Ratings based on 85 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Business Trip

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Pros: Staff, location, cleanliness, amenities
First Class! From the moment we arrived we were greeted with a smile. All the staff were very help and no request was too small. Thoroughly recommend for any business trip! Will definitely be back again
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017 by Ella Huang, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for staying with us at the Renaissance Shanghai Pudong Hotel and for taking the time to leave such a nice comment about us! I am very glad that our employees provided high quality service for you and made your stay memorable. For your next stay, we suggest you try the variety of cuisines available at our hotel and if you want to dine out, our Navigators will have the latest tips on hand for you to discover Shanghai. We are looking forward to your next stay and join us to have a great discover journey! Warm regards, Ella Huang Marcom Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean and relaxing

Posted May 23, 2017
Pros: Clean, quiet, great breakfast. Courteous staff.
Cons: The area is a bit skimpy on other places to eat. Plan to take a taxi for more food variety.
Location: It's Pudong. Good for passing through to/from the airport or if you have business nearby. Not a central tourist area if you want to see Shanghai.
Every time we need a hotel and there is a discount we always enjoy the Renaissance. Always clean with top notch service. Rooms are comfortable and quiet. Breakfast is great but not quite worth it if you have to pay extra. Get a rate with breakfast included. I only stay when there is a special at the hotel. If not, I stay elsewhere. but that's just to save money. We stayed here this time after getting off a flight and needed to take the train the next day. Stayed at Renaissance several times in Shanghai and each has been a great experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 28, 2017 by Ella Huang, Hotel Management
Dear customer, Thank you for staying at the Renaissance Shanghai Pudong Hotel and taking time to share your valued comments with us on your last stay. We are really glad to know that you enjoyed your stay. Guest satisfaction is our number one goal and there is nothing better than achieving that! We are happy that our fabulous dining and outstanding service met all your expectations during your stay! We will continue to maintain our standards to enhance the overall experience of our valuable guests. As you mentioned about the other dining, our Navigator team will be happy to assist you to discover some new intriguing dining options.We look forward to hosting you soon.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good hotel with friendly staff

Posted Apr 16, 2017 on Hotels
Staff at hotel were friendly and accommodating giving us two rooms adjacent to each other - not all hotels can seem to manage this when I have asked in the past. Rooms were clean and had plenty of room - and beds comfortable. Breakfast had plenty of choice - only annoying thing was I had to complete room details and sign a piece of paper per person in the room ( three) every morning for breakfast especially when it was included in our booking so really a paper exercise. Didn't use pool but spa area itself was nice - my only complaint was the ladies steam room looked Uninviting and unclean - white pod like room with white plastic seats on both sides but on one side the chairs had brown stains, floor had plastic white tiles and room didn't smell fantastic - a nice calming fragrance would have helped. Overall hotel was good. There were a few shops etc in the neighbourhood but easy by metro to access restaurants and shops near the Shanghai skyscrapers
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 19, 2017
Dear Customer, Thank you for staying with us at the Renaissance Shanghai Pudong Hotel. I appreciate that you took the time to post such a detailed review. We are really glad to know that you were impressed by our outstanding service. We will continue to maintain our standards to enhance the overall experience of our valuable guests. But on the other hand, we're sorry to hear that some specifics about our pool didn't meet your expectation. We'll try our best to improve our management. As always, it is a pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to welcome you back soon.We hope that we will have the opportunity to show you our improvements in the future. Warm regards, Ella Huang Marcom Manger
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Great hotel in Shanghai

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Pros: The morning breakfast and staff are outstanding.
I stayed at this hotel about 10 years ago. The hotel has not not lost any of its high quality over those years. The rooms and hallways are extremely quiet. The hotel staff is top notch. The rooms decor is up to date. The hotel staff are outstanding and cater to your every need.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 5, 2017 by Ella Huang, Hotel Management
Dear customer, We thank you so much for taking time to write a review on Expedia following your last visit at Renaissance Shanghai Pudong Hotel.We are really glad to know that you enjoyed your stay. Guest satisfaction is our number one goal and there is nothing better than achieving that! We are happy that our excellent enviornment and outstanding service met all your expectations during your stay! We will continue to maintain our standards to enhance the overall experience of our valuable guests. We look forward to hosting you soon. Warm regards, Ella Huang Marcom Manger
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 17, 2017 on Hotels
Room was nice. Decent size. Bathroom was spacious and very clean. Overall property was good. Staff needed to know basic words in English like spoon, water, tissue etc. For an international hotel chain you can atleast expect this from them. Area around the hotel is very secluded during evening. Very quiet. I would prefer to stay on Bund side next time. If you are in Shanghai for work in and around pudong area, this is a good decent option. For tourists I would not recommend this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 17, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us at the Renaissance Shanghai Pudong Hotel. I appreciate that you took the time to post such a positive review. We are regret that some specifics about our service didn't meet your expectation.But we are glad that you were satisfied with our convenient environment. As always, it is a pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to see you again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very very very nice... but a little boring.

Posted Dec 20, 2016 on Hotels
I've stayed at this hotel off and on since the year it opened. It's actually better than when it was brand new. Beds are great. Room is comfortable. Breakfast is good. Gym is good. Locker room and showers etc are very good. Indoor swimming pool is 3-4 lanes wide, 18m long. 1.4-1.6m deep. OK for lap swimming. Not friendly for small children. 10-12 minute easy walk to line 9 metro. Taxis are easy. Less than 10 minute walk to Thumb Plaza. 8-10 minutes by taxi to Kerry Plaza, trade expo or maglev.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

business stay in Pudong

Posted Dec 11, 2016
Pros: nice breakfast
Cons: A/c or temperature control. Adding a top sheet with the duvet would be nice.
Location: easy walking to subway and restaurants
Nice hotel but there in no way to control temperature in rooms. Temperature in room rose above 25C/77F Staff had no solution for the problem but to open window and let in the smog. Not acceptable. I will not return to this hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice budget hotel

Posted Dec 7, 2016
Pros: Nice location
Cons: Lighting and a/c. A top-sheet on the bed would be nice
Rooms are very dark. No a/c which makes it unbearable to sleep in a stuffy humid environment. Room temp would now lower past 23
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 27, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 7, 2016 on Hotels