Ratings based on 476 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 5, 2017
Hotel location is convenient but it does not have lift from floor 1 and floor 3 also has no lift, so if you are with heavy luggage you are in trouble. Morning breakfast is average and expensive. Rates given for breakfast on Expedia does not match what they charge.
4 out of 5
by odalys

Great location. Near the Bund and Metro

Posted Jan 5, 2017 on Hotels
Good location , hotel staff and transportation
4 out of 5
by Zhuo

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 31, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Renyu

Great location and convenience

Posted Dec 26, 2016 on Hotels
The entrance of the hotel is two flights of stairs above the ground level, which can be challenging for people with heavy luggage, although the doormen are friendly and willing to offer help. The room is small, but comfortable with a big window. The hotel is within walking distance to the surrounding shopping areas in East Nanjing Road. The Bund is also within walking distance. The People's Park is right across the street from the hotel, where you can find the subway entrance that will take you all over the city. I did not test the English level of the staff members', since I spoke the same language as they did. Will stay again for the location and the value of money.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle WA

Not accessible

Posted Dec 20, 2016
This is an old building and there's no ramp at front of hotel where we can push our baby stroller. Our room is at the newer wing, which is behind the old building at front, but the new wing and old wing are not leveled. This means when we were assigned to new wing 5th floor, we need to take elevator at old wing to 5th floor and walk down stairs for half floor to go there. (Or take elevator to 4th floor and walk up half floor) Also, there are some staff smoking indoors. Our room is right next to a hallway where there is a staff room and always someone smoking there, and we can smell it in our room. When having breakfast at hotel restaurant, we noticed one of the cooks was smoking next to the kitchen door. Overall the room is ok, location is convenient, breakfast is not good (almost the same everyday), not accessible. I feel the management is used to cut corners and didn't try to improve its own standards. Just don't expect too much from them.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Shanghai Rocks!

Posted Dec 18, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: location
Cons: the mini frig was not super cold
Location: as previously mentioned, the Metro, the Bund, local shops and restaurants. Shanghai is a wonderful place to visit.
The staff are courteous and kind, especially housecleaning. The rooms are spacious and clean. The decor is definitely art-deco, which gives a very ambient look. It is super convenient to the Metro, the Bund and shuttle and taxi services. One is able to utilize a Starbucks that is next door, as well as other shops and restaurants.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bangkok

Good location but full of dust in the room

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Good location, easy to access metro but full of dust in the room
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Markham Ontario

phantastic historic style chinese hotel

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Excelent location in down town Shanghai at people square, very large room and bathroom, clean and comfortable with air conditioning. Super breakfast in historic style breakfast area with oil paintings. Very reasonable peice. Some rooms for extra charge overlooking people square. Hotel entrance hall a little empty and deserted, not so much inviting (sad, easy to fix), hotel staff nice and helpful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, Ca.

Decrepit hotel with no amenities.

Posted Aug 1, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: The location is good.
Cons: The hotel badly needs renovation.
Location: You can walk to the Bund from this location.
This historic hotel is worth looking at, but don't stay there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel good location

Posted Jun 22, 2016
Pros: Elegant style although now a little old
Location: very handy to the mall and the Bund
staff a little aloof - staff speak very little English