Ratings based on 1,094 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Historic feeling with a smell

Posted Dec 10, 2016 on Hotels
An uneventfull stay in a historic property however i found the frontdesk staff very rude andnot very helpfull. The lightning in the room washorrible kind of neon bulb.electric plugs were substandard and not enough to connect laptop and phone at the same tim
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Historic and rather special.

Posted Nov 30, 2016 on Hotels
Pleasant reception with adequate English spoken. Help with cases and entry etc. and calling taxis. Good little bar in the foyer with a simple menu, and a wide reaching buffet breakfast with a chef to make your eggs as you like them, if you don't want Chinese food. Breakfast in the beautiful historic ballroom. Easy walk across the bridge(watch out for selfie sticks and wedding couples having their photos taken) to the Bund and the main shopping street.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 12, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Astory House Hotel, one of my Favorites.

Posted Nov 10, 2016 on Hotels
Mix up on arrival for my room which was paid for with breakfast but it was sorted out, being so late/early in the morning when I checked in, they gave me a beautiful suite then provided me with what I paid for after speaking to hotel.com, a classical room with view and breakfast included. It too was a wonderful room. This type of hotel is my absolute favorite, takes you back in time when it was exclusive and and just reeks of history, creaking floors but so highly polished, an old Raffles and I would stay there each time I go to Shanghai. I love it.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 9, 2016 on Hotels
Mattress firmness was good!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney Australia

Wonderful old character-filled hotel.

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Location: Location is good for the price. It is a short walk over a bridge to the Bund.
Great room with desk, armchair , and opening attic window so the buzz of the city came into the room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin TX

Good but lacking facilities

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: Very friendly staff. Got free upgrade to big nice executive room.
Cons: No gym nor entertainment facility like pool table. WIFI is slow.
Location: Near the bund !
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice from historical perspective, but that is all

Posted Oct 24, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel is dated, was under renovation as well. Neat place to stay for historical significance, but I will not stay here again. My room was very nice, but street noise was significant. Poor English by staff. Breakfast was generally poor and catered to Westerners, mostly Europeans. I would not stay here again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Classic Place Awesome Location

Posted Oct 17, 2016 on Hotels
Really neat place classic hotel , a great value in Shanghai
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

historic hotel

Posted Oct 17, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent location, historic building. But there are few restaurants nearby.