Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible Food and lousy service

Posted Sep 20, 2016 on Hotels
The food was terrible, mostly deep frozen and very tasteless. Even worth was the service in the Crown Plaza. Absolutely not recommendable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from central california

Shanghai lake

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Room was very nice . A little far from city but close to metro . Hotel staff was very helpful. Food was a little on expensive side compare to restraunts in Shanghai .
4 out of 5
by Keechoo

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 12, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by Holly from Shanghai

Quirky get away from the city, but poor execution

Posted Jul 11, 2016 on Hotels
It's a shame that it is managed the way it is as it is such a cool thing right outside the city, but there is a few key decisions that blow my mind, but make a big difference. I live in China, so am used to the quirks of Chinese hotels, but was hoping for a little more being a western chain. 1) The pictures showed all the rooms to have balcony, but over half do not and we came prepared to relax on our balcony and look at the lake - wasn't possible. 2) The pool is lakeside, however, they built shrubbery all around the edge of it, so that when you lay by the pool you have no idea you are near the lake. What is the point of that? 3) We had to pre-order all of our drinks from the hotel lobby and have them deliver it paced out because there was no set waiter taking orders by the pool. 4) We had read other reviews, so we were prepared for this, but the only place to get drinks is the beer garden (in the middle of the hotel- no view of lake) that goes from 6-9 and as soon as 9:00 hits the music and food and beer stops. The manager really tried to accomidate us, but I think this place was a good idea but was executed very poorly.
4 out of 5
by Alexander from Shanghai

Great hotel with deficiencies in service

Posted Jun 20, 2016 on Hotels
Overall it is a great hotel! We loved the pool! The great rooms and also the employees had very friendly, although many of them really lack in English. What is a absolute no-go, is what happened at breakfast! We would really have loved our stay, but such an experience can bring a bad taste into the overall stay.
5 out of 5
by Geshun from shanghai

nice stay

Posted Dec 29, 2015 on Hotels
clean room, well trained staff
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 23, 2016 by Hotel Management Team, Hotel Management
Dear guest,thanks for sharing your staying experience with us at Crowne Plaza Shanghai Harbour City.. Guest comments like yours are paramount for allowing us to focus our attention when guests' feel it is necessary. We have forwarded your review to related operation department. Looking forward to welcome you back in the near future!
1 out of 5
by Alex from CR

Don't waste your money!

Posted Aug 12, 2015 on Hotels
After living in Shanghai for a while now, I thought this hotel would be a good option for a quick getaway from the city. The hotel is falling apart, no maintenance at all. Poor service and staff speaks little to no english (this is a Crowne Plaza!). Hotel room is just ok. There was a piece of glass on the carpet that got stuck into my foot, I guess they don't vacuum. The pool closes from 12 to 3pm because they have to clean...WHAT?! That's the best time to enjoy a pool. I complained and they told me it was for the guests' safety since the sun is too dangerous, true, but let me make that call... On top of that the staff collects all the pool towels at 12pm because they need to wash them. Again, I complained and the front desk manager told me they did it for the afternoon guests, what a joke! I guess I'm not a paying guest...Food is below average, far from an "International" experience. Bottom line, don't bother booking this hotel, you will be disappointed !
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 17, 2015 by Hotel Management Team, Hotel Management
Dear Alex, Thank you very much for your valuable comments about your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Shanghai Harbour City. We apologize for the inconvenience that has caused you during your stay and the unavailability of the outdoor swimming pool during your preferred time. Thank you for bringing this to our attention and we have looked into them. The outdoor swimming pool operating time has been adjusted from 9am to 7pm during summer time and we have also re-emphasized on language and standards trainings to ensure we can provide a better service and experience to you and other guests. It is our goal to always strive for further improvements and we look forward to seeing you soon to experience a more comfortable stay with us! Best Regards, Hotel Management Team
4 out of 5
by Krista from Beaumont

Overrated for the services.

Posted Jun 9, 2015 on Hotels
Checkin was efficient, but not very friendly. No conversation was made, and we had to carry our own luggage from the shuttle drop off to the hotel, and then to our rooms *which for a high standard hotel was very, very poor service. The rooms and hotel amenities were amazing. Very clean and spacious. The outdoor pool was shut down when we were there, which was a major bummer as that was half the reason we splurged to stay here. The location of this hotel is very poor. It's far from the city center, and about an hour walk from the metro. Good location if you want to be isolated in a ghost town, with staff that barely know any English and don't respect that you're paying to stay there.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

better eat out

Posted Jan 25, 2015 on Hotels
hotel western restaurant service was way too slow for dinner time. taste was nice. anything else are good.
4 out of 5
by mark from Australia - SA - Adelaide

Posted Nov 3, 2013 on Wotif
Pros: Design ,lobby area
Cons: Distance to downtown
no tours availables