Ratings based on 33 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Lim

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 17, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Back to the history stay

Posted Mar 17, 2016 on Hotels
I enjoyed the neighbourhood and the antique look of the hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

needs lots of work

Posted Dec 13, 2014 on Hotels
This hotel is not ready for prime time. I would have changed hotels within minutes of checking in if I could have. The shower was covered with mold, the carpets were dirty, and the lighting was insufficient. After changing rooms, the ceiling in the new room started dripping water--I suspect from a leaking bathroom.
3 out of 5
by peter from Hong Kong

Reluctant Fail

Posted Dec 1, 2014 on Hotels
I really wanted to like it! Bold attempt at boutique feel in a city where bland or downright ugly are the norm but it just lets itself down in too many ways - e.g wifi was not working in my room and even if it had been I would not have been able to access it as I do not have a China registered phone (password is sent by SMS) room was pretty unclean and coffee served with already opened creamer then asked to leave the breakfast room 20 mins before it was due to shut - sorry but a "fail".
2 out of 5
by Mark from Australia

Dark and dirty.

Posted Oct 26, 2014 on Hotels
Rooms too dark, very poor quality for the price. Stay elsewhere.
3 out of 5
by Simon from Hong Kong

Good Location

Posted Jun 26, 2014 on Hotels
The Staff were very good, upgrading my room when a problem occurred with my original room. Great location, very close to xintaindi, it is a dark hotel, the lighting in the room is minimal, makes for good atmosphere if that is what you are looking for, if you want light and airy don't book.... overall I would book again for leisure but not for business
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Turned Away Despite Reservation

Posted May 24, 2014 on Hotels
Denied a room because hotel was overbooked. like Seinfeld said, they are good at making the reservation, not at keeping the reservation. Not a pleasant experience after a 12 hour flight.
3 out of 5
by Henry from Shanghai

Convenient location, OK value for money.

Posted Mar 27, 2014 on Hotels
Conveniently located and hotel staff was friendly. Wifi was spotty and air conditioner was not working - hotel indicated they do not have A/C working in winter (March). No elevator and room cleanliness could have been better, but for ~1/2 the cost of much more expensive hotels nearby, can't complain too much.
5 out of 5
by Alex from Hong Kong

Indulging in the atmosphere of the old Shanghai

Posted Mar 9, 2014 on Hotels
definitely an enjoyable hotel with the taste of old Shanghai. Love the colored windows and old wood cabinets in the room. Location is excellent, right next door to the bar area but not affected by it. just a small walk of 3 minutes.
5 out of 5
by Ken from USA

cozy

Posted Jan 31, 2014 on Hotels
What a pleasant surprise! Small, simple, quite, clean, nicely decorated. One of the most comfortable hotel rooms I have stayed in. Check-in and check-out were handled very efficiently. Previous hotel I was in the night before took 30 minutes for me to check-out! Less than 5 minute walk to Xintiandi area.