Ratings based on 243 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Filthy Hotel

Posted Nov 25, 2015 on Hotels
As for my recent stay at the hotel, it gives me nightmares even if I think about it now. My hotel room was on the 5th floor where the regular rooms were. On the second day of my stay, I found a couple of small cockroaches crawling on the tissue paper in the bathroom and I could smell sewage smell coming out from the bathroom. The next day I found a live cockroach hiding underneath one of my shoes. I showed the dead insect to the hotel front desk and they moved me up to a VIP room on the 10th floor which I assumed was not infested with cockroaches. That night I was able to sleep. In general, the bathrooms of the hotel rooms where I stayed were filthy. The tiled walls of the shower stalls were covered with mildew. So was the wash basins. The air conditioning was not working. The room was very warm, even though the room thermostat was turned to 20C. I stayed in the hotel twice before and was happy with it. However, this time it was a different story. The hotel seemed to be going downhill since I stayed last time. I hope the hotel management could take note of this and not to let a basically good hotel to deteriorate.
2 out of 5
by Wei A.

Posted Nov 7, 2015 on Hotels
this is a very run down hotel and I will not stay this hotel again in future visit of Shanghai.
3 out of 5
by Frank Koh

Posted Oct 18, 2015 on Hotels
Is almost impossible to get a cab there
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice for the price, but not much more

Posted Oct 11, 2015
Pros: - It was in a nice area - The rooms were spacious, clean and very nice
Cons: - Cable TV, it was like watching tv using the rabbit ears...terrible - No HD channels, and only 2 English channels - Get English speaking staff!
Location: - Lots of local eats, and shops - Metro is close about 5 min walk - A big shopping mall only 10 min walk - The national stadium is 10 min walk
- The hotel is in a great area - Lots to see and do, close to metro - Staff was terrible, most of the staff didn't speak English and didn't bother to help - There were a few staff members that did assist, but their English was terrible - The concierge tells me he can't call a cab because its raining, I ask to speak to the manager and this clown doesn't speak English - The hotel is a really big complex spread over 4 or 5 buildings - If you want to go to the gym, you have to exit your building and walk over to another one, same for the restaurants and other facilities (buildings are not connected) - Most of the 'other' buildings have their lights off as if they're not in use, but they are. It was like they were trying to discourage you from going in - I don't see how this could be a 4 star hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good service

Posted Jun 28, 2015 on Hotels
Was there on business; good place to stay, nice lobby and decent service. The hotel let us store luggage and return to get it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from melbourne

Great local, great room

Posted Jun 24, 2015
Great location lovely area and easy access to shops, little kitchenette in the room, needs a new mattress.
2 out of 5
by Jill from Chicago

Looking for a new hotel in Xuhui area

Posted Jan 12, 2015 on Hotels
I had stayed at this hotel two years ago and had a better experience in the past. They have made the breakfast room and buffet selection much smaller but the price is still very high. I had many small cockroaches in my bathroom. I went crazy ensuring I didn't bring any home. I stated upon ordering a taxi through the hotel back to the airport that I must use a credit card, and upon arrival the driver said oh no, it must be a Chinese credit card. Baloney. I had to pay cash and was given a receipt for a different customer. I will stay in a different hotel next time. Also, be sure you contact your hotel in advance and print out their recommended cost of a taxi from the airport to the hotel. There are people standing at the exit after customs with signs for hotel names, and if you don't have a price in writing they will attempt to charge you two or three times what it should cost. They have a desk stand inside the airport so you would think it would be legitimate. Ramada should not allow their hotel name to be shown on hand signs if they cannot assure customers of fair treatment.
2 out of 5
by Brian from Knoxville, USA

OK

Posted Oct 30, 2014 on Hotels
This hotel has declined since my last stay in 2012. We saw some roaches in our room and the breakfast was not as good as before. However, the location was good and the staff helpful.
5 out of 5
by William from Singapore

Great location

Posted Oct 16, 2014 on Hotels
Hotel location is great and surrounding with choice of eating outlet.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland, NZ

Lovely hotel, easy to access from the metro

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Pros: Close to Maglev and places to eat. Great area. hotel was very clean and tidy, a dream to stay in.
Location: As above
Very clean, bight, spacious hotel. Great rooms with kitchenette area. Close to everywhere - lots of places around to have a bite to eat and everywhere seems to stay open until 10pm or later! Maglev (Metro) from airport, you have to change at People's Park (line 2 from airport (PVG) to Peple's Park then onto line 1 - get off at Xiajiahui then walk to hotel, about 10 mins). Taxi to Shanghai Pudong airport (PVG) costs around 220RMB and takes around 45 mins.