Ratings based on 156 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Okay for extended stay

Posted Mar 20, 2016
The only downside, there were very few English speaking staff. Very challenging at times. Also air conditioning wasn't turned on yet. Room very stuffy. Great workout spa facility.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

best hotel ever

Posted Dec 31, 2014
i've never seen such a beautiful huge hotel.there are some japanese restaurant around hotel as well
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CT, USA

Excellent room cleaing staff.

Posted Nov 8, 2014
MAIN PROBLEM: I HAD TO WAIT MORE THAN 1/2 HR TO GET A CAB TO TAKE ME TO PVG AIRPORT. IT SEEMS THE BELLMEN FON'T THINK IT'S THEIR JOB. AND I WAS NOT THE ONLY ONE DISSATISFIED WITH THIS. BACON: LAST TIME I WAS THERE IT WAS VERY GOOD. THIS TIME THEY WENT FOR A MUCH CHEAPER ALTERNATIVE. IT LOOKED LIKE BACON SCRAPS PRESSED TOGETHER!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from New York

Comfortable and clean.

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Location: You can take a taxi for 5-10 mins to get to very busy shopping malls and restaurants.
New and clean hotel. Average breakfast, free wifi. Location is ok. No free parking (same as most 5 stars hotels in Shanghai).
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Birmingham

Nice hotel but bad service.

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: The room was clean.
Cons: Service.
I forgot mu charger at the room so I called and said I would pick it up two days later. A guy at the front desk was very rude. I called twice before I came in, and they still didn't have idea about what I was coming for.
4 out of 5
by Liz hong kong from S

Great location excellent hotel NO INTERNET IN ROOM

Posted Mar 2, 2014
This hotel is in a great location and is an excellent hotel. All that is missing was no internet in the room ... If you have a laptop which is Apple there us no way to connect to Internet while in your room. We choose the room option with wireless internet included as a way to insure our ability to work during evening hours and NOTHING we did to work with the hotel found us a solution to the problem or refunded the amount we paid. Two rooms booked for several nights... Never again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poor hotel bad location

Posted Dec 15, 2013
A poor hotel, I have stayed here before but the staff and service deteriorated considerably. The staff had little knowledge and unserstanding of English . Not able to cater for someone staying on business... No adaptor for a foreign plug... No hotel car service to the airport before 8am. Long wait for taxis Poor restaurant service No wifi access in the rooms
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mel from Auckland

very nice hotel - but no wifi in the room!

Posted Nov 22, 2013
Cons: In any hotel of this type - you must have wifi in the room!
2 out of 5
by Jeff from Perth

AVOID THIS HOTEL. BAD LOCATION WITH BAD STAFF

Posted Nov 22, 2013
Pros: Checking-out and leaving
Cons: Train the staff to provide a level of service that is expected when you got to a Nikko or a 5 star hotel
Location: There is nothing near by, it is in the middle of a residential suburb. Had to catch a taxi everywhere.
We stayed at many Nikko hotels in Vietnam and Japan in the past, so when we saw a Nikko in Shang Hai it was the obvious choice. We got to the hotel and the lobby was very nice, as we would expect from a Nikko and that was the last time our expectations from Nikko were met. Our room was extremely hot (29 degrees) and the aircondiion did not work. We called for maintenance who came up to our room and did nothing except took his gauge out to tell me the room was hot. The concierge came up to tell us we are going to change rooms, so he gives me a key to another room across the hall. When i go down to reception to hand in the old room keys I am told that i need to pay the difference as the room is bigger and there was no same room of that type available. I asked to speak to the manager and he came out and said it was fine for tonight but needed to move tomorrow to another room. I bluntly refused and after 30 minutes of discussions he decided to leave it. The new room wasn't great either, the bathroom door handle was loose and came off. The window blinds were broken so we couldn't have a shower with the lights on at night time as the adjacent building would see straight in. We didn't call maintenance as it was too much hassle and put up with it until we left. Overall, the hotel staff do not understand service and expectations of a guest staying at the Nikko or a 5 star hotel. The location was in a residential suburb so you can't walk anywhere. Avoid it and go elsewhere
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Abraham from Colombia

Good Hotel, a little old, good ubication

Posted Nov 13, 2013
Pros: Ubication
Cons: Renovation
Good Breakfast, not so clean the halls. the room was a little old