Ratings based on 54 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Flavio

Best Place in Hongqiao Area.

Posted Aug 12, 2016 on Hotels
Perfect and best place I ever stayed in Hongqiao Area!
1 out of 5
by Lisa from San Diego

worst experience EVER!!!!

Posted Aug 5, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel itself is nice BUT the staff is absolutely horrible!!! I have NEVER stayed in a hotel where the concierge IGNORED your reservation for a taxi, then REFUSED to help load the luggage in the car, and then told the driver the WRONG airport to take me to. As if this wasn't bad enough, 2 Marriott employees and a security officer were standing there LAUGHING at my family. My family had to load the luggage in the car while the Marriott employees stood there making fun of us! Now, after complaining to Marriott I got this face saving email telling me they apologize that what I experienced is not what their concierge told them happened. Seriously reconsider staying here if you are not fluent in Chinese- the concierge is of NO help and if you depend on them for help like a ride to the airport you are in trouble!
4 out of 5
by Milan from Singapore

ok to stay for few nights

Posted Apr 4, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel is nice but food options are less,
4 out of 5
by Ajay Kumar from Copenhagen

Good memories.

Posted Mar 1, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is classical Shanghai. But Marriott. Starbucks at the lobby is good value add for me. Breakfast was well served. Loved it. Rooms were well appointed though a tad small for my taste.
2 out of 5
by chen wei from Ca

Posted Jan 31, 2016 on Hotels
Not recommend this hotel. Staff did not speak English well enough. Room was old.
5 out of 5
by Nathaniel

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 18, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad experience

Posted Nov 11, 2015
Toilet was broken. I asked twice before they finally fixed. They are not familiar with their customer's faces and asked me to show my room key before entering the hotel. The are out of umbrella for raining days. Their taxi stand arrangement is horrible.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 15, 2016 by PR Manager, Hotel Management
Greeting from Shanghai Marriott Hotel Hongqiao! Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate your valuable feedback. We would like to apologize for the unsatisfactory stay you experienced. The issues you mentioned are indeed areas we need to improve on and we are in fact in the process of making those improvements. We do hope you will stay with us again so that we may showcase these new improvements to you.
3 out of 5
by Jennifer from Sydney

The Marriott Hotel review by JL

Posted Oct 9, 2015 on Hotels
Hello, I stayed at the Marriott for 4 nights and felt very appreciative of the fact that there was room availability at the last minute. I really felt very safe and comfortable at the hotel and really enjoyed using the gym facilities including the bike, treadmill and weights machines. I think that my expectation of the level of English speaking was too high. The "At your service" facility was excellent both with very prompt and efficient room service. I felt a little bit embarrassed momentarily when checking out as the bill was calculated with the accommodation fee, which I had already paid upfront during the booking. The service desk person then contacted his manager and apologised for the oversight. I was scrambling to find the "favourite" on my mobile confirming that I had paid the accommodation. The Concierge service was mixed. I think that I was looked down upon because I appeared Asian in appearance but couldn't speak Mandarin. The second concierge was much more courteous and polite. Perhaps this was a generation thing. Oh well...I would still recommend people to stay here due to the great comfort, safety and bargain price that I scored on booking this accommodation. I love the fact that the hotel offered complimentary bottled water as well. I think that I would also like access to recycling facilities whilst staying at the hotel. Thank you for the opportunity to feedback.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Nice hotel close to where I was conducting busines

Posted Sep 26, 2015
Pros: Very comfortable room with good service. Great breakfast buffet and lounge. Accomodating with two hour late check-out at no charge. Good health club.
Cons: Institute a shop with sundries in the hotel.
Very friendly staff checked me in quickly and offered assistance with luggage. Reservation was in order and I encountered no problems during my stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 15, 2016 by PR Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your continuous support for Shanghai Marriott Hotel Hongqiao! We are very pleased to hear that our staff has provided you outstanding service during your stay. We sincerely look forward to welcoming back in the near future.
4 out of 5
by Robert Paul from Colorado

The higher room the better

Posted Sep 16, 2015 on Hotels
Had a great stay for business here, perfect for the business traveler. I had 2 rooms during my stay, as the first room (low, level 4) although claimed to be 'non smoking' I'm thinking maybe just this week they changed it from smoking to non-smoking. It reeked and I am terribly allergic to second hand smoke. The room smelled like an old ashtray. My change to level 7 put me in a noticeably newer room, smelled fresh and clean, so I was satisfied. So note, ask for a higher level floor if you don't like the smell of smoke.