Featured Image
Featured Image

Get an overview of this hotel4-star Shanghai hotel in Changning with 3 restaurants


Located in Changning, this hotel is 0.8 mi (1.3 km) from Zhongshan Park and within 3 mi (5 km) of Jing An Temple and French Concession. Jade Buddha Temple is 3.1 mi (4.9 km) away.

Hotel Features

This hotel features 3 restaurants, a fitness center, and a bar/lounge. WiFi in public areas is free. Additionally, a coffee shop/café, a spa tub, and a sauna are onsite.

Room Amenities

All 239 rooms offer free WiFi, 24-hour room service, and TVs with satellite channels. Minibars, coffee makers, and free bottled water are among the other amenities available to guests.

Hotel Amenities

Hotel Amenities

In addition to a spa tub, Mercure Shanghai Royalton features a sauna and a fitness center. Dining is available at one of the hotel's 3 restaurants and guests can grab coffee at the coffee shop/café. A bar/lounge is on site where guests can unwind with a drink. High-speed wireless Internet access is complimentary.

This 4-star property offers access to a business center and meeting rooms. Event facilities measuring 334 square feet (31 square meters) include conference space. This business-friendly hotel also offers spa services, tour/ticket assistance, and multilingual staff. Parking is available onsite for a surcharge.

Mercure Shanghai Royalton has designated areas for smoking.

  • Steam room 
  • Sauna 
  • Fitness facilities 
  • Bar/lounge 
  • Coffee shop or café 
  • Conference space 
  • Business center 
  • Meeting rooms 4 
  • Express check-out 
  • 24-hour front desk 
  • Total number of rooms - 239 
  • Hair salon 
  • Gift shops or newsstand 
  • Shopping on site 
  • Number of floors - 23 
  • Elevator/lift 
  • Coffee/tea in common areas 
  • Free newspapers in lobby 
  • Concierge services 
  • Dry cleaning/laundry service 
  • Express check-in 
  • Fireplace in lobby 
  • Designated smoking areas 
  • Tours/ticket assistance 
  • Free WiFi 
  • Laundry facilities 
  • Spa treatment room(s) 
  • Multilingual staff 
  • Porter/bellhop 
  • Luggage storage 
  • Safe-deposit box at front desk 
  • Year Built 2003 
  • Number of restaurants - 3 
  • Conference space size (feet) - 334 
  • Conference space size (meters) - 31 
  • Number of meeting rooms - 8 
  • Self parking (surcharge) 
  • Number of buildings/towers - 1 
  • Spa services on site 
  • Spa tub 
  • Breakfast available (surcharge) 
  • Television in common areas 
  • Wedding services 

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Family Hotel  
  • Free Wi-Fi  
  • Laundry facilities  
  • Cribs/infant beds (complimentary)  


Available in all rooms: Free WiFi

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi


Self parking (surcharge)

Room Amenities

  • Room service (24 hours) 
  • Air conditioning 
  • In-room climate control (air conditioning) 
  • Phone 
  • Minibar 
  • Coffee/tea maker 
  • Free bottled water 
  • Daily housekeeping 
  • Turndown service 
  • Shower/tub combination 
  • Hair dryer 
  • Iron/ironing board 
  • In-room safe 
  • Television 
  • Desk 
  • Blackout drapes/curtains 
  • Satellite TV service 
  • Free WiFi 
  • Partially open bathroom 
  • Free cribs/infant beds 
  • Rollaway/extra beds (surcharge) 

Where to Eat

Buffet breakfasts are available for a surcharge and are served each morning.

Hongkong Restaurant - This restaurant serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner.

Fuji Restaurant - This restaurant serves dinner only.

Gran Bodega - This fine-dining restaurant serves lunch and dinner.

24-hour room service is available.

Nearby Things to Do

Recreational amenities at the hotel include a spa tub, a sauna, and a fitness center.

The recreational activities listed below are available either on site or nearby; fees may apply.

  • Golfing nearby 
  • Golf lessons available nearby 

Spa Services

  • Body treatments 
  • Facial treatments 


If you have requests for specific accessibility needs, please note them at check-out when you book your room.

  • Accessible bathroom 
  • In-room accessibility 
  • Roll-in shower 

Hotel Policies


Check-in time ends at midnight

Check-in time starts at noon

Minimum check-in age is 18

Special check-in instructions:


Check-out time is 2 PM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are available for CNY 250 per night.
  • Free cribs (infant beds)!


  • Pets not allowed

You need to know

Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on property policy.

Government-issued photo identification and a credit card or cash deposit are required at check-in for incidental charges.

Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and may incur additional charges. Special requests cannot be guaranteed.


You'll be asked to pay the following charges at the property:
  • Deposit: CNY 300 per night
We have included all charges provided to us by the property. However, charges can vary, for example, based on length of stay or the room you book.

Optional extras

The following fees and deposits are charged by the property at time of service, check-in, or check-out.
  • Fee for buffet breakfast: CNY 138 per person (approximately)
  • Self parking fee: CNY 40 per day
  • Rollaway bed fee: CNY 250 per night
The above list may not be comprehensive. Fees and deposits may not include tax and are subject to change.

Hotel Name

  • Royalton Hotel Shanghai
  • Royalton Shanghai
  • Mercure Shanghai Royalton Hotel
  • Mercure Royalton Hotel
  • Mercure Shanghai Royalton
  • Mercure Royalton
  • Shanghai Royalton Hotel

We should mention

Only registered guests are allowed in the guestrooms.

National Rating

For the benefit of our customers, we have provided a rating based on our rating system.

Sorry, we seem to have had an issue loading our review content. Try again?
Learn more.
3.6 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
Learn more.

Nice but the renovation

2 out of 5
by from canadian
Posted Dec 31, 2016
Good hotel I don't recommend until stop the renovation .
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2017 by Ying Wang
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Shanghai Royalton. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. In order to provide better quality service and environment, hotel now is undergoing upgrading and renovation. We are so sorry that will be noise bring inconvenience. Thanks for your understanding again. We look forward to being able to welcome you back to Mercure Shanghai Royalton and a new environment to bring you experience the difference. Warm regards,
Was this review helpful to you?

4 out of 5
by from Australia
Posted Aug 25, 2016
Quick stay , nice hotel, further than I thought from the airport.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 29, 2016 by Ying Wang
Dear Guest, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Shanghai Royalton. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely,
Was this review helpful to you?

No window room. No info in advance.

1 out of 5
Posted Apr 19, 2016
The front will tell you only when you check in that the room you booked is without window. If you need a room with window you need to pay extra. Very disappointed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 27, 2016 by Mercure Shanghai Royalton
Dear Guest, I thank you very much for your most recent stay at Mercure Shanghai Royalton and appreciate that you have taken the time to post your review. Your comments are very valuable to us as we are very committed to improving guests' satisfaction. With regard to the room you have booked, we have only few rooms with no windows and it should have been indicated at booking time. We will check with our partner websites to ensure this information is clearly indicated at the time of booking. We do apologize for any inconvenience this may have cause you and we sincerely hope that you will allow us another opportunity to welcome you again.
Was this review helpful to you?

Facility is good enough but management is not good

2 out of 5
Posted Mar 19, 2016
They put me in basement room first night apparently overbooked. Recover service was not good enough, not due to each staff but due management I think. Facility is good, need improvement in service
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 25, 2016 by Mercure Shanghai Royalton
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your most recent stay with us at Mercure Shanghai Royalton and for sending your stay review. Your ratings and constructive comments are very valuable for us in order to continue improving our service. From your ratings I do understand that during your stay you have experienced challenges with the room arrangement and recover service skill. I have conducted the training to the manager concerned for making sure that we meet your expectations and needs better in the future. Once again, I may thank you very much and if there is anything I may assist you with preparing your next stay at our hotel. We are excited welcoming you back again soon and to make it right.
Was this review helpful to you?


2 out of 5
Posted Jan 31, 2016
Pros: Nothing much
Cons: Description
There was no windows in the rooms that I booked for a business trip, however in Expedia, it shows that curtains is being provided which leads to the thought that there will definitely be rooms in the room and how can there be a room without windows!? Very disappointing for such a well known hotel brand.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 5, 2016 by General Manager, Mercure Shanghai Royalton
Dear Guest: We very appreciate your stay at our hotel. While we wish you had a better experience, it is looks like you feel disappointing. We have many kinds of rooms to provide guests to choose, while we have an obvious signs shown which room without window. Thank you for your kind feedback again, and we hope to see you again soon.
Was this review helpful to you?

Mercure Shanghai Royalton

3 out of 5
Posted Dec 2, 2015
Pros: Staff
Cons: Facilities and comfort of the bed
Location: Good location
Mercure Shanghai Royalton Decent hotel for business travellers
Was this review helpful to you?

This can't be a four star hotel!!!

1 out of 5
by from USA
Posted Nov 16, 2014
This hotel was chosen due to its location and due to its publicized "Four Star" rating online. We wanted to stay in a comfortable atmosphere during our one-day business trip in that area. Upon arrival, my wife and I were greeted by an unwelcoming front desk clerk! When we asked if the room we had booked was a non-smoking room (as that is what we had booked), the clerk's response was..."for the room you booked, it doesn't really matter if it is a smoking or non-smoking room." As it turned out, our room was a smoking room and all rooms on our floor were identified as smoking rooms! And, just for the record, the hotel did have designated non-smoking rooms on other floors. The room was a "standard room" which was a huge disappointment! The bathroom was needing attention with regards to sanitary cleaning and the sleeping area amounted to be not much more than a windowless four walled room with a bed. Yes, there was a TV hanging on one of the four bare walls in addition to something resembling a desk in the corner of the room! There was wired internet but no wifi available with exception to the lobby area. The air conditioning didn't work, even on it's lowest setting. The four star rating for this hotel was definitely misleading and the hotel receives no recommendations from me.
Was this review helpful to you?

4 out of 5
Posted Oct 29, 2014
Pros: Location, quality of facility, staff.
Cons: WiFi in public areas is really slow.
Location: Pleasant neighborhood with a variety of options and good transportation to rest of city.
I always stay here, not just because the location is good for me, but the staff has been helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?

Very good deal off Expedia.

5 out of 5
by from Dubai
Posted Apr 12, 2014
Location: Very close to INTEX shanghai and Cloud Nine shopping mall. Lots of burger kings and McDonalds around the hotel.
A good stay for business trips. Well first off, i booked a superior room online and at the time of check in in Shanghai, i was given a suite. I'll get to the pros and cons directly. PROS: Very comfortable and spacious room Timely Room Service 24h room service menu Free 1mbps wifi ... 3 devices at a time ... !! :D Easy availability of taxi and very good location. CONS: Bit pricey on the breakfast menu, considering the fact that chinese food would come bottom of my favorite cuisine. Wouldve opted for free breakfast than the suite upgrade. Had to redirect to the reception everytime i needed to communicate in english to anyone in the hotel.
Was this review helpful to you?

A Quality Hotel

5 out of 5
by from Northamptonshire
Posted Oct 21, 2007
I chose the Royalton Hotel purely for its location next to the Gymnastic Centre in Shanghai. It couldn't have been closer. When I arrived, I was made to feel very welcome and the staff were kind and helpful throughout my stay though their English was quite limited. The bar area was plush but not the kind of place conducive to making friends particularly for a lone traveller. The area around the hotel was typically Chinese and not too commercialised. Travel to the City centre areas was very cheap and convenient by taxi. Shanghai is an incredible city to visit and I can reccommend the Royalton Hotel.
Was this review helpful to you?