Ratings based on 42 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Great location, 2 min walk to IAPM. Stayed in a corner suite. Liked its desk/wifi, good for work. Bathroom supplies good, liked the complimentary mouthwash especially (so you don't have to bring your own); replenished every day. Bed's good. Quiet. Room's a little dated given the years. Patches of grey near the air-con outlet - unsure if it's dust or mould.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Shanghai

Utterly Clueless...

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Pros: The location...
Cons: The staff was the least helpful and clueless that I've experienced...
Location: The location is perfect for those wanting to explore the French Concession or do some Shopping in one of Shanghai's modern shopping malls...
This is a hotel that is not only adjacent to my office, but also a short walk from my house and from the outside it looks quite nice and from my experiences in stopping into the lounge for a drink it was pleasant enough, so when my wife and I were packing up to move it was the obvious choice to stay while the movers had control of our belongings… The problem, however starts with the fact that the Chinese Customs Department needs your real passport when you’re moving AND in order to check into a hotel they require said passport as well… While we instinctively knew this, we also know that any reasonable hotel understands international travelers and does there best to find a solution, while staying within their local rules… This does not describe the Howard Johnson on HuiHui Road…. Instead they were difficult, obnoxious and as they made every new demand for various paperwork, which we delivered, they produced a new obstacle… Finally having enough of this, voices were raised and they agreed to call the police for permission to take our extensive library of color printouts as proof of residency, etc… It only took an hour and a half to check into this disappointing, stained carpet, crappy-wifi room… In China, Howard Johnson is a respectable brand, but the staff at this location, from the Manager on down, needs a bit of help with how to solve basic problems rather than creating even more… There are plenty of wonderful places to stay in Shanghai… I just won’t choose this place again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Room is not clean than before.
Location: Location is excellent.
Internet access is not good. Only one guest available per room at a time. Also the access instruction is not written very clear in English.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mike from UK

Quiet hotel close to shops

Posted Apr 23, 2014
Pros: Good location, fairly quiet
Cons: The room I stayed in was a bit tatty and in need of a facelift
Location: Lots of big name shops right on the doorstep. Metro station close by if you want to travel a bit further out
Nice quiet hotel, a bit tired around the edges by clean and tidy. Ideal location for shopping and Metro station if you want to venture a bit further afield. Used the restaurant once, food was ok but were the only people in there We found lots of reasonably priced restaurants and bars within 15 mins walk, but when we asked hotel staff they had no idea. Maybe there were not locals!!!
2 out of 5
by S from Melbourne

Good location but cleanliness

Posted Apr 6, 2014
Pros: Agoda
The hotel is well located but dated and bathroom need good clean
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Liam from Dublin, Ireland

Excellent good value hotel in terrific location

Posted Mar 12, 2014
Pros: Location and value for money
Cons: To attract more people to lobby bar, should consider live music. Piano, Goujin or accoustic guitar and singer
Location: Too many to list. All kinds of shops, bars, restaurants. Good walks available around French Concession area and to Jinaan Temple.
I am a regular business visitor to Shanbghai. I spend about 2 of every 6 weeks there. I have been staying inn other downtown more expensive hotels, but had this one recommended to me recently. I was very happy. Staff are friendly and helpful. Room, considering what I paid was excellent value for money. The lobby bar is ok, and the restaurant as hotel restaurants go is also ok. In particular the linch is pretty good. The location is terrific with all kinds of restauramts and shopping within mins. Will I be back...yes for sure!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 20, 2013
Pros: Close proximity to business meeting
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by JLV from PDX

Good location, needs faster internet.

Posted Aug 27, 2013
Pros: Staff. Soaking tub. Location.
Cons: Internet
Location: Restaurants around... Donghu Lu (just north)... right off of Huaihai rd--tons of big Italian and other european fashion brand stores.
Very attentive staff always come right out to open your cab door and help you unload anything you might be porting. Some English-speaking staff, though I never had the need to really stretch their English abilities. We had a good rate (50% sale) and for that it was an excellent value, though if I had to pay full price... I think you can find just about as good for much less--though you would probably sacrifice having English-speaking front desk staff and a softer bed (they tend to be pretty firm at the more Chinese-geared, less-expensive hotels you can't find on Expedia). The internet was much too slow for a "broadband" connection... seemed more analogous to dial-up connections of old. However, that is typical of every Chinese hotel I've stayed in. Nice soaking tub in the bathroom with lots of hot water!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Brandon from Boston

Convenient location.Poor Service.

Posted Jul 20, 2013
The hotel is conveniently located, clean and tidy. Room was comfortable. But the service I experienced was terrible.
2 out of 5
by Sanjay from India

NOT VALUE FOR MONEY

Posted Jul 1, 2013
Pros: NIL
Cons: NIL
Location: OK
NOT VALUE FOR MONEY. THE HOTEL STAFF HAD NEXUS WITH THE TAXI DRIVERS, FAVOURED THE GUEST WHO WANTED FOR GO FOR LONG DISTANCE AND FOR SHORT DISTANCE DISCOURAGED THE GUEST TO MANAGE BY THEMSELVES. SMALL ROOMS, UNCOOPERATIVE STAFF.