Ratings based on 37 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
60% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely property deserves better staff & upkeep.

Posted Sep 18, 2016 on Hotels
The property has many contrasts: Reception is a cluttered office, but bar has classic, English club feel. That being said, staff had to go multiple places to find a bar menu????? One member of the staff was a young Spaniard, who spoke good English and was charming. The Chinese staff ranged from sweet to disinterested and NONE of them were anywhere close to fluent in English. This was a real issue when trying to get tourist help and when settling the bill. Bathroom had claw foot tub AND big walk-in shower. But tiles were falling off the shower walls and black mold was growing around the perimeter.
5 out of 5
by Wei

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 30, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Yann from singapore

Great stylish hotel close to the French concession

Posted Jul 14, 2016 on Hotels
Very spacious rooms, very comfortable
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Amazing Rooms in a Quiet Neighborhood

Posted Apr 15, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Amazing rooms
Location: Quiet neighborhood but close walking distance to some very good restaurants both Chinese and Western.
This is a fabulous hotel but I can see how it isn't for everyone. Pro: Maybe best room I've stayed in. It would be tied with a suite at the Ritz or the Mandarin. Beautiful large room. Well designed with lots of details. It is supposed to have a colonial Shanghai feel. Very well done and rooms that are comfortable spacious and beautiful. Con: It is in a quiet neighborhood and there is no on site restaurant. There are very good restaurants in very short walking distance. However, if you are looking for that all in one location that is right in the heart of the Bund or Huangpu then this might not be the place for you. It is only short taxi ride to downtown Shanghai like IFC and Century Avenue but something to be aware of.
3 out of 5
by Stefan from Singapore

Posted Oct 1, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel was nice and the location was great. A bit hard to find though. Staff in general could have been more attentive, sometimes it was hard to find someone around or at the reception. Our room was not clean properly. Dust bins were not emptied daily and we had to ask for coffee sachets every day. Only one English channel available on TV
5 out of 5
by Qi from Boston

huge room.

Posted Sep 20, 2015 on Hotels
Great room as always. Good location.
5 out of 5
by Xinyi

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 30, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Ron from NYC

The Sun Shines at Le Sun Chine (even in the rain)

Posted Jan 21, 2015 on Hotels
What a wonderful place. The hotel is really beautiful. The morning staff was very attentive. I arrived late and the late night staff was a bit laid back and less fluent in English. However, I am in China - but I believe this hotel does cater to Western visitors. A beautiful property, well maintained, wonderful breakfast (I had the Chinese dim sum choice). They were very kind to heat the pool for me - though I suspect 12 hours was not enough. Probably needs a full day to even out - it was still quite cold. The fact they were willing to do that for me went a long way. The morning staff was very kind and helpful, and eager to assist. The bar area is nice, but does allow smoking. I also could smell smoke in my room coming from below despite being non-smoking, though this is quite common in China. Overall, a wonderful hotel that needs to tighten up policy and service just a bit. The neighborhood is good, not too far a walk to the metro station, and the hotel will call a taxi (ten minute suggested lead time).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from USA

Not up to Relais & Chateau standards.

Posted Dec 11, 2014
Pros: Quaintness and closeness to where I wanted to be. I am familiar with Shanghai.
Cons: Food service!
Location: Not near tourist attractions but in a beautiful area of Shanghai.
This is an interesting old hotel that has been kept in good but not pristine shape. The staff are accommodating but often do not understand English well enough. Most disappointing is absence of good food options. The room service breakfast and any other meal service (only room service offered)(other dining is formal for large groups) is of poor quality and served in ways that differ from meal to meal...no salt and pepper, one order when two are asked for, no napkins, no pick-up. Location is out of way if you are looking for easy access to tourist spots...hard to get taxi from hotel.
4 out of 5
by Shobhit

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 19, 2014 on Hotels