Ratings based on 255 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from HONG KONG

Good for watch concert or sport race

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Pros: Good for watch concert
Cons: Cleaning could be improve
Location: Close to subway, take taxi to HQ airport under 100 RMB
Room was upgrade to 12 floor ,spacious room, have bathtub and shower as well, even have 2 big sofa, nice view can see Shanghai big theatre, beside hotel have food mall, super market, different traditional chineses food restaurant near by ,overall have great stay there, definitely will stay again next time.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

quiet and run down hotel located in Xujuahui.

Posted Jun 17, 2016
Hotel facilities are worn down and bathroom sometimes has unpleasant smell. Staffs are friendly and quick to response to quests. The hotel swimming pool has this weird policy on that one has to change to swimming wear before he/she can sit by pool side. The room size shown on the Expedia website is not accurate. They represent room construction area instead of interia area, which is strange.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice, and close to everything

Posted Jun 16, 2016
For last 4 years, every time I visit Shanghai, my hometown, I stay there. I love the hotel. Thanks Expedia to find it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Derby, NY

Posted Apr 4, 2016
Pros: cleanliness, affordability, restaurant in hotel, staff accommodating
Cons: Doormen need to understand English
Location: near a metro stop and next to the Outdoor Stadium
The hotel is close to the metro stop. The hotel is beautiful and located near the Outdoor Stadium. The hotel needs to have doormen who understand English. They do arrange day trips which I took and was very satisfied with. I thought the price was very affordable for this hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Dakota, USA

Shanghai at its best

Posted Jan 19, 2016
Pros: The staff were wonderful!
Cons: Wish we could have stayed longer.
Location: Easy access to the Metro, Museums, The Bund, Food, Shopping.
Quiet and comfortable right in the middle of an active area of Shanghai.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

Not good

Posted Oct 16, 2015
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Improved English speaking staff. Broader choice at breakfast. Tidy up of tired rooms with stained carpets etc some maintenance definitely needs to be
Location: Did not explore that much
Check in took longer than expected. Once I entered the room I was quickly on the phone to complain as the room type was old and tired and not at all like the pictures on the website I booked. Beware the floors below floor 10 are all old style rooms. I complained and was told the hotel had no newer style rooms, only after persisting and speaking to a manager I was told I could not be moved to a newer room as the hotel was fully booked. Finally after not taking no for an answer they magically found me a room which I transferred to. The "new" style rooms were not as nice as the web pictures. The room I had looked very worn and tired. The room cleanliness was poor, black hairs on floor and also in the bathroom plus a terribly dirty carpet by the bed area. The bathroom door was a sliding door but maybe because the wood had swollen from the steam from the bathroom you could not open or close it very easily. I found the bed rock hard. I tried to order room service and first of all the girl who answered who did not speak any English laughed and hung up on me. I called again and had to speak to 3 people to finally get someone to understand my order. Room service came but was not great, I had salmon which was quite rubbery, very al dente veg and over seasoned French fries. Breakfast was not good as the choice of western dishes was very limited. The guy at the omlette station could not understand me.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It was a 4-star hotel - 15 years ago

Posted May 26, 2015
I won't be surprised if this hotel is downgraded to 2 stars, in fact, I am surprised it's still holding 4 stars. Room is small, bed is small, windows are dirty. Carpet and wall paper are aged. If I have to say something good about this hotel, well, the air-conditioner works well and the gym is ok.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Posted May 14, 2015
The hotel staff at F&B are extremely unprofessional and rude!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from New York City

Great hotel for business and family

Posted May 13, 2015
Pros: It's big, quiet, clean and my daughter loved their indoor swimming pool
Cons: Because it's within a stadium complex, it's not easy to get a taxi so you need to request one in advance
Location: There's a variety of restaurants and even a supermarket and movie theater within the premises. There's also a small exercise park nearby.
The Regal Shanghai was by far the best hotel I've stayed at in Shanghai. The rooms were very big and modern, the staff were very friendly and helpful and I liked the fact they were able to provide a crib for my 2 year old son to sleep in which not all the hotels in Shanghai can do.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Antonio Texas

Home Away from Home

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Always welcomed here professionally and in a friendly manner Great location and comfortable rooms Lounge level is worth the extra cost every time!!!