Ratings based on 33 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 10, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overall, good experience.

Posted Jan 3, 2016 on Hotels
Nice hotel near the botanical gardens, but far from other sight seeing areas.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I love the quietness and the garden next door!

Posted Sep 16, 2015 on Hotels
The Garden next door! You cannot beat that.
5 out of 5
by Jie

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 18, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Monica from Los Angeles

Beautiful and clean hotel

Posted Sep 9, 2014 on Hotels
As other reviewers mention, it is slightly outside the main part of the city - however, it was perfect for us because it was in close proximity to where family lived. The hotel was very clean, the staff extremely professional and everyone spoke at least a little bit of english, and the hotel is walking distance from the beautiful Shanghai Botanical Gardens (only 20RMB, or about $3.50 entrance fee). The room was cleaned well every day and we had a lovely view of the hotel's pond and black swans. I would highly recommend, especially if you need to stay in the southern part of Shanghai for any reason.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cleveland, USA

Excellent place to de-jet lag.

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: Next to the Botantical Gardent. Outdoor dinning. Very pleasant staff. Nice pool, too.
Cons: Some of the outdoor furniture on the deck was ragged.
Location: Not too far (10 minute cab - 14 RMB) from the Shanghai South Railway Station.
I have been to the tourist areas of Shanghai several times, so for me, it was not neccessary to be in the heart of the tourist district. What is remarkable about Skylight Gardents is its immediate proximity to the Shanghai Botanical Gardens. As a hotel guest, you have free admission, and a private gate that enters into an expansive oasis. If you are in trepidation of air pollution and the hustle and bustle of Shanghai, I would recommend this hotel. The downside is that it is not close to major attractions. So, if you are looking for a very pleasant place to de-compress, before moving to another area of China, and have no need to do tourism 101, then I would recommend this four-star accomodation.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tom from Los Angeles

I will refer this hotel to other people

Posted Nov 25, 2013
Pros: The staff are polite and responsive. Quick room service. The overall ambient was good. I can see greens, a garden, and a pool with black swans in it.
Cons: The furniture and the showere ceiling in my room was broken...
Location: Located remotely from CBD so it's relatively inconvenient.
The hotel is basically decent and claen but some furniture were kind of old and outdated. The "biggest" downside of this hotel is that it is remote from the downtown area and there is no subway to access nearby.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by James from H

A nice hotel close to a huge green park.

Posted Jun 25, 2013
Pros: Close to a huge green park and quite.
Cons: More dining spacing during dinner. Add wifi in room.
Location: Walking in the nearby park is a great experience.
It's good at this price. Very quite, close to a park. Outside of the hotel, there is nothing basically. Therefore, It is very suitable for people who don't like down life style, but it is not good for people (young, lady,...) who like shopping, eating, night-life, etc., because it is pretty far away from downtown.
4 out of 5
by Dena from Pennsylvania

Great hotel but far from most tourist sites

Posted Jun 11, 2013 on Hotels
This is a great hotel with large, comfortable rooms, lovely garden, good bathrooms, nice b'fast (Chinese and Western). It is quite far from downtown, and not even walking distance to the metro, so only appropriate for people with business in the area. It is popular for putting up people at conferences connected to Eastern Chinese University of Science and Technology, nearby. The one drawback was an almost complete absence of English from hotel staff.
3 out of 5
by Traveler from New Jersey, USA

Too far

Posted Mar 3, 2013
I was waked up by noise from construction work upstairs early in the morning. The staff is friendly and overall condition of the hotel is OK. The location of hotel is just too far from the downtown and any subway stations.