Ratings based on 366 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Wendy from Bundy

The Oriental Bund - A nice surprise!

Posted Dec 10, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel was a little tricky to find but only because the entrance is tucked away at the side of the building and there are markets on the front... it doesn't look like the picture on the internet... however, it's in a brilliant spot! It was a 7 minute walk from Yuyuen Garden Metro station and one street back from the Bund. The check in was slow and they couldn't find my reservation but then when they found it they upgraded me! The breakfast was excellent and my room was cosy with a great view of the Bund and City lights. It was around the corner from Yuyen Gardens and great for sightseeing, shopping etc... I would definitely stay here again.. the price was great for the spot!
3 out of 5
by Michael from Northern Mariana Islands

It's worth what you paid.

Posted Dec 1, 2015 on Hotels
Ok! Front desk staff was very hard working and helpful. Location was pretty good. Just an average hotel. You get what you pay for.......
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Do not book the Oriental Bund Hotel

Posted Nov 27, 2015
Pros: The location
Cons: A better trained staff who cares for its customers.
Location: Next top the Bund and YuYuan garde. Close to a subway station.
The only value of the Oriental Bund Hotel is to be close to Yu Yuan garden and the Bund. I shall add that the rooms are clean. However, the staff is most unfriendly and unhelpful. They basically do not care, speak little english and are often incompetent. It was impossible to get Wi-Fi in the room, and internet was only intermittent in the hotel bar. The hotel does not provide a computer with english software. There is no business centre so that you can neither print out nor scan a document. I requested a second chair for my room that was never delivered. The food is at best mediocre. I know for a fact that you can find much better hotels at similar prices in the neighbourhood. Do not go there!
1 out of 5
by Asadali from CHICAGO

Not good

Posted Nov 3, 2015 on Hotels
Everything was broken
1 out of 5
by Ricardo from Coral Gables FL

Hotel not a real 3 or 4 star

Posted Oct 27, 2015 on Hotels
Really bad experience. Yes lobby looks nice and all but they should have a warring once you go on the elevator. "Warning what you are about to smell see and feel from here on is 1 star quality." It was so bad i had to cancel the rest of my nights and book another hotel. This is the thing, if i know is a 1 or 2 star hotel then i would of been ok, but this hotel shows as a 3 to 4 star. SORRY not even close.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 13, 2015
Cons: Wifi in the hotel rooms
Location: Great location, which is the only nice thing about this hotel
Great location but there needs to be wifi in the rooms, and the staff needs to be more helpful. They didn't know the area and couldn't really answer any questions. They also don't speak much, if any, English.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dirty moldy room and bad service (Not a 4 star)

Posted Sep 8, 2015
Pros: It is ~10 walking distance to the Bund and ~10 minutes to Jade Garden (Yu Garden)
Cons: Deep cleaning of the room & bathroom, fix the AC, fix the shower head, change air filter so it doesn't smell like musky/mold...
Location: Proximity to the Bund and Jade Garden is pretty good and the only small silver lining to this hotel.
I would NOT recommend this hotel to a friend or to anyone. We checked into the Oriental Bund on September 1st and entered through the only entrance (under heavy construction with dirt and dust everywhere). We understood renovations would be taking place, but it would be ideal for guest to have a route around the active construction site. When we arrived on the 8th floor lobby, there were two receptionists for check in and one guest ahead of us. We waited in front of the other available staff member staring and waiting to be checked in for 5-10 minutes. The available hotel staff leisurely talked to the each other and ignored us until we held our hands and passports on the desk. Feedback: - The room was dirty and smelled like mold. - The AC would not blow cool air into the room after trying every mode/option, had to sleep in humid 80 degree F - The bathroom had black scum/mold around the ring of the shower/tub - Shower head was crusty with low water pressure - Bed was like sleeping on cardboard For the rate we paid and for it being considered a "4 star" hotel we feel very deceived and unsatisfied with the hotel. Expedia is normally great about filtering out bad hotels and guest reviews normally help identify problem areas. Warning that this is a bad hotel option (I would give them 0 stars if it was an option).
3 out of 5
by Garry from Texas

Posted Aug 2, 2015 on Hotels
I was there during summer peak temperature and could not get the room cool. But the location is great and a good value for the cost.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

ok budget hotel

Posted Jul 22, 2015
Pros: Affordable and clean. No frills. Views are ok but not great.
Cons: wifi in rooms, coffee (they only offer green tea) and sugar/creamer in rooms
Location: Walking distance to Bund, Yu Yue Gardens and "Tourist City". Metro is Yu Yue Gardens. Big fabric and dollar tree items warehouse around the corner.
Hotel sits on top of a fabric warehouse. Hotel starts in floor 8. Take elevator to level 8 for reception. This hotel was clean and rooms and bathrooms were nice. Staff nice but little english. No wifi in rooms, only in lobby or business center. Breakfast not included but available at 88Yuan and it is a full Chinese buffet. It is located south of the Bund. Next to the "Tourist city" and Yu Yuen Gardens. Metro is Yu Yuen. The area is full with fabric businesses and sort of a dollar tree warehouse, and it looks a little run down but overall we felt pretty safe. They were rebuilding the SOHO buliding across the street. When finished this should beutify the area a little.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Under whelmed

Posted Jun 9, 2015 on Hotels
We definitely got what we paid for in this hotel unfortunately. The taxi's found it difficult to find, the reception staff were extremely unhelpful and the room was very small and tired. Although it was clean, and the house-cleaners were very helpful and friendly. Location is awesome to walk around.