Ratings based on 104 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tarsh from Australia

Fantastic room and comfy bed

Posted Oct 24, 2013
So pleasantly surprised to have a soft bed after three weeks of sleeping on rock hard beds. Breakfast is terrible and not even worth the approx $6AUD. Everything is cold and chewy, after three days of that I gave up. Go to the shop across the intersection and get a yoghurt and fruit.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 6, 2013 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Vijay

Excellent

Posted Feb 15, 2013 on Hotels
This is truely a fantastic hotel. The entire staff were polite and very keen to ensure my comfort. Good consierge Staff, tips pretty helpfull.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 21, 2012 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Location is good

Posted Jun 6, 2012 on Hotels
Near the bund, but the aircon is not up to par. I would not stay there again in hot circumstanses. Near the Bund, very good, OK standard
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Only if you have to get up early anyway

Posted Apr 18, 2012 on Hotels
The hotel is seemingly under renovation – the bathrooms are done and very nice but the rest of the hotel appears worn-down: worn (stained?) carpets, water stains on walls and greyish towels. Worse though; the maids made a racket from 6 o’clock in the morning – loud messages on screechy walkie-talkies and banging doors. Seemingly we were unlucky with early checkouts on our floor on all of the 3 mornings we were there – but still. The beds are very hard even by Chinese standard. The breakfast is okay– but served in a worn down, drafty room. The wi-fi only worked a few times and only when standing in the door of the room. The neighbourhood has charm – with street vendors just around the corner every night and metro station close by (3-5 min. walk).
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

Shanghai New Asia Hotel

Posted Apr 14, 2012 on Hotels
I've stayed there about ten times in the past few years. A great location. A ten-minute walk to Nanjing Pedestrian Street and the Bund. Breakfast buffet is so-so. Wait staff not terribly friendly. Front desk people always seem too busy to give guests a bit more time. Close to Metro and a HUGE complex of womens fashion ware. Wish there were more TV channels for non-Chinese guests.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 2, 2012 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Look for somewhere else

Posted Feb 25, 2012
It is a very bad experience and will never ever go to that hotel and will not recommend it to anyone. Please don't let the picture online decive you, that hotel is very old with poor maintance
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean and Comfortable!

Posted Feb 17, 2012
Pros: Clean and modern with a friendly staff.
Cons: Immediate vicinity is a bit rundown.
Location: Anything needed is within five to ten minutes walking distance.
A very economical place to stay. Within walking distance of the Bund and shopping/eating on East Nanjing Road pedestrian plaza. About a five minute walk to the nearest subway station. Rooms are small but modern. Very clean and comfortable. I have stayed here twice recently and the staff is very nice.