Ratings based on 1,093 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Business Stay.

Posted Jun 6, 2016 on Hotels
The Hotel is basically a museum of sorts which can mean either old and dated or a hotel with a lot of charm. It actually was a little of both. The location was superb because it was a short walk to the Bund which made the price worth it. Wifi worked well. However, room service was kind of weak. For example, I called room service well within service hours and the response that i received was "no food". Overall an okay stay. Would stay again if price is right.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal, Quebec

Comfortable hotel with lots of history

Posted May 20, 2016
This hotel isn't "fancy", but it certainly has lots of charm and history along with creature comforts and cleanliness. There are plenty of photos and explanations around the hotel which outline the important role this hotel had in the last 150 years of Shanghai history which my partner and I enjoyed reading. As well, it's very well located with The Bund and a subway stop very close by. Make sure you find out whether breakfast is included or not in your room rate. If not, it's about 80 yuan per person extra.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vancouver, Canada

Historical hotel in amazing location

Posted May 13, 2016
Gorgeous old hotel with lots of history, great staff, and beautiful large family room! The only problem is our AC didn't seem very effective and the room stayed at 27 all night so a bit overly warm. We were only staying one night though so maybe the hotel would have fixed it? Would definetly stay again!
4 out of 5
by Simone from canberra

Posted May 10, 2016 on Hotels
Stayed here manytimes and just love it. BUT not for everyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from gateshead UK

excellent condition

Posted May 2, 2016
Excellent hotel Historic old hotel in excellent condition Good wifi Great staff Excellent location for tourest areas Would definitely go again Metro station 15 minute walk along the river bank
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

water pressure

Posted Mar 17, 2016 on Wotif
This hotel needs to work on water pressure.Shower was awful
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London GB

Good old hotel in the heart of the beast

Posted Mar 14, 2016
Pros: The history and style
This is a 19th century hotel in the centre of Shanghai, if you like old world charm its for you, if you want modern don't bother. The rooms are large and comfortable though the beds might be too hard for some. Staff and room service were fantastic also had lovely chinese food in the restaurant. Will definitely visit again next time in Shanghai, maybe I got a cheap last minute deal but thought it was excellent value.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Fine heritage hotel

Posted Mar 8, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Its location. Notice to conserve the environment by not replacing linen daily - regrettably ignored as towels replaced daily
Cons: Heating could not be turned off, was noisy and circulated smoking fumes into my room. Towels replaced daily despite notice
Location: Bund Heritage architecture, Waterfront, Nanjing Road East shops - nightlife, Urban History Museum, Yu Yuan Gardens, Metro, bus access to other sites
Astor is very well located on The Bund, a short walk from the central location of Nanjing Road East and its Metro. Steeped in history, it is like a museum itself. Very pleasing to stay here.
5 out of 5
by Carl

Posted Feb 29, 2016 on Hotels
Everything is great about hotel. Could have had hotter showers but a must stay. Great value and a museum of its own!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, Az.

One Night Stay!

Posted Jan 28, 2016
I loved the hotel, but that affair was done after one night! Great nostalgia, some wonderful history, loved the employees, but I spent WAY too much time there! Try it for a very short stop, but if your plans are for more, there are others!