Ratings based on 790 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Inexpensive hotel in Shanghai

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Pros: Great value for the price, nice window view, bathroom had a shower and a bathtub; relatively convenient central location.
Cons: Room cleaning could be a bit more thorough. Otherwise, no problems.
Location: There is a market nearby which has street food - nice simple breakfast. Not too far from three metro stops. Quiet residential area.
I was able to check in early, which was nice because rest was needed after riding the overnight train. It was a bit tricky to find (maybe a clearly visible sign on the front of the building would be helpful). Stayed for a couple of nights, and was able to walk to many other interesting parts of the city and get back by subway.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

The reception staff (male & female)very helpful.

Posted Apr 12, 2017
I thank the reception staff, day and evening shift, for their professionalism and helpfulness in making malaysia airlines calls on my behalf. I feel this hotel is under rated. Their service is 5 stars! Location was excellent. Edwin
3 out of 5
by Howard

Posted Feb 27, 2017 on Hotels
better renovate room facility..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Port Saint Lucie, Florida

Great Value for the Price

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Pros: Convenient to the Bullet Train in Hongqiao. Great Value for the Price. Quiet.
Cons: Some modernization of the furniture.
Location: Location is close by the Hongqiao bullet train which gives you excellent access to virtually every city in China within a 1000 miles
This hotel has been unfairly panned in some previous reviews. For the cost of this room, which was only $33 US, you could not have asked for a better deal. The bathroom was very clean and convenient, the bed was comfortable and the internet service was dependable. What else do you want for $33? Great value for the price. Close to the bullet train; but about an hour away from Pudong International Airport. So choose your poison; low price close to the bullet train, or high price close to the airport (and far from the bullet train). Arthur H Tafero
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 14, 2016 on Hotels
Every thing is good but wifi was very pool
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

very old

Posted Nov 6, 2016 on Hotels
Rooms are very old and carless
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from providence, ri

No

Posted Oct 26, 2016
Disgusting hotel in every aspect. It is a boot camp. Don't recommend for free.............
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from n

Much below my expectation

Posted Oct 23, 2016 on Lastminute
Location: Nothing was exciting
It is too old Lake of proper lunge Lake of proper cafe or resteren
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel was so terrible that we had to switch hotels

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Terrible experience and service. Very bad recommendation by expedia. Photos of the hotel before we booked we nothing like when we arrived at the hotel. We were so disgusted that we had to check out and book abother hotel, and ended up spending even more. VERY DISAPPOINTED with expedia. Extremely disappointed.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Closed Due to Rain Damage

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Pros: They reimbursed my taxi fare for the trip from the original hotel where I had booked.
Cons: Shabby and very scary, with rough looking men loitering in the lobby. There was a rear entrance to the hotel, which was not locked or monitored.
Location: The restaurant and bar in the hotel were open, but had no customers. There was a variety store and a Metro nearby.
The neighbourhood has very narrow streets and lanes, strewn with garbage and rotting food. Many people were sleeping on the sidewalks or sitting, leaning against buildings. Once at the hotel, a clerk advised that the hotel was closed and directed me to another location of this hotel, "4 Star, Downtown, much better hotel". This second location was far away, in an area unknown to me, but there was a metro station within 2 blocks. The lobby was crowded and the lines to check in were long. There were security guards in the lobby. Carpets and upholstery were stained and dirty. The edges of the frame and door to my room were damaged, as if someone had attempted to break into the room. The in-room-safe was not operational and although they promised to have it repaired, it wasn't. In the morning, I found that the shower did not emit even a drop of water.