Ratings based on 79 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean and relaxing

Posted May 23, 2017
Pros: Clean, quiet, great breakfast. Courteous staff.
Cons: The area is a bit skimpy on other places to eat. Plan to take a taxi for more food variety.
Location: It's Pudong. Good for passing through to/from the airport or if you have business nearby. Not a central tourist area if you want to see Shanghai.
Every time we need a hotel and there is a discount we always enjoy the Renaissance. Always clean with top notch service. Rooms are comfortable and quiet. Breakfast is great but not quite worth it if you have to pay extra. Get a rate with breakfast included. I only stay when there is a special at the hotel. If not, I stay elsewhere. but that's just to save money. We stayed here this time after getting off a flight and needed to take the train the next day. Stayed at Renaissance several times in Shanghai and each has been a great experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 28, 2017 by Ella Huang, Hotel Management
Dear customer, Thank you for staying at the Renaissance Shanghai Pudong Hotel and taking time to share your valued comments with us on your last stay. We are really glad to know that you enjoyed your stay. Guest satisfaction is our number one goal and there is nothing better than achieving that! We are happy that our fabulous dining and outstanding service met all your expectations during your stay! We will continue to maintain our standards to enhance the overall experience of our valuable guests. As you mentioned about the other dining, our Navigator team will be happy to assist you to discover some new intriguing dining options.We look forward to hosting you soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Great hotel in Shanghai

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Pros: The morning breakfast and staff are outstanding.
I stayed at this hotel about 10 years ago. The hotel has not not lost any of its high quality over those years. The rooms and hallways are extremely quiet. The hotel staff is top notch. The rooms decor is up to date. The hotel staff are outstanding and cater to your every need.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 5, 2017 by Ella Huang, Hotel Management
Dear customer, We thank you so much for taking time to write a review on Expedia following your last visit at Renaissance Shanghai Pudong Hotel.We are really glad to know that you enjoyed your stay. Guest satisfaction is our number one goal and there is nothing better than achieving that! We are happy that our excellent enviornment and outstanding service met all your expectations during your stay! We will continue to maintain our standards to enhance the overall experience of our valuable guests. We look forward to hosting you soon. Warm regards, Ella Huang Marcom Manger
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 17, 2017 on Hotels
Room was nice. Decent size. Bathroom was spacious and very clean. Overall property was good. Staff needed to know basic words in English like spoon, water, tissue etc. For an international hotel chain you can atleast expect this from them. Area around the hotel is very secluded during evening. Very quiet. I would prefer to stay on Bund side next time. If you are in Shanghai for work in and around pudong area, this is a good decent option. For tourists I would not recommend this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 17, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us at the Renaissance Shanghai Pudong Hotel. I appreciate that you took the time to post such a positive review. We are regret that some specifics about our service didn't meet your expectation.But we are glad that you were satisfied with our convenient environment. As always, it is a pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to see you again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very very very nice... but a little boring.

Posted Dec 20, 2016 on Hotels
I've stayed at this hotel off and on since the year it opened. It's actually better than when it was brand new. Beds are great. Room is comfortable. Breakfast is good. Gym is good. Locker room and showers etc are very good. Indoor swimming pool is 3-4 lanes wide, 18m long. 1.4-1.6m deep. OK for lap swimming. Not friendly for small children. 10-12 minute easy walk to line 9 metro. Taxis are easy. Less than 10 minute walk to Thumb Plaza. 8-10 minutes by taxi to Kerry Plaza, trade expo or maglev.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

business stay in Pudong

Posted Dec 11, 2016
Pros: nice breakfast
Cons: A/c or temperature control. Adding a top sheet with the duvet would be nice.
Location: easy walking to subway and restaurants
Nice hotel but there in no way to control temperature in rooms. Temperature in room rose above 25C/77F Staff had no solution for the problem but to open window and let in the smog. Not acceptable. I will not return to this hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice budget hotel

Posted Dec 7, 2016
Pros: Nice location
Cons: Lighting and a/c. A top-sheet on the bed would be nice
Rooms are very dark. No a/c which makes it unbearable to sleep in a stuffy humid environment. Room temp would now lower past 23
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 27, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 7, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Absolute comfort bed, clean rooms and lovely staff

Posted Sep 19, 2016 on Hotels
Superb comfortable bed, spotlessly clean. The bar staff were great and I ate one of the best steaks ever in the restaurant. I couldn't recommend this place more highly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 21, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We are very grateful to you for sharing your experience in such a detail. Thank you very much for choosing stayed at Renaissance Shanghai Pudong Hotel. We are pleased to read that you were satisfied with our convenient location and outstanding service which we are proud of. As you said, our location is very convenient. Truly cosmopolitan in outlook and design, our hotel offers the latest in modern comforts while invoking a memory of old Shanghai. As always, it is a pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to welcome you back soon.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 15, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for choosing stayed at Renaissance Shanghai Pudong Hotel and give us such a high rate. As always, it is a pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to welcome you back soon.