Ratings based on 422 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Panama

Great hotel, terrible staff

Posted Nov 16, 2015
Pros: Good location, very clean
Cons: Staff
Location: Near subway, restaurants, small shops
Great hotel, but the staff service is very bad, would recommend it but do not rely on the staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nOTTINGHYA

Fab Apartment close to the Bund

Posted Oct 31, 2015
Pros: The apartments were clean and a good size
Cons: Communication at the reception desk.
Location: All of the main attractions are nearby and within easy walking distance.
We rented a two bedroom apartment for three nights. It was a good size with lots of room for three people. It was close to all of the sights of central Shanghai. We walked everywhere, once you got your bearings Shanghai was an easy city to navigate.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel terrible staff

Posted Oct 25, 2015
Good and nice location but the staff tried to charge my friend for damages that were already there and i missing control that was there the whole time.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Jose, Costa Rica

Nice hotel, terrible staff

Posted Oct 24, 2015
Hotel room was very nice, and breakfast was great. No complains from facilities. We barely stayed in the room during the day because we left early after breakfast and came back late at night just to sleep. During check out the reception staff told me that there were missing remotes and also something about a stain on the sofa. The housekeeping lady asked me about the TV remote that she couldn't find, then she found it in the bed, so she didn't look very well the first time. Then I wanted to know what was the problem with the sofa, and she pointed at some pen ink marks in different places, different ink colors, and this is when things started to get ugly. I told her that was there because I was sure, and that wasn't made by us. She said we have to pay and she also said my kids did it, she could barely speak English but I'm sure she said it was my kids. That is a very big accusation and I was upset. The housekeeping captain came in to check the stains and she said it was OK, that it was no problem. I wasn't pleased and I told the reception personnel, and a gentleman who refused to give me his name told me "leave now" with a very rude attitude, even when I wasn't talking to him but to another person. Later they told me his name was Mr Wu. Both the housekeeping person on the checkout day and this gentleman in the reception ruined the good impression we had so far about this place. Would not recommend it based on this poor customer service.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from australia

Staff not friendly or helpful

Posted Oct 3, 2015
Pros: The location was great.
No tourist information, no engagement from front desk, no solution to questions, business centre extremely unhelpful and argumentative. The whole establishemnt was not focused on the customer only processing your reservation. Will not be staying there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Belmont, CA USA

This is my mainstay when in Shanghai

Posted Sep 15, 2015
Pros: Room size, convenient location, value.
Cons: Is there anywhere in China where it is possible to get two fried eggs over EASY, yokes intact? Please tell me!
Location: The hotel is two blocks from Line 8 and DaShiJie subway stop and a little longer, but not by much, to Line 10 and Yuyuan Garden subway stop.
Although sometimes I may stay somewhere else for one reason or another, the New Harbour Service Apartments is my go to place to stay when I'm in Shanghai; usually a couple times a year. It's really easy to get to since the addition a few years ago of Line 8 on the subway and DaShiJie stop. Further, the area is far enough (one stop on the subway or 20 minute walk) off the "strip" of Nanjing Lu to feel like a real neighborhood; a lot of places in which to eat and shop. The rooms are BIG; a welcomed thing in a big city. I like having a bedroom and then living area to work and throw my stuff around. Having a small kitchen is nice too; I don't use it so much for cooking, but having the space to prepare tea and use the refrigerator and counter space is convenient. If you opt for the rooms coming with the breakfast, it's a great way to start the morning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

comfortable aparthotel in central location

Posted Aug 30, 2015
I have stayed here many times. I love the location. Near Proples Square and the metro with a supermarket at the back of the hotel and fruit shop opposite. Walkable to Yuyuan Gardens and market and surrounded by shops, Banks and restaurants. Safe location. Close to Marks and Spencer's and Starbucks for the homesick. Hotel itself is quiet. Hotel is an apartment with small kitchen. Rooms are clean. I used the gym, small but ok. Free breakfast was good with western options. I usually stay here but sometimes the price is too high so I stay elsewhere in Shanghai.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

A find

Posted Aug 30, 2015
Pros: Position, area, room size, cleanliness, helpful staff. Proximity to useful Dashije subway station (much more useful and convenient than Peoples Square
Cons: Internet!
Location: It's a delight - very, very Chinese area, lively, slightly off the tourist track, but close to everything.
I've used this place for 10 years and it gets a little better each time. Staff were especially helpful this last stay. Nothing not to love apart from not great internet - but that's China ...
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from England

Has seen better days but ok.

Posted Aug 14, 2015
Pros: Central location, spacious apartment with modern bathrooms.
Cons: Equipment and decoration.
Location: Central, as above. Nearby shops and restaurants. Bus stops and subway near.
On a three city tour of China this was the most expensive accommodation. On the site it looks ok but actually the decoration is getting tired. We had a 3 bedroom apartment which was fine for the family, however the equipment provided was limited compared to our previous apartment in Xi'an. There was no cutlery, no ironing facility, no pans and only limited crockery, though there was the facility to pay extra for use of these items on request. The view from our 24th floor window was spectacular. Staff at the desk were ok but not so eager to please as elsewhere. The pool was ok but again looked a little dated and you have to wear a swimming cap to swim, available for a price. Location is good between the Bund and the French Concession areas with restaurants a short walk of varying level and a supermarket just near the entrance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Apartment Hotel

Posted Aug 10, 2015
Pros: The apartment
Cons: A few kitchen basics
Location: Taxi to the Bund was very reasonable except had difficulty getting a taxi for the return trip to the hotel.as they didn't want to go there
I booked an apartment for 9 nights. The room was everything I had hoped for with a incredible view from every window. I needed assistance with setting up my computer and converters for hair appliances and housekeeping came within seconds of my request along with other concerns such as operating the remote controls (as they were all written in Chinese). I had heard through other reviews that the kitchen did not include any cooking pans or utensils but could be rented daily. I decided against cooking as it would involve buying condiments and spices etc. along with cleaning supplies. No oven, toaster or coffee maker so used the microwave and bought a Melittla coffee cone to make coffee which worked great. If would have been a nice touch to include a few basics in the kitchen however had I stayed longer I would have invested in cooking ingredients etc. Had dinner one night in the hotel restaurant and the food was very good and reasonably priced. Overall it was a very pleasant stay and I was very impressed with my room and service..