Ratings based on 879 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Nice location

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Hotel close to the Bund and Nanjing pedestrian road. Exterior of the hotel needs renovation. You need to go through a short alley way to get to the hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 27, 2017
It's pretty dirty. The room smells moldy. The carpet is gross.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Good location hotel

Posted Jun 23, 2017
Location is good. Close to the walking street and the Huangpu River. Need to take a taxi to the Chenghuang temple. Wi-Fi is not acceptable. Most the time, there was no signal on the 4th floor. Computer can use cable connection. Shower spray is very weak. Room lighting is pretty dim. No desk lamp.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel nearby the bund and food

Posted Apr 12, 2017
good all good。it is located at 福州路上。we got dumpling easily each morning。IT is within the walking distance to yuyuan garden ?
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to beach

Posted Apr 7, 2017
Nice hotel close to beach,location good for travel,only the carpet old and dirty .
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Beijing

Only good thing about this hotel is it's location

Posted Apr 5, 2017
The view is really bad and the room is badly designed I don't recommend anyone to stay there
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Quick lay over in Shanghai for the night

Posted Apr 2, 2017 on Orbitz
Location was perfect. Turn right out from the hotel, and you're literally a block or so down from the Bund. And the hotel is just a few blocks down from Nanjing Road and the metro. Very convenient location. Our wifi wasn't working, but as soon as we let them know, 3 minutes later, there was a knock on our door to have it fixed. The set up is very comfy and cozy. The only flaws were my window view was another building wall and the halls were kind of dimly lit so it was a bit creepy. But I would definitely consider staying again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Terrible wifi connection and noisy room

Posted Mar 24, 2017 on Orbitz
Staff didn't voluntarily provide wifi log-on credentials and the special number needed to dial the front desk. Wifi connection was intermittent and of poor quality. The room was not insulted so I could hear the clock music coming out loud and clear every 15 minutes, 24 hours a day. And, they billed themselves as a business hotel but there's no computer or other business related services.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Disappointed with Baron hotel

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Pros: Negative
Cons: Do Not Recommend as basic facility is really below Business hotel standard
Location: 4-5 blocks walking distance to nearby shops not convenient at all.
I booked the Baron Business hotel in Shanghai through Expedia with confirmation for having high speed internet connection.But very disappointed with the poor internet connection in the room as well as in the lobby.Completely no connection at all and ended up I had to go to the Star Buck Coffee about 5 blocks from the hotel to work with the internet connection there. The room has very unpleasant smell due to old and unclean carpet.The water coming out from the shower was so weak and took long time to wash up.Complete disappointment.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location is superb

Posted Mar 11, 2017
The housekeeping is not that good. Just one or two of the staff can speak english. There is a restaurant but I havent tried it. Seems good. Hotels location is perfect for tourists.