Ratings based on 1,079 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Nice and clean facilities. Beautiful garden to enjoy an afternoon walk or reading books. Hotel staffs were so friendly, that whenever we pass by they say hello to us. Assume they are well educated.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 15, 2017 by Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai , Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous : Thank you so much for staying many times. We will never let you feel disappointment. We have great history which embodied by the frontage built between 1925 / 27 by a French architect and was the French Tennis Club. Now the tennis courts have gone to be replaced with 7 acres of magnificent gardens in the middle of Shanghai! All the rooms are great, which in winter, warm toilets seats are a blessing. Our housekeeping staff are brilliant and the views superb. The restaurants are varied with a fair amount of Japanese influence, which is to be expected. The western food in the Rose cafe is varied and extensive with the staff extremely courteous and friendly. The Bars from the Sky Bar on the top floor, to the main bar on the 3rd floor resembling a Club bar with a great choice on imported and local wines. The lobby bar is great for a choice of teas and a gossip! We are looking forward to your next arrival. Okura Garden Hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

Slightly dated now but good service hotel

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Pros: Service, good sized rooms
Cons: Rooms need updating
Location: Located in former French quarter. Ok as it is only a short taxi ride to Xintiandi and other tourist attractions
Good service from staff, and good sized rooms. Slightly dated now
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tokyo

Posted Dec 24, 2016
The hotel was so nice and it was almost like in Japan. The food was also delicious. Especially for Japanese people, it would be the best hotel if it is the first time for you to stay in Shanghai.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Lovely hotel in my favorite Shanghai neighborhood

Posted Dec 20, 2016
Pros: Location, and well-trained staff
Cons: Some of the carpets look dark. Perhaps they can shampoo them more often.
Location: We love being so close to Hua Hai Road.
I love the well-trained, linguistic staff here. They all work so hard to make guests feel happy and at home. They also serve my favorite breakfast buffet in town. We also love staying here in winter months, because they have Japanese-style toilets with heated seats.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 19, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient and clean

Posted Dec 17, 2016 on Hotels
Great, except adjoining room neighbor was smoking, we had to move to another room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

In the heart of shopping and restaurants

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Pros: On-site restaurant for lunch and breakfast buffet.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Very clean and historic hotel. Lots of shopping and nice restaurants in adjacent streets.
Very clean and historic hotel. Lots of shopping and restaurants nearby. The breakfast buffet was excellent.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 4, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 21, 2016
The hotel environment was cosy and classic. Love the exterior and the internal architecture
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Beautiful hotel & Great location

Posted Nov 19, 2016
The hotel is beautiful, the staff are very nice and some speak English which was a plus for us! The rooms are spacious and very clean, don't expect a coffee maker , instead it's a kettle. The bathroom was really nice .. toilet even had a seat warmer. The bed was not that comfortable but we got extra blankets from house keeping made a huge difference. closet space was really spacious for a hotel room. and lots of lighting in room for reading. Food was good , but when they say western food not exactly western food we know. but wide selection for you to choice from and enjoy Chinese cuisines. overall I definitely would go back loved loved the location of this hotel in Shanghai !