Ratings based on 992 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, Az.

One Night Stay!

Posted Jan 28, 2016
I loved the hotel, but that affair was done after one night! Great nostalgia, some wonderful history, loved the employees, but I spent WAY too much time there! Try it for a very short stop, but if your plans are for more, there are others!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Westminster, md

Classical hotel with great character.

Posted Jan 15, 2016
The hotel was excellent. They did a great job in telling the guests about its historic past. It has a great location, beautiful interior, helpful and abundant staff, and great breakfast. I would recommend this to anyone. It definitely beats staying at a chain it has a lot of character.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not so nostalgic

Posted Jan 1, 2016
Great location and price is right. Interesting to stay in an old building but it needs major updates. Bed was hard as a rock and shower had no water pressure. Worse was the food at the free breakfast. It was horrible and not fresh. The photos online make the hotel look much better than it actually is. The staff was friendly but we ordered an airport shuttle to be ready for 7am and it did not arrive until 7:30am. The driver then dropped us off at the wrong terminal.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hisotric hotel

Posted Dec 17, 2015
Pros: the Historical details
Cons: need a pool
Lots of details of hisory throughout the Hotel, would stay here again, must book early!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SF Bay

Good historical hotel kept well w/reasonable price

Posted Dec 15, 2015
Pros: Historical, located center of Shanghai
This was our second time stay. We were confident to stay comfortably here and used it to explore Shanghai and took two days trip to Soshu by using High Speed Train. This hotel is located in very convenient place in Shanghai.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great Stay

Posted Dec 14, 2015
Full of nostalgia. Great Location. Large rooms with bags of character. Friendly staff. Convenient for all the major sights. Fair walk to nearest tube. taxis always available. Great history though slightly batty in an old British boarding school sort of way.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, Ma

Astor House Hotel Shanghai / Pujiang Fandian

Posted Dec 7, 2015
Pros: Close to the Bund, old English vibe
Cons: The bed, even though it won't be changed
Location: Couple of small bars, the bund and a few restaurants
Noticed this hotel on Expedia and was immediately surprised by the "English vibe" that it gave, so I decided why not? When I arrived it was a little less than I expected, but certainly not enough to make me not want to stay there. There's a nice little bar/restaurant right across from check in which was convenient. The front desk speaks decent English, enough to get checked in at least. Now, on to the room which was really the only downside. Room was clean from the bed to the shower and bathroom, but the beds are extremely hard. My Chinese friend later explained that's just how Chinese beds are apparently. So be prepared for that, and really that was the only downside (bed comfort) outside of that this hotel is recommended especially because it's within walking distance of the Bund! Also, FYI noticed on my last day there the Russian Embassy is directly across the street from this hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from 東京

クラシックで良い雰囲気のホテル

Posted Nov 30, 2015
Pros: いい雰囲気が感じられる内装のロビーやレストラン。
Cons: 安い部屋にはバスタブなし。
Location: 地下鉄駅からすぐではないが、観光がてら歩けます。 周辺には幾つかレストランやバー、コンビニ的な店もありました。
歴史的ビルが建ち並ぶ外灘地区の北寄りにある、重厚な建物のクラシックなホテル。 ロビーやメインレストラン、3階のテラスなど、建物として見どころがたくさんあります。 地下鉄の最寄りは南京東路駅ですが、歩10分くらいはかかります。 客室は(多分?)一番安い部屋だったので、浴槽はなくシャワーのみ。お湯の出と温度は問題ナシでした。 タオル、バスローブ、ドライヤー、水のペットボトルなど基本的な装備品は揃っており、体重計やアイロンもありました。 朝食は含まれていましたが、メイン食堂で食べるにはオプション料金が必要。でも、見事な内装なので2日とも、こちらをチョイス。 フロントには日本語ができる人は居ないようでしたが、カタコト英語でも何とかなりました。 支払いはオンライン予約時にカード払いで済ませましたが、チェックイン時にはデポジット(預り金)として500元を預けました(クレジットカード可)。 無料でWi-Fiが使えますが、繋がりにくくなることが何度かありました。また、ロビーにはATMがありました。
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful historical hotel

Posted Nov 29, 2015
Charming old hotel. A little tired looking and very uncomfortable mattress but that can be forgiven if only a short stay intended. Close to The Bund with some great small bars and authentic restaurants nearby. Staff very helpful and polite.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from 横浜

一度は泊まりたい歴史的ホテル

Posted Nov 22, 2015
Pros: 歴史と伝統を感じさせてくれる点。
Cons: ①シャワーの水圧が低く、出が悪い。②ネット速度が遅すぎる③廊下がギシギシと鳴る④壁が薄い。
Location: 外灘に近く、景色、ロケーションは最高。
伝統と格式を感じるホテルでしたが、ネット環境の悪さ、水圧の低さ、廊下がギシギシ鳴る点、壁が薄く隣の部屋の物音が聞こえてしまう点などが残念でした。