Ratings based on 755 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The hotel is on the busy shopping street

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Pros: Location and comfort
Cons: the plate for room service or do not disturb should be change to something that doesn't fall off easily.
Location: There is a 24 hours pizza hut just a block away, also Japanese ramen shops. Close to the bund, it'a tourist area.
Had a great time, the room was wonderful and the place was really convenient. There is no problem in finding food, it's also really close to the metro station (less than 5 minutes walk). Overall the experience in this hotel is really pleasant. Really love it.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

GREAT LOCATION

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Pros: Staff and location was great. Very clean room.
Cons: The TV seemed to come on randomly during the night. The corridor had a funny smell.
Location: Close to Shanghai night life. Great for shopping and lots of restaurants nearby.
The hotel is very conveniently located near the nightlife of Shanghai and the oldest department store in Shanghai. East Nanjing Station is around 5 mins walk -just be wary that there is no lift from the station and there are numerous exits dotted around which can be confusing. The hotel itself is very clean and very well kept. The concierge were very helpful. We stayed in 1706 and had a great view from our room. It is not however within walking distance of Nanjing road (around 20 mins walk) and the temple.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Great Spot

Posted Jul 14, 2016
Pros: Location
Location: Plenty happening outside on the street to keep you entertained - be ready to be harassed by an endless stream of street hawkers.
Located on Nanjing Road, an excellent spot to get a feel for the vibrancy of Shanghai. A 10 to 15 min walk to The Bund, Peoples Square and 150 mtrs to #2 metro line for easy access around the city.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from s

Posted Jul 14, 2016
Hotel is in the middle of commercial promenade. It's convenient as much as noisy. Hotel itself is quiet and clean. High class feeling with luxury brightness. I like it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia USA

Can't believe it's Sofitel

Posted Jul 12, 2016
Pros: Breakfast was ok.
Cons: This hotel need a renovation.
The hotel is really old. Rooms are very small. Carpet was dirty and hallway looks very cheap. I do not believe I checked in to a Sofitel!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 26, 2016 by Morgane, Hotel Management
Dear Franck, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Shanghai Hyland. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Morgane Borrel Guest Experience Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Top hotel close to the Bund

Posted Jul 7, 2016
A newly built hotel right on the mall and walking distance from the Bund.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from TPE

6/25 住宿

Posted Jul 1, 2016
Pros: 同上
Cons: 同上 房間浴缸的冷水開關轉頭 應該是設計不當 無法使用 酒店應該更換
softel 海倫賓館 地理位子很便利 九江路和南京東路 口 搭地鐵很方便 酒店本身服務挺好 比較屬於歐系酒店 這次入住剛好是出差到上海 特地訂了行政樓層的套房 為了方便late check-in & late check-out 和行政樓層louge可使用 ...大致上服務很好 唯一缺點是本次入住的2710角間房 泡澡浴缸的冷熱水開關設計不當冷水的開關轉頭無法使用....因為是晚上感覺很疲累 突然想泡澡 時間很晚了 因此就放棄泡澡 不打算要求更換房間....真是美中不足....
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Chilling on Nanjing Rd

Posted Jun 27, 2016
Comfortable hotel in a super convenient location. Great value.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 18, 2016
Air Conditioning in the room does not really work.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Perth WA

Brilliant location

Posted Jun 17, 2016
Easy walking to metro, the Bund, shopping and food. Great location and lovely clean hotel. There is a currency exchange machine which was v useful. Highly recommend