Ratings based on 1,073 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Beijing

Great location, service spotty

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Pros: Location; layout and furnishing of suite.
Cons: Maintenance; service ethic; standard and timeliness of breakfast.
Three night stay. I regularly travel to Shanghai, the hotel I usually stay out was booked out, so I thought I would try something different. A plus that I got a suite instead of a standard room, and I liked that the hotel is smaller and potentially homier. Location is great, right on the Bund. The "hardware" of the hotel is good. Starting with the suite itself. A "city view" suite, it nonetheless offered a partial view of the river. It was roomy and attractively furnished with a large bathroom also with a window. Comfortable bed. Common areas also nice, with a decent breakfast room and also a lounge. But the "software" of the hotel falls short. No prior notice but the fitness center was closed for repairs with no alternatives having been arranged for guests. Power supply in the suite needed to plug in computer and mobile phone was out of order and needed to be repaired. Toilet in the suite ran on and needed repair. Breakfast service so-so at best. Supposed to start at 7 am but even at 7:20, was not fully set up. Coffee machine all three mornings flashed "CLEAN" but hotel staff insisted cleaning was not needed. Front desk staff were efficient enough but did not demonstrate the kind of service attitude typical of a boutique hotel. Overall feel was that the hotel was planned for and opened by an experienced international hospitality group and then taken over by its local owner trying to save money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel

Posted Jan 4, 2017
The hotel is well located on the Bund. The staff are very helpful. The included breakfast was also very good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from DC

Great location with great view

Posted Dec 26, 2016
Les Suites Orient is a surprising find. It has great location, rooms with great view of the Bund and cityscape of Pudong, and best of all an unassuming yet sophisticated ambience. The staff is well trained, friendly, willing to help yet not intrusive. The tea/coffee room is always open and offers a great view of the street below. In a raining afternoon, watching the stream of busy people walking below while taking a sip of hot espresso brought one back to a long-gone era. The reason for 4 point for facilities is the lack of a full-scale restaurant (there's a noodle bar during lunch). This should not be too much of an issue with all the other options available. Look forward going back next time in Shanghai soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent!

Posted Dec 21, 2016
Great hotel! Feels like a 5 star hotel. The room was clean, neat, quiet and hi-tech. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful by giving us suggestions for restaurants and places to go visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location in Shangai

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Pros: Everything
This is a top five hotel in Shangai. Staff is very friendly and attentive and the rooms are very well equipped to make guests feel at home
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from calgary

2nd hand smoke

Posted Dec 19, 2016
All the hall ways and some rooms full of cigerett smoke it sticks of 2nd hand smoke. Waited in the lobby for an hour to check in. There was nobody to be found to help you After waiting there for an hour was finally help out by the staff. They must have been on their lunch break.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Gen if a hotel on the Bund

Posted Nov 19, 2016 on Hotels
This is a fabulous boutique hotel with luxury amenities. The bath and views are exceptional. The free breakfast is excellent. Views of the skyline and Bund are breathtaking.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cheshunt

A Bit Disappointing after seeing the other reviews

Posted Nov 18, 2016
Pros: The Housekeeping was tip-top. Also the staff were very polite and efficient when requested anything, The hotel is also virtually on The Bund!
Cons: The WiFi. A bigger room service menu. It was most basic ever seen!!!!! A tastier breakfast where you do not have to make your own coffee and toast.
Location: Virtually on The Bund with all attractions easily reached.
I stayed in a Shanghai Suite. - Anybody thinking of booking one of these please see attached photos as it is actually a normal size hotel room and not what I consider to be a suite. The photos on Expedia's booking page are misleading and make it look a massive suite. It's still very clean and pleasant but definitely not a suite.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great value for money!

Posted Nov 17, 2016 on Hotels
I really enjoyed my stay in this hotel. Hotel is right in front of the bund and is well located to many areas of interest. I highly recommend this hotel. It is great value for the location and hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fantastic views for price

Posted Nov 16, 2016 on Hotels
Maps in hotels.com took us to the wrong place so this was difficult to ask for directions if you do not know the name of the hotel in Chinese. Finally got there and let the concierge know about this, he took photos of the map on our phone and said he would pass onto someone higher. Hopefully this is resolved. The room itself was lovely, clean and the beds were great with fantastic views of the Bund. Breakfast was very very ordinary. Would recommend you book the room only and make sure you know how to get there with the correct address. Overall pleasant stay.