Ratings based on 1,743 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice location. Bad smoke smell

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Pros: Great location. Cheap price
Even if the rooms were marked non smoking, smoke smell lingered all over
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth Western Australia

good dependable hotel, our second visit

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Pros: walking distance to where we wanted to be
Cons: Beds is firm/hard
Location: The Bund, shopping and sight seeing within walking distance
Great time in Shanghai both sightseeing and shopping
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Devon

Handy location for the Bund

Posted Apr 7, 2017
Pros: Location. Close to the Bund, spacious room, lovely bathroom and very comfy bed. Used bar once but didn't use other facilities.Lobby beautiful.
Cons: Storage space in room. Big unit for TV to sit on but no drawer space underneath it. No storage other than wardrobe and only 1 bedside table.
Location: Excellent location for the Bund - 15 min walk. Excellent for metro - on line 2 so can get everywhere from there. Safe walking around.
Wanted location easy for the Bund and metro. Excellent for both ... know we'd be out most of the time so wanted a room to come back to that would be comfortable, spacious with a comfy bed. It was perfect for us. Easy access to metro for getting about. Good location for getting around - especially to the Bund. 15 min walk straight road, can't miss it! Shanghai really busy - you have no idea till you experience it, but great. Felt really safe everywhere - people trying to sell you watches n stuff but just say no and they move on. Metro is superb - really clean, modern and easy to navigate. Find out your exits out before you leave the metro though as can be up to 20 exits so if you pick the wrong one you have no idea where you are!! Must see places are the towers (obviously), the Bund day and night, Tianzifane, Jingan Temple - and of course Disney! Wonderful place though - good walking shoes a must. If you like shopping so many malls with all the designer names and huge places - a shoppers delight I would imagine. Not a shopper so lost on me I'm afraid. Bund skyline my favourite - can never get enough of it. If going up the towers - go early, on a weekday if possible and prepare to queue. Late pm good time if happy to wait up there till it gets dark and see everything lit up. Be careful crossing the roads - even when green man showing cars can turn right ..and do. Bicycles and motor bikes go on roads and pavements so be aware of your surroundings!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Good location, friendly staff but dated hotel

Posted Apr 2, 2017
Good location, only 5 mins walk away from nanjing east road and the metro station with food stores available across the street from morning till night. Staff were accommodating and friendly. The only downside is that the hotel and it's interior such as it's room are a bit dated. Other than that, a pleasant stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Great hotel in a great location

Posted Apr 1, 2017
This hotel was in a great location. Easy walk to the bund, shopping and food. Very clean and very nice staff. Check in and out very easy. Only stayed two night but wish we could have stayed longer. Only complaint was the walls are thin. Our first night no neighbors. Second night very loud French lady on the phone at 4am woke us up. Large hotel, would have been nice if they not give us a neighbor knowing walls are very thin.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Taipei, Taiwan

4 star hotel in Shanghai

Posted Mar 21, 2017
I will start off with the best part of the entire hotel; the room. I was given a room on the executive floor. I expected the normal room with a bed and a bathroom but when I walked in I was astounded. As I entered the room I walk into a foyer area with a bathroom door on the right. As I step further in I see a large couch and 2 large chairs as well as a desk area. There was also a 42 in tv and a minibar area with a coffee maker. Around the corner is the bedroom. There is a huge king sized bed and tv. I was in a corner room and the windows were huge with sitting areas that look out on to the most fabulous view I have ever had in a hotel. The hotel is just across the river and faces the Pudong skyline with the Oriental Tv tower as the focal point (see photos below). The bathroom has a huge tub, stand alone shower and a water closet. I would put this room just below the Venetian in Macau or Las Vegas. The check in was quick and easy and the staff were always friendly. I would say the room service menu is a bit limited. The area around the hotel is pretty dead. You can walk about a half km to Nanjing walking street but there is really nothing just outside the hotel. Late at night there are shady guys offering massages so stay away from them. But in all fairness you cannot go anywhere in Shanghai without seeing these opportunistic bottom feeders. Just tell them no and keep walking and they won't bother you.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tokyo

OK hotel but not in the Bund

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Expected to be riverside on Huangpu River but ended up being on side canal. Pretty dirty areA and off the beaten path.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location is very good

Posted Mar 16, 2017
About 7 minutes from nanjing east station. Also you can go to the band by walking within 10 minutes
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel needs renovation

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Hotel is close to Naking Road East and the Bund, which is nice. Hotel staff are very nice and helpful. However, this hotel is a bit run down and needs renovation to make it great again. Lighting was low thus give you a gloomy feeling about the hotel and there is dust everywhere especially inside of drawers.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good price for hotel close to the Nanjing road

Posted Mar 12, 2017
Pros: it's location
Cons: there are some rooms without windows.
Location: Nanjing street has everything you need. you can even take sightseeing bus from there and go anywhere you want.
3 minute walking distance from the busy nanjing street. Price was good too. Hotel is fairly clean and staff is ok