Ratings based on 193 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice rooms but terrible staff

Posted Dec 14, 2016
Starting off with the positives: rooms were very nice and in good condition. The location is great as well, as it's close to several tourist attractions. The rating would be much higher if it weren't for the staff. Now for the negatives. The staff is absolutely terrible. Starting at the check in, the receptionist just handed me a keycard and immediately went to help someone else. He didn't give me an overview of the facilities or even any information about the basics like WIFI or where the elevator was. The second night, I found a bed bug in my room. I notified the staff, I had to spend over 5 minutes explains what bed bugs are and what they should do about it. When I finally got the night manager to come to my room to resolve the situation, instead of trying to make me feel at ease or suggest solutions to the problem, the first thing he does is suggest that it was I who brought the bed by into the room via my luggage, and that it was impossible for the hotel to have bed bugs. This really made me angry. As if the bed bug couldn't have been left by previous guests or staff. Overall, extemely negative experience. Will not be staying here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ne

Close to Nanjing road

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Nice and tidy, still have many stuffs for improvement
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh, PA.

Nice place near the pedestrian street

Posted Dec 4, 2016
The location of this hotel is excellent. I saw many business people in it. I like the swimming pool that is kept at 28 degrees and the steam room in the 5th floor, the attendants were really nice. They have buffet dinners with excellent food,and if you are a guest at the hotel a three for two deal.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

very nice hotel

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Love this hotel, it certainly deserves a 4.5 to 5 stars rating! The location is great and convenient. Shopping, many good restaurants and public transportations are within walking distance.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Great location; staff inexperienced

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Pros: Great location
Cons: Staff training needed. Recommend they hire some staff and managers from some of the much better operated Western hotel chains.
Hotel has a winning location. Next to Nanjing Rd and 15 walk to the Bund. However, staff are all inexperienced and need more training. When trying to check in at around 12noon, prior to the official check-in time of 2pm, two separate staff tried to pull me out of line saying that check in time was at 2pm. I said I'd like to check if any rooms were available and they were insistent that I should get out of line. I stayed firm and after having them uncomfortably hover next to me while I was waiting, I finally got to the front of the line. As soon as I said I'd like to check in, lo and behold, a room was available. So those two staff were haggling me for no reason. Further, there are only 2 checkin/check-out computers, but 5 staff standing around the check in area, with seemingly no other job than to try to get customers out of the line. I would suggest they invest in 1-2 more check in terminals and redeploy their staff to avoid having customers wait in a long line to check in or out. English language skill is poor. Hotel decor is gaudy, even though they seem to have spent a lot of money on the interior design. Perhaps this is just a matter of taste, but it just seems like money not well spent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Great location; staff inexperienced

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: Great location
Cons: Staff training needed. Recommend they hire some staff and managers from some of the much better operated Western hotel chains.
Location: Nanjing Road, The Bund
Hotel has a winning location. Next to Nanjing Rd and 15 walk to the Bund. However, staff are all inexperienced and need more training. When trying to check in at around 12noon, prior to the official check-in time of 2pm, two separate staff tried to pull me out of line saying that check in time was at 2pm. I said I'd like to check if any rooms were available and they were insistent that I should get out of line. I stayed firm and after having them uncomfortably hover next to me while I was waiting, I finally got to the front of the line. As soon as I said I'd like to check in, lo and behold, a room was available. So those two staff were haggling me for no reason. Further, there are only 2 checkin/check-out computers, but 5 staff standing around the check in area, with seemingly no other job than to try to get customers out of the line. I would suggest they invest in 1-2 more check in terminals and redeploy their staff to avoid having customers wait in a long line to check in or out. English language skill is poor. Hotel decor is gaudy, even though they seem to have spent a lot of money on the interior design. Perhaps this is just a matter of taste, but it just seems like money not well spent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Posted Oct 10, 2016
The location is pretty good, very close to the city center and sub entrance. The hotel itself is excellent in every aspect.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 1, 2016
Central location, great facilities, pricey restaurant foods
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Very nice hotel. Great location!

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Very nice hotel in a great location. The rooms are plenty big and the bathroom is a good size too. The view is not particular good from this hotel because it isn't tall enough. You don't need a great view because everything is right outside the hotel. The Bund 15 min. People Square 15min. The breakfast is only down side. It is too expensive and not really worth the money. I stay at hotels with better and cheaper breakfasts. It is convenient but in my opinion too costly (RMB 180). Two blocks away you find an excellent cafe (Called EQ) and also good Chinese breakfast. I highly recommend this hotel because it is one of the best Chinese hotels that I have stayed at.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from dhaka bangladesh

Nice hotel

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Nice location and clean hotel but receiption staffs are not friendly. Metro and shopping area is very close.