Ratings based on 139 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Great Experience

Posted Nov 18, 2016
Friendly staff, efficient services, great amenities, when have offers again will be back. In the heart of Shanghai! Never use to beeakfast in the hotel as there is so many local and original restaurants around. Small but efficient business center!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 21, 2016 by Sophia Tian/PR Executive, Hotel Management
Dear Christian, Thank you for such wonderful and detailed compliments, we are most happy to learn that we were able to meet your expectations and create a great experience. We certainly are blessed by being so centrally located, with so many choices of exploring and dining in every direction from the hotel. Look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Best Regards, Sophia Tian/PR Executive
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Jakarta

Average but nice at a prime location.

Posted Oct 22, 2016
Pros: Location and stylish room.
Cons: Really really slow internet.
Hotel is located in a prime location, easy access to Metro and staff actually can speak English.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 24, 2016 by Michelle Chong, Hotel Management
Dear Eric Thank you for taking time to submit a review and share with us. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed our room and location with metro lines 2 & 7 nearby. However, we are sorry to know that you encountered internet problem, and our IT colleagues did make effort to upgrade the Wi-Fi system which helped enhance the experience. We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in future. Best regards, Michelle Chong/Director of PR & Communications
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Overall great hotel!

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Pros: I liked the cleanliness of the the room, the pool, breakfast and helpful staff.
Cons: More choices in buffet breakfast
Clean facilities, good service,and close to the mall and train station. The staff was quiet helpful in arranging transportation to the airport from the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2016 by Swissôtel Grand Shanghai, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time to submit a review. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed our location, facilities, breakfast buffet and service. We look forward to welcoming you soon. Best regards, Michelle Chong / Director of PR & Communications
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sgp

Will be back to stay

Posted Jul 4, 2016
Nice hotel, walking distance to Metro Station. Room comfort is excellent. Near family mart and shopping mall too!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2016 by Michelle Chong, Hotel Management
Dear simple girl, Greetings from Swissôtel Grand Shanghai. I'm delighted to learn that you like our room and location with a few steps to Metro Line 2 and 7, City Plaza, Crystal Galleries, Reel and Kerry Center etc. We warmly welcome you back in the near future. Best regards, Michelle Chong/Director of PR & Communications
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

Many shooping malls and restaurants around

Posted Jun 22, 2016
Convenient, walking distance to different shopping malls. There are many restaurants around and they open till late. Free wifi.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2016 by Michelle Chong, Hotel Management
Dear dor Greetings from Swissôtel Grand Shanghai. We feel happy that you like our convenient location which meet your preference for your travel plan. We warmly welcome you can come back soon. Best regards, Michelle Chong/Diretor of PR & Communications
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 19, 2016
Enjoy the meal and drink. One of the best breakfast I had in Shanghai.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 24, 2016 by Michelle Chong, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, It's my pleasure to read your review and appreciate your compliments on our breakfast buffet. We hope you could stay with us for your next visit to Shanghai. Best regards, Michelle Chong/Director of PR & Communications
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Auckland, NZ

Good location but disappointing

Posted May 9, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Update their beds - they have a pillow menu but need a mattress menu.
Location: Jin'An Temple, shopping
Chose hotel because of location. On check-in took option to upgrade to a Club room as was staying 6 nights but this was the worst upgrade I have ever had (hate to think what a standard room is like). Total lack of comfort in room - beds very hard, settee hard, room dated and no control of air conditioning - I ended up with a bad back and a cold. Hotel solution to bed problem more covers on mattress. The only saving grace was access to the comfort of the Club lounge.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 13, 2016 by becky, Hotel Management
Dear Jan, First of all, on behalf of all of us here at Swissôtel Grand Shanghai, we wish you all the best and happy every day. We do appreciate you taking your valuable time to write us a feedback regarding to your recent stay and highlight our Executive Club Lounge. However, we regret to know your unpleasant sleep experience in terms of our bed type not to your preference. Thank you again for sharing your feedback, and we value each guest’s review. We do hope you could choose Swissôtel Grand Shanghai again. Sincerely, Becky Lin PR & Communications Coordinator Swissôtel Grand Shanghai
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago

Great hotel with great location

Posted Apr 24, 2016
Overall Great hotel, lobby and location. Beds were very hard.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

good hotel, near amenities

Posted Apr 22, 2016
Pros: the staff and the location
Cons: restaurant is expensive
Location: French Quarter
we stayed 4 nights at the hotel. The staff were helpful. We took advantage of the upgrade to the executive floor that was offered. This was excellent value and the executive floor provided a nice escape. The hotel is an interesting walk to tbe French Quarter and close to amenities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Top hotel in great location.

Posted Apr 21, 2016
The spacious room, modern design and amenities were all first rate. I also liked being able to walk to meetings as many businesses are located in the area. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Great professional feel.