Michael from Australia

Ghost Hotel

Posted Oct 19, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel is an oddity - a blend of communism and colonialism. A antique of a place and full of ghosts!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dülmen NRW

Hotel mit Atmosphäre in Bundnähe

Posted Oct 13, 2015
Toll gelegenes altes Hotel in Bundnähe. Gut zur Erkundung Shanghais geeignet.Schönes Frühstücksbüffet und hilfsbereites Personal.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Yong from Singapore

Rather good choice for history buffs.

Posted Oct 11, 2015 on Hotels
This is a hotel that reeks of history. One would feel to be transported back to the past. It would have to be a pleasant stay if not for a certain incident that marred it. I booked Astor Suite from Hotel.com. From the introduction write up on this class of Astor Suite, it was clearly written as 85 square metres as well as access to its Executive Lounge and exclusive check in/out. However, there were to be no such privileges and untrue of the size of the so called suite. Although it has a room and a separate living room, the area is definitely no where near the stated 85 square metres. Our check in and out was just as per any other norm guests. There was also no mention of the Executive Lounge nor any access or any privilege of using this as well. When I asked them about it, the reception insisted that the small suite that we had was indeed the Astor Suite. They also informed when I asked about the lounge that we would have to pay for the things or food therein. I felt kind of being shortchanged in this aspect. I was informed by the reception that there was nothing they can do about it and that I should get back with Hotel.com about my unhappiness. Hopefully Hotel.com can check and confirm with Astor House to make sure that the write up/intro are factual.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Matthew from Los Angeles

Beautiful Piece of History To Stay In

Posted Oct 9, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel has so much history, you can feel it when you step inside. Beautiful lobby and ballroom upon entry, and lovely vintage-style rooms to stay in.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from München

Traditionshotel mit Flair

Posted Oct 1, 2015
Location: Am Ende des Bunds direkt am Fluss mit Blick zum modernen Skyline.
Dieses ehemalige Grandhotel hebt sich ab von den modernen Hotelbunkern der Stadt. Das Hotel wurde behutsam restauriert und das Flair der alten Zeit ist daher erhalten geblieben. Aber es ist natürlich kein Luxushotel mehr wie früher.Trotzdem war unser großes Zimmer auf dem neuesten Standard modernisiert. Die Lage am Ende des Bunds ist zwar schön gelegen mit Blick auf den modernen Finance District. Zur nächsten Metrostation ist es jedoch ein gutes Stück zu laufen. Pool oder Spa gibt es dort nicht. Auch das kleine Cafe/ Restaurant in der Lobby ist nicht sehr gemütlich.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Graham from Yallambie

Classic hotel

Posted Sep 18, 2015 on Hotels
Beautiful old classic style hotel. Great location and very good service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Ming Hsien from Taiwan

美麗的歷史飯店

Posted Sep 13, 2015 on Hotels
舒適的歷史老旅館,房間乾淨寬敞,飯店裏處處可見西洋舊式設計細節,非常美麗,維持良好的老上海洋派風情勝過所有小瑕疵。三樓天井大廳充滿懷舊情調,令人驚喜。地點便利,適合悠閒散步夜遊浦江。歐式自助早餐菜色一般,還有希望取消帶房服務,因為我們的行李真的很輕。
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Hiroshi from 日本

チャップリンやアインシュタインが泊まったホテル

Posted Sep 10, 2015 on Hotels
歴史を感じさせるホテルで,オールド上海の雰囲気を楽しみたい方にはお勧めできる。建物の一部が回送中で,その工事の音が夜遅くまで,あるいは朝早くから聞こえたのが少々減点した理由だが,部屋も広く,ロシア総領事館を正面に見る窓があり,アメニティーも充実していた。朝食のバイキングは洋風と中華のバイキングで,4泊したが毎日違う料理を楽しめた。夜間,外灘からガーデンブリッジを通る帰路も楽しめる。
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sunshine Coast Qld. Aust.

North end of the Bund what a great location

Posted Sep 10, 2015 on Wotif
Cons: The lobby area had only one arm chair, such a restriction as it is large and a very pleasant room.
Very pleasant old historic hotel, we had a room in the attic small but comfortable. A very good location close to restaurants, the Bund area and attractions within walking distance. Very friendly and helpful staff always eager to assist.