Ratings based on 116 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by Ahmad

Nice hotel

Posted Jan 21, 2017 on Hotels
Pravo Hotel Shanghai Stayed two nights in Jan 17 at the Pravo in a Deluxe room. Reception was quick and easy the the receptionist was very nice and friendly. The room was very good size with a nice King bed with good sheets and pillows, and a great marble bathroom. They also provided a reasonable breakfast though I would recommend the local food over European as it's better quality. Some of the hot food was just lukewarm. On the negative side the aircon tends to be a bit noisy at night, and windows would benefit from a clean. We had wifi as part of our room package, but the Internet was disappointing as it was erratic at best. This was most annoying as I need Internet access for business etc. The hotel is in overall good condition and is located in a somewhat mixed gritty and reasonable shopping area located about 15 minutes walk from the "Bund" with an easy walk or drive to most places. The concierge was very good and provided a great service. Overall I would give this experience 3-4 stars due to poor internet and aircon, but they can be a 4-5 on a good day.
5 out of 5
by MINGJIE

Perfect hotel.

Posted Dec 24, 2016 on Hotels
Very comfortable. Very enjoyable. Very nice people of the hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rooms better than in some five star branded hotels

Posted Nov 23, 2016 on Hotels
This is a great boutique hotel that I highly recommend, especially for business travelers who don't have a need to step out onto tourist destinations. The hotel is a short walk away from The Bund, but if traveling with a family it would likely seem to be less like a tourist's hotel than a practical one for business travel or lengthier visits. My room was better than than some five star, branded hotels. The bathroom facilities were more modern than some too. There's also a partially obstructed view of PuDong and it's tallest buildings. Short walk to a Starbuck's and a clean, professional massage spa. There's an ATM down the block. A manager who I met in the breakfast area was kind and interested in whether I liked their buffet. It was better than some, but not as good as others. The croissants, for example, must be made with oil, not butter. Chinese people might like them, but Westerners will hate them. Nice and professional staff at the front desk. They were helpful in giving writing out instructions to taxi drivers.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice Boutique hotel

Posted Nov 2, 2016 on Hotels
everything was great except for the internet.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Horrible Staff

Posted Oct 26, 2016
Overall the hotel itself was nice. The staff was absolutely terrible! They were very unfriendly and could care less about the people staying in their hotel. My father and I were staying there while we were in China on business. The hotel staff saw us take cabs to and from the hotel everyday. On our last night a cab driver tried to rip us off when dropping us off at the hotel. Refusing to pay his absurd amount I tried to get out of the cab. The driver then tried to drive off with my father still in the cab and me hanging half way out with the door open. I yelled for the security out in front of the hotel. The cab driver stopped and when we got out of the cab he came running at me swearing and was acting like he wanted to fight me. The hotel manager and security came up and asked what the problem was and we told them what was going on. The hotel manager looked at us and kind shrugged his shoulders and told us to call the police, that it was basically our problem. I told him to call the police, I couldn't believe they were not willing to help their patrons. We finally got the cab driver to leave by paying him part of what he was asking for but not before the screamed F-OFF to my father and I multiple times. The hotel manager then told us that the red cabs are bad and not to take them anymore. If he knew that this whole time you would think he would tell the people in his hotel who are taking cabs daily not to take the red cabs! Don't waste your time at this hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean, nice hotel

Posted Oct 26, 2016 on Hotels
It was a good hotel for the night. Only came for a business meeting.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 1, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Kenneth from NYC

Good, but if you need to be online or cool, not 4u

Posted Jun 22, 2016 on Hotels
Everything was nice except for the a/c, which didn't work, and the wifi, which only worked sporadically. I've come to expect these failings in Chinese hotels, and this one didn't disappoint.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Room Review

Posted Apr 21, 2016
Location: Closest subway is Line 10, about a 15 minute walk.
The room tended to be dark and needed more or better placed lighting. There were no doors separating the washroom and the lack of hooks made access to towels a bit awkward. Otherwise, the suite was spacious and nice.
5 out of 5
by CHUNG TUNG

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 29, 2016 on Hotels