Ratings based on 838 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Reno, Nevada

French world class hotel in Shanghai

Posted Jan 20, 2017
Pros: great views of Shanghai skyline from glass shower.................. sort of different but it was like being in a Park Avenue penthouse.
Cons: cannot think of anything.
Location: Right in the heart of everything.................. and SAFE. Great location.
Justin was concierge supervisor during my stay. My luggage was lost for 5 days and the airline was useless. He managed to contact the airline HERE and got my luggage expressed to the hotel in 18 hours. Wonderful service.......... clean and great location............... they supplied maps and even a car to the airport. My glasses had been busted on the plane by a flight attendant running over them with the cart........... of which she was not very concerned. They helped in getting emergency glasses and notified me when they were ready. I cannot tell you what a relief it is to know Sofitel/Accor is there for guests. I have been and will always be loyal to Accor hotels. Justin is dedicated to customer service. They experience was profoundly great. - Pete
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Quiet place for a good day rest.

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Pros: Quiet, clean.
Cons: It will be more pleasant if there is room for early check in without additional charges after all the room is vacant.
Location: The location is at the shopping area.
Need to climb few steps to 1st level and lobby is at 2nd level.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 15, 2016 on Hotels
The wifi is slow
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Victoria, Australia

Disappointing hotel in a disappointing city.

Posted Nov 9, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Central to Nanjing Rd shopping district and to the Bund. Staff were friendly, helpful and spoke good English.
Cons: Not a cheap hotel. Our room had a faulty air conditioner. Needed maintenance to come to the room to repair. The following day the light in the cupboard continued to flicker. Called maintenance again. They sent an electrician who could not fix the flickering light, so he cut the wire to solve the problem. Clearly not a satisfactory outcome. The hotel is surrounded by large numbers of beggars and touters. Guests are accosted on every occasion of leaving the hotel. Very disappointed to see one of the street touters who we recognised was riding the lifts inside the hotel. He had clearly been let in by security on the door. Not impressed!! We will not be returning to this hotel.
Location: Central to Nanjing Rd and close to the Bund.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

San visits Shanghai

Posted Nov 6, 2016 on Hotels
Our 4th time at Sofitel Hyland, and every stay has been perfect. George at bell desk is the best.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Sofitel Hotel in Shanghai

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Pros: lack of communication
Cons: language and communication
Location: a lot of varieties nearby you name it it is there this is China!
it is a good hotel english language is a huge problem, say one thing they thing another! then they rectified sofitel has to improve on english language quality, it is only average or below currently
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location, good hotel

Posted Oct 25, 2016 on Hotels
Great location right on Nanjing Road. Slightly hard for taxis to find for some reason (maybe address in Chinese is on Nanjing Rd?). Staff was inconsistent - bell staff, front desk staff, and staff in the restaurant (breakfast buffet) were awesome, but the lobby lounge staff were pretty bad, some of the worst we had in Shanghai. Rude staff, trying to sell us drinks, and then bringing straight liquor when we ordered an old fashion. Rushed us from the bar. Hotel overall was very nice but old. A bit difficult to get taxis as you have to go down to the street.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manila, Philippines

Pleasant stay with classic French feel.

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Location: Perfect location no need to take taxi to tour downtown. Everything is nearby. The Bund is a pleasant 5-10 minute walk from the hotel.
Stayed in a Superior Room Club Sofitel. Rooms are quite nice much smaller than I expected. Bathroom is basically clean but small also. The bathtub is kinda stuck up as it drains too slowly. Need to clean some stains. Access to Executive Lounge - the cocktail menu is quite good. They don't serve the Champagne (too bad) even if it was on the menu of selections. Food spread is pretty good - love the Paris Ham, Duck and smoked salmon. Staff generally alert to client needs.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Posted Sep 3, 2016 on Hotels
Good location, walking distance to metro, close to shopping and food outlets and restaurants
4 out of 5
by Chiau Ling from Singapore

Great Location

Posted Aug 29, 2016 on Hotels
Highly recommended! Convenient location and within nanjing east pedestrian shopping street. Near to Metro station and walking distance to the Bund.