Ratings based on 308 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tokyo

location! Clean! Friendly!

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Room is huge and clean. Romantic historical building, yet well renovated. People are kind and friendly. Breakfast has a good portion and yummy! I love this hotel. will return next time!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great place close to park/subway

Posted Jun 23, 2017
Cons: breakfast
great place close to park/subway
3 out of 5
by Richard

Local old luxury but could do with a lick of paint

Posted Apr 21, 2017 on Hotels
Well positioned in relation to the French Concession area and Line 1. Friendly staff. Rough around the edges but very charming hotel. Rooms are large and well furnished. Great bath. Breakfast very simple and limited.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ballarat australia

Real nice hotel in French quarter

Posted Mar 31, 2017
Great location walking distance to shopping centres and parks for relaxing and exercise
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice stay, good place

Posted Dec 10, 2016 on Hotels
This was our second time in this hotel, and we'd return again. However, the breakfast was poorer than in the past, as there is now a dedicated breakfast room, and the food was of considerably less quality, and the wifi was very weak almost all the time, which was very frustrating at times.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Spacious and unique rooms but w poor facility

Posted Nov 11, 2016
Location: The area is very nice.
This is an interesting experience for me. When I arrived at the entrance, I thought that I was in a wrong place. I asked if I could cancel the reservation. The girls at the front desk (actually more like an one-concept regular office) explained that the rooms were spacious, with 54 square meters. Hearing that, I wanted to see a room. I was taken to the 2nd floor and to my surprise, the room shown to me was really stylish and spacious. It appeared very clean as well. At that, I decided to stay at the hotel. Two other reasons that I did not want to cancel the reservation were: 1) too late to find another place; and 2) it would be a fight with the hotel as its cancellation policy that I needed to cancel on the day before. My stay there was overall OK, but there are three things worth mentioning: 1) the hotel is very close to a huge park and Xujia Hui Center; 2) the internet was painfully slow; and 3) the breakfast was not up to the standard even though the chef was very nice. Later a friend of mine told me that the Heng Shan Road area is also well regarded in Shanghai. Overall, this is a hotel with great potential, but there are some limits. If the limitations are improved by the owner, I will definitely go back to the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Good value, nice location.

Posted Nov 10, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff, good value, good location, great breakfast.
Cons: Older building.
Location: Good restaurants and 24/7 convenience stores in walking distance. Also the train station is 2 1/2 blocks away and you can get to many places for only
This is an older building that has been updated. Very friendly and helpful staff. Comfortable and spacious, we stayed for 8 nights. Our stay included breakfast and it was great! Good restaurants and 24/7 convenience stores in walking distance. Also the train station is 2 1/2 blocks away and you can get to many places for only 3 Yuan which is approx. 50 cents. Also bus stop only 1 block away. If you need a taxi, the hotel staff can call one for you. I would stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 3, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Good
Cons: Good
Location: Good
The stay was good. Staff was friendly and the room was clean. It was nice to have breakfast included.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 2, 2016 on Hotels
They need to improve the cleaness in the shower room also all the window and drapes
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Avoid if it charges more than $50

Posted Oct 12, 2016 on Hotels
Breakfast was a preset menu, small dish with no choices, they are being advertised as a luxury hotel, maybe if you compare the stables and this hotel. Luxury hotel won't offer a preset menu's with inedible eggs. There was no juice, any kind!!! Only coffee, tea or water!! Luxury.... Never again for that kind of price, feeling like I've been scammed out of $125. Better to eat breakfast somewhere else, cheaper and tastier and more choices to choose actually what one likes. Can't watch the TV because either the reception is blocked or when it is in service, the picture is so pixelated that one might get dizzy.. The only good thing in this "luxury" hotel was a big room with ample of space to almost dance. But this was overkilled by everything being old, tired and overused.