Ratings based on 67 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by Sharon

Stay away from this hotel if you want comfort

Posted Jan 23, 2017 on Hotels
This "hotel" is basically converted from an old Shanghaiese house. Nothing's wrong with it, the hardware and facilities are pretty decent. BUT the "software" such as service, was absolutely horrible. The Chinese women who worked at the night shift was totally unprofessional. I arrived the door, there was no door bell. I had to scream through the door to get someone attention. After 5 minutes standing in the cold outside of the hotel, she slowly walked downstairs and opened the door. She didn't apologize, instead, she was mumbling about how impatient I was. There are other small incidents but I am not getting into detail here.. Overall, she was very unhelpful throughout my stay. There is no room for storing your luggages. There is no help from the reception desk.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Back to the past.

Posted Nov 17, 2016 on Hotels
It is a classic location and house. Expect to enjoy a old fashion, classic neighborhood, not a modern one, then you will enjoy it. I like it. It is small but I felt safe, private and convinient.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Won't come back again

Posted Aug 21, 2016 on Hotels
Not a comfortable stay. Single bed room is tiny, and you have the basin next to the bed which is horrible. After one night in single bed room I couldn't bear it any more then upgraded my room to king bed. I should of cancelled my booking. The king bed room is big but is so dark, and I found small insects or bugs in bed every now and then. Room floor is very dusty, but it's not the most horrible part, it maybe even cleaner than bath towels. To sum up, I didn't sleep much during my whole stay in this hotel because I was paranoid of the bugs....
5 out of 5
by Luis from Miami, FL

Charming Stay in the Big City

Posted Jul 28, 2016 on Hotels
Charming little hotel in a great part of Shanghai. Staying here felt more like staying at my aunt's house than a hotel - the staff were so attentive and friendly. The wifi was strong, the room amenities were great and the bed was extremely comfortable. The decor of the room also reminded you more of a B&B than a hotel. It was great!
5 out of 5
by Sebastian from Sydney

Grand old joint

Posted Jun 16, 2016 on Hotels
Absolutely wonderful hotel. Supper authentic old school French concession vibe. Couldn't ask for much more.
4 out of 5
by XI from NYC

can be a great B&B

Posted Apr 8, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is more like a B&B. A few things to be improved include: have envelopes and letterheads available in rooms, install a ring bell at the gate, provide more choices in the breakfast menu
4 out of 5
by Giuseppe from New York

Posted Dec 10, 2015 on Hotels
many positives: FANNTASTIC location. VERY nice building. VERY nice room, GREAT atmosphere/ambiance/decor weird/bad: 1) front door closed in the evening > you have to go to restaurant next door (same ownership) to get in and there is no info/warning about that! 2) good breakfast - though served in the restaurant next door, totally empty, not cleaned from night before and not heated! 3) shower water not warm enough and kinda just trickling down .... just a few - though important - things to fix before we could consider going back.
3 out of 5
by Wenyuan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 22, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami

Quiet; Romantic; Comfortable...out of the way.

Posted Jul 27, 2015
With just a bit more attention to detail, (a principal weakness in China), and this hotel would have warranted a 5 star rating. Summer in Shanghai can be oppressive, and it was. Our room's A/C was broken for one out of three days. After that, it worked perfectly. The room was spacious, decorated well....a blend of art deco, and Shangainese.....dark wood floors, furniture and trim. If only it was all well cleaned. It wasn't a turn-off, just a detail that could not be escaped. Finally, the wifi was horrible....absolutely unusable. We needed to work a bit, wanted to watch a movie (it was raining), and read. Just couldn't do any of it. We asked. The employees were kind, but ineffective with regard to the wifi. In all other aspects the staff were very nice and helpful. If you absolutely don't need wifi, then please do visit this gem. It sits on the fringe of the French concession, about 100 meters from a good street full of restaurants, bars and coffee shops.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami

Cool Feeling - Boutique Hotel

Posted Jul 15, 2015
Pros: interior design
This is a tiny place, and I stayed in the smallest room, yet it felt good. I travel for business, and don't have time for surprises. If you arrive late, make sure the staff knows as the front door locks up. This is a place to sleep...thats it. Wifi is ok. I left too early to have breakfast. Bathroom and shower was great. I looked into a larger room for 2, it had a bath, and was large. This can be thought of as a romantic getaway. Its close to a few streets filled with bars, restaurants, coffee shops. Close to the french quarter....nice streets to walk around.