Ratings based on 34 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bangkok

Very nice staff, but no Internet to speak of

Posted Jul 31, 2016
The hotel was clean and nice, and the staff were great...but the internet was a hot mess. I do understand China can have connectivity issues, but I've traveled extensively for business here and never run into anything this bad in a major city. The speed was pretty close to dial-up, and every now and then the connection would go down without warning. I had to wait minutes for websites to load, and then sometimes the connection would drop. On Saturday, I was simply told "the Internet is not working any more." As someone who works online, it was frustrating. Definitely not the best hotel choice if you are a business traveler dependent on wifi. If you don't care about wifi, though, the hotel is very pleasant and the staff are lovely.
3 out of 5
by Man wing from Vancouver

Posted Apr 15, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel room is little old,customer service staff is friendly, buffet breakfast restaurant clean and food have so many choice. If you choice this hotel ,you may feel some smoke by illegal smoker in hotel.
5 out of 5
by Caroline from Ghana

It was good.

Posted Apr 8, 2016 on Hotels
It was good. Needed a day to get away and just relax. I enjoyed my day there. Great gym!
2 out of 5
by Jitendre from Singapore

Good location but can be duped

Posted May 21, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel nicely furnished, good buffet spread. Room service at snail pace, standard waiting time 40 mins !!! My second visit, I booked Deluxe but they gave me superior room (cheaper and smaller than Deluxe), the answer was that room prices have gone up !!!! Wanted to cancel booking, but internet booking cancellation is a lot tedious that I imagined.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from s

Fantastic hotel

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Good 20 minutes drive to nanjing street and 15 min walk to metro station.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Enjoyable stay in reasonably priced Shanghai Hotel

Posted May 10, 2014
Cons: Real barista Coffee for breakfast.
Very enjoyable stay, staff very helpful and quick to assist when I complained that I was smelling cigarette smoke in my room. Good choice at breakfast Buffett but the best is afternoon tea in the lounge area. You realise what a great idea it is to ban smoking in public areas, China might have to try it out ! Fun and friendly pianist and singer duo playing the lounge area several evenings.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 16, 2014 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Chris from London

Ok, but not as smart as it used to be.

Posted Oct 27, 2013
Pros: Good, if expensive breakfast. Useful on-site shops. Good-sized pool and gym. Good location for north Shanghai.
Cons: Staff need to learn basic English, and should be more helpful and pleasant. Sound-proofing needs to be better, rooms need to be better maintained.
Location: Good location for industry and businesses in north Shanghai, but too far away for Pudong and Luijazou areas, though close to main elevated highways.
This is the second time I have stayed at the Grand Mercure Baolong, and I found it to be less enjoyable than before. Having booked the same standard of room on the same floor as last time, also for 10 days. I was disappointed that the decor was shabby: the carpet was old and stained and the wallpaper also looked damp, the wood furniture was all chipped and scuffed and the bathroom tiles were poorly painted over. They were also unable to honour my booking of a double bed, requiring me to put up with 2 single, but comfortable, beds. The staff do not seem to have any English or other languages and the only the one concierge with some skill in English was in very high demand. The staff were surly and unwilling to be particularly helpful, the only relief being the one friendly person in the shop, who also didn't speak any English. The lobby lounge insists that even resident hotel guests order over-priced drinks, even if guests are merely waiting to be collected -the lobby has very few waiting-seats for such a large hotel. The road noise on the Yixian Elevated Road side of the hotel is quite noticeable and doesn't abate much at night, and rooms on the other side suffer from a loud half-hour reveille from the army barracks at 07:30 every morning, about which guests are not warned.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by James from Albury NSW 2640, Australia

Would stay again

Posted Mar 26, 2013
Pros: Cleanliness, service, comfort
Cons: Distance from Shanghai Hongqaio station is about 30-40 mins by taxi - about 110 RMB A bit far.
Location: A bit far from town centre
Good hotel, good service & good food. Would stay again
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from pretoria

The Baolong

Posted Mar 25, 2012 on Hotels
Our stay in the Baolong was ordinary , nothing over the top , no staff went out of their way to impress us . The neighborhood was not bad , not too far from subway , generally friendly .