Ratings based on 42 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good hotel.

Posted Jun 9, 2015 on Hotels
Nice room. Clean. Friendly staff. Breakfast was minimal, especially if you are more used to Western food. Would come back.
4 out of 5
by Yongcheng

Posted Mar 5, 2014 on Wotif
Location: Perfect
Facilities: Above average; Value: Moderate; Service: Good; Cleanliness: Tidy;
5 out of 5
by Colleen from Australia - QLD - Brisbane

Posted Jan 20, 2014 on Wotif
Pros: This city oasis is close to shops, restaurants & train station. The excellent service was given by all staff. Wonderful history in boutique hotel is
I would like to thank the very competant lady who helped me with my phone booking. I had a voucher to be converted to $US and choose a specific locati
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful refurbished mansion

Posted Oct 21, 2013
One of my best hotel experiences ever. So nice to be out of the normal business hotel and into a piece of history with true comfort and class. The hotel staff were the best part of the experience.
3 out of 5
by Aromanchina from US

History and mediocrity

Posted Sep 24, 2013 on Hotels
Loved the historical aspect of the hotel but conditions were average...with carpets needing a good cleaning. I stay in Shanghai about 10 nights per year and would not put this in my top ten hotels, even at the price point
1 out of 5
by EnriqueP from Manila

Posted Jul 3, 2013 on Hotels
Hotel was undergoing renovation and we were not told.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 19, 2013 by Kevin, Hotel Management
Thank you for your stay in our hotel. We are terribly sorry for inconvenience we brought you . we really want to offer better environment for dinning. so we are renovating the restaurant on the second floor. The renovation will be finished at the end of September . After the renovation, new bar in the open air of the beautiful garden will be set up. we are looking forward to your coming next time.
2 out of 5
by Victor from New York

Reality and virtual don't match!

Posted Mar 19, 2013 on Hotels
Looks great in the pictures and description, that's why I booked. However, finding it was difficult for the taxi driver due to the one way streets. There is a long driveway and stairs which you may be negotiating by yourself with luggage, as no one came to help. During check in, a man came to stand by my bags, so I assumed he was the porter, nope, he walked away and I had to carry by bags to my room as well. The advertisement says city or garden view, unless you happen to get the room with no window. Yes, it looks like a window, but it's mirrored and locked shut so I couldn't even tell if it was day or night. I pointed this out to the staff and was informed that they were booked and I should ask for a room transfer the following day. I transferred to another hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 19, 2013 by Kevin, Hotel Management
Thank you for your stay in our hotel. We are terribly sorry for inconvenience we brought you . Now we are improving our service . From October , a new bar in the open air of the beautiful garden will be set up. we are looking forward to your coming next time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful charm and character

Posted Dec 8, 2012
Pros: Luxurious bathroom in period style
Location: Right behind the Portman Ritz-Carlton, central to Puxi meeting places. Right next door to Manhattan for all-night partying.
What a great find, right in the Puxi business district. It is a mansion converted to a hotel and is very nicely done in period furnishings, Chinese pre-war style. The room is a bit small, but there is a bowl of fruit and the bathroom is luxurious with a bathtub for two and shower for two, and toilet wash seat, and WiFi works in the room. Unfortunately the handheld shower was not operable, and the room safe's battery was low (my only reason for not giving a hiring rating). The staff were friendly and helpful. I have stayed at the Portman-Ritz Carlton and the Shanghai JC Mandarin (both very nearby) but I would prefer to be back in this boutique hotel for the charm and character. I did not get a chance to try the restaurant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Graham from Brighton UK

Charming place but a bit of a squeeze for couples

Posted Dec 4, 2012
Pros: Classical ambience, helpful staff, free WiFi
Cons: Breakfast, size of room
Location: Close to large shopping area, restaurants and bars.
I usually stay in Shanghai in the typical business-class hotels but decided to give something different a try as this was recommended by a Chinese colleague. The Hotel is a former private family house which belonged to a notable architect, dates from 1934. The lobby area is furnished with elegant pieces and furnishings and the main spiral Dragon Staircase is impressive. The rooms are compact but beautifully furnished with velvets and trimmings and there are nice touches with desk furniture and occasional chairs, but little storage space so it would be a squeeze for a couple. The bathroom was spacious with a lovely deep whirlpool bath and a high-tech toilet which had some interesting functions. Breakfast is served in the room and the western selection was a rubbery omelette and stale waffle and pancake, again this would be an issue if it was a couple sharing the room due to lack of space. The WiFi is free and fast which makes a nice change. Staff are very attentive, cheerful and speak good English. Don't expect a gym or a business centre, it's a large house which has been tastefully conveted into a charming hotel. There are plenty of restaurants in the neighbourhood which are cheap and interesting, avoid the nearby Sports Bar or expect to be hassled by the short-skirted staff whilst enjoying your pint and grub whilst watching a game on the screens.
5 out of 5
by Lily

Hidden Gem

Posted Sep 11, 2012 on Hotels
Designed for the family of the famous architect I.M. Pei ( who is the architecht designed Louvre Pyramid, Paris and bank of China, Hong Kong), the hotel gives you a taste of the glamour in old shanghai in 30's yet with the best mordern technology. I stayed there everytime, it has character and the staff is really nice and friendly. Makes me feel like living in an old beautiful house with your own butler. I almost don't want to say too many nice thing to it such that it will not become too popular and end up becoming too expensive....
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 19, 2013 by Kevin, Hotel Management
Thank you for your stay in our hotel and thank you for your great comments. And now a new bar in the open air of the beautiful garden will be set up in September 2013. we are looking forward to your coming next time.