Ratings based on 64 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

health-affecting sewage stench from bathroom sink

Posted Oct 25, 2016
My parents and I are native Shanghainese who moved to California years ago, and we visit our hometown every year. My dad and I were extremely excited about staying in the Park Hotel due to its important history, but our room had incredible issues with sewage stench - I'm talking about an inescapable sewage stench that you could smell from every part of the room. I swear I can smell it even now. It was literally nauseating. I could not sleep. It took talking to multiple people on multiple occasions to get a room switch. I commend the night manager for helping us out with an upgrade, and the day manager for offering his apologies. The service was professional, but unfortunately, the sewage smell rivaled country toilets and was a problem (though to a lesser extent) in the second room. Not to be cruel, but we are very surprised that the Park Hotel is able to stay in business. There are good people working here but also glaring problems in the plumbing system that makes this hotel unlivable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

close to Nanjing Road

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Location: People park, Nanjing Road, shopping center
I stayed before in this hotel and I enjoyed my time there. I will book again in my next trips to China.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to Nanjing Road

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Location: people park, shopping center
I had a wonderful time in this hotel and I booked for two more nights when I finished my business in the other city. It is close to the shopping center, people park, and Nanjing Road activities.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice location, poor condition, bad smell.

Posted Aug 7, 2016
room smells like mold. bathtub not draining, shower head not stable, good water pressure but you can't really use it because if you turn it up, your shower head will be jumping around like sprinkler. none-smoking level full of cigaret smell.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

not clean but good location

Posted Feb 1, 2016
Pros: location
Cons: cleanness
Location: shopping, park, museum
Picked this hotel because of the location. great location but that's probably the only thing positive I would say about this hotel. this is a very old hotel but an old hotel shouldn't mean it's not clean. their bathroom is terrible, which I think is a management issue not facility issue. the cleaning lady is very nice and friendly when you meet her down the hall way but she does a lousy clean job. bath is draining, hairs (previous guest's) all over, one day I even found a dirty towel behind the toilet (it looks like she used that towel to clean things)...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tokyo

Nice hotel close to People's square.

Posted Aug 3, 2015
Very convenient location, and old but good room. Their English isn't good, but it may be above the Chinese standard. Wifi is available anywhere in the hotel. The only complaint I had was that the beverage consumed was not refilled until I checked out.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 1, 2015
It's an excellent hotel. The room is very clean and room service is good. The bed is comfortable, Air condition and shower room also is excellent .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Pros: Great location. Clean rooms
Cons: higher speed wifi
Location: Take a walk to Nanjing Road. You will find many shops and eating places. Walk to the Bund and view the night skyline of Shanghai.
The hotel is located opposite People's Square subway station exit 9. It is within walking distance to Nanjing Road and the Bund. However, the wifi is very slow.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from dallas

Nice hotel, good location in front of People Squar

Posted Dec 19, 2014
Good location in front of metro. Old building and well maintained except for shower walls need deep cleaning
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Port Melbourne, Australia

Beautiful Art Deco style hotel

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: Comfortable beds and proximity to Huanghe Road, People's Park and East Nanjing Road (for shopping).
Cons: Nothing
Location: Huanghe Road (for eating), People's Park (museum & beautiful park) and East Nanjing Road (for shopping). Subway station right across the road.
A beautiful, clean hotel in a fantastic location, right on People's Park and across the road from a subway entrance. A one minute walk to Huanghe Road, one of Shanghai's prime food streets. Very comfortable beds, which was a nice change from the typically very hard beds we found in our accommodation in other parts of China. The hotel staff were also incredibly helpful, going out of their way to provide assistance. I would highly recommend this hotel.