Ratings based on 118 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from honolulu, Hawaii

Acceptable if expectations are understood

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Pros: Location is great! Convenient with subway stations, bus routes and restaurants.
Cons: Building is old and needs refurbishment
Location: See above
I have been to the Rayfont hotel and apartment every few years for the past 10 years. It is an old building so do not expect high international standards. The most inexpensive room is only $33.00 usd per day or 180 Rmb... Very very reasonable. You get a room w small queen bed, sheets are clean, small refrigerator, old tv with only tw English channels. Staff our fine, once you get to know them. Housekeeping is good, cleanliness good, a nice surpreise. Again. Room is old, many dents and cracks on furniture and nothing fancy. For me it is a comfortable place to sleep, as the location is good. 10'min walk to subway, on bus route across the street, Starbucks, convenient store all around the hotel, and restaurant choices too. Good massage places also at walking distance. It is a place that satisfies my needs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Hereford, UK

Basic but functionable - good value and clean.

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Pros: Easy going and friendly. Great for students or their visiting families.
Cons: A notice board with tourist information would be a very useful.
Location: Great local cafés, food hall and local nail bars and small shops.
If you are an experiences traveller in China this is a good hotel. Would not recommend for a first time visitor looking for the best sight seeing spot or near to an MTR. Basic with few frills but very good value for money. The larger rooms and apartments are best, well worth the upgrade.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Happy with the hotel, improvements could be made

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Pros: Good location, reasonable price.
Cons: The food smell in the building
The hotel is at a convenient location, 10 minutes from the nearest metro station. Staffs are helpful. The facility is basic but OK. The improvement could be made by not allowing people to smoke in the room (there is an ash tray in each room).
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

An embarrasment for Shanghai and Expedia

Posted Mar 16, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Building looks fine on outside, inside hallways and rooms were in terrible shape.
Location: You can walk t Jiangsu station and taxi was rather easy to get
Really the worst hotel experience I have ever had. Having lived in China for 8+ years and travelled there for 12+ I have seen it all from 5 stars to the cheapest local hotel. At the rate I received, the location conventient to my business and knowing Longemont was involved in management I decided to try the Rayfont for my last night in Shanghai. Scary, unkept lobby, creaky slow elevator and dirty uneven hallway floors should have been a set of clues to turn around. Both rooms I looked at had water damage including holes and peeling paint on every wall. WIndows were very thin and probably the source of the water. I can honestly say it was the first time I ever felt unsafe in China. The rooms did not appear unclean if you could ingnore the peeling paint or missing tiles but really bad shape. This is not someplace you wanted to be 18, 19 or 20 floors off the ground. I went downstairs and told them no thanks and instead starting looking for a hotel at midnight in the rain. Out of some money but living for another day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Price

Posted Oct 8, 2013
Very cheap and reasonably priced hotel in Shanghai. Good location and staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

As expected

Posted May 10, 2013
The hotel was pretty much as expected. The room was clean, the staff were helpful. A decent hotel at a good price.
2 out of 5
by Jeff from New Zealand

Dirty Hotel

Posted Apr 7, 2013
Pros: Spacious room and location
Cons: Filthy
Location: Suited my particular needs
Had to change rooms because of issues with cleanliness. Very poor.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alyssa

good location and rate

Posted Apr 5, 2013
Pros: Location
Cons: Kinda old hotel
Location: Nice location
good location and good rate i got in my room for this hotel
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by V. from Costa Rica

Horrible Service, good location.

Posted Mar 26, 2013
Pros: Location and price.
Cons: Unhelpful staff, bad service, bad internet...
Location: Location is good. Only 10 minutes away by cab to the bond. To Pudong it is maybe 15- 20 minutes.
The hotel is in a very convenient location. However: they do not have wifi at all so you have to walk to the hotel next door (a very nice hotel called the Longemont) which has wifi and good restaurants. The restaurant downstairs was dreadful. The service was plain horrible. Maybe one person speaks English and it is very poor. The staff is not willing to help, never fixed our ethernet cable cord which was broken, refused to get us a taxi but pointed outside so we went to get it ourselves, and, finally, the concierge was never there to help with the bags. Thus, if you are going to Shanghai for a maximum of two days the hotel is ok simply because of the location and the price but I would absolutely not recommend it for more than this. If I were to choose again, I would have payed 20 USD more for a better hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by James from Los Angeles, CA, USA

Nice hotel for single or couple

Posted Oct 31, 2012
Overall this is a quality hotel with good price and prime location.