Ratings based on 84 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by Yifei from Shanghai

Good people Fair place

Posted Jan 23, 2015 on Hotels
It's a little far from public transportation. Despite the room was tiny, the services are impressively good. They tried their best to provide service and information a traveller need. All stuff people are kind and enthusiastic to help.
4 out of 5
by Yee Huey from Malaysia

Great location, great pricing, great service

Posted Dec 22, 2014 on Hotels
Stayed here for 6 nights in total. Great location with MRT station located within walking distance. We were transferred to a newly renovated standard twin room after a night and the room was great! New flooring new painting and new wallpaper, and also a thumbs up for the breakfast area!
3 out of 5
by Batzaya from Mongolia

Good hostel

Posted Dec 17, 2014 on Hotels
Pros are location (downtown near the shopping district), price (so cheap to compare nearby hotels), comfort. Cons are messy corridor, air (I got cough and was hard to sleep due to air in the room). Also when the toilet was clogged, they didn't fix it even we requested. Overall, good hotel (also no guests allowed in the room).
4 out of 5
by M from Nanjing

Great as always

Posted Nov 9, 2014 on Hotels
Great as always at this very central convenient hostel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Mouldy and damp EVERYWHERE

Posted Sep 25, 2014 on Hotels
To be fair, this is a comfortable place at first look, conveniently located, with very helpful staff - and very liveable if it weren't for the mould infesting the whole building. You can smell it in the lobby, at the reception, in the bar; the private room we received in the first night (without a window, mind you) smelt so bad that I had to sleep with an anti-smog mask to avoid serious breathing problems. We were given another room from the second night (again, no window) which also heavily smelt of mould but at least did not cause us more health trouble. (The small army of caterpillars in the bathroom was harmless.) We also had to do laundry while there; their tumble "dryer" is completely useless and we needed 3 hours to (almost) dry one half washer load. Worse yet, when we arrived at our next hotel and our noses had adjusted, we were not too surprised to find that our clothes felt damp and had taken up quite a bit of the mouldy smell. This is definitely not an isolated incident, I heard others complain about their rooms at the reception and this was in late summer, not during the rainy season.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

Hostel with great common areas and location

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Pros: The common areas are awesome, great bar, helpful staff and playful murals all around the hostel hallways. Location is good and no curfew, too!
Cons: The carpet in my room was soaking wet. I think this room should not have been booked out without having dealt with this pretty serious health concern.
Location: SOHO is within easy walking distance to the Xinzha metro station and located on a car-free path along the water. Great tattoo place just a block away!
I enjoyed staying at this hostel. I booked a private room that had a king size bed and a private ensuite bathroom. The room was very nice, overall, with many common hotel perks like a blowdryer in the bathroom, a beautiful above-counter ceramic sink, a kettle and mugs, and plastic sandals. I really needed those sandals though, as I only had one primary complaint, which was the condition of the floor. The floor was a thin carpet that was wet across half the floor and damp across the rest. This meant that the room was very musty with mold in many corners and edges of the carpet. If only the carpet was replaced and the water leak dealt with, I would have given this hostel 5 stars for cleanliness. For foreigners, be prepared for squat toilets and curtain-less showers over the toilet!
4 out of 5
by Nar, ravi Kumar from India

Posted Jun 4, 2014 on Hotels
The stay wa comfortable, the taff were cooperaive. Only difficulty we fced was about making ome food our choice. we expected a kitchen with cooking tov for cooking vegetarian food and rice. this ws not avilable. However everyting went well with us. Nair
4 out of 5
by Carsten from USA

Good location, great price, excellent hostel

Posted May 22, 2014 on Hotels
The hotel staff are friendly, the rooms are simple but clean, and the bed was comfortable. I paid for buffet to be included. It was worth it. A great place overall. I'd stay again.
2 out of 5
by Margaret from Shanghai

Average stay, nice for a Youth Hostel.

Posted May 7, 2014 on Hotels
This is one of the nicer youth hostels I've seen in China... other travelers were friendly, the outside area is nice with a little patio, waterfall, garden art, turtles in water. The inside has sitting areas and the bar, but is getting run down a bit. The walls are paper thin, you will hear your neighbors. My room had an un-level floor, so after a shower the water flooded around the toilet for hours. No desk in the room made it difficult to do anything on cpu in the room. No elevator. Some of the front desk staff were very nice and helpful, but not all. A lesson in customer service would be helpful.
3 out of 5
by Sindu from Wuhan, China

Close to metro

Posted Dec 3, 2013 on Hotels
Rooms were not all that but the hang out spots in the hostel are cool and its very close to the metro station