Ratings based on 39 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
59% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
2.9 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Used to be much better

Posted Oct 23, 2016
Location: Business Trip
The floor I stayed in is not renovated, every thing looks and feel old.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Just say no

Posted Sep 9, 2016
Pros: has a nice bar with a view over the Bund. Unfortunately, they won't serve Chinese food there and serve only the terrible stuff they call "Western food
Cons: cleanliness, service, facilities
This was probably once a nice building at the edge of the Bund. That's all it has to recommend it. Musty, smelly, nothing very clean, and staff out of 1978--I went to the half-empty restaurant at 7 pm, for instance, and asked if I could order and was told they were busy cleaning and I had to wait 15 minutes. 40-watt bulbs, slimy carpets, no gym--for $30 a night maybe but not for $150.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Nov 25, 2015
Shanghai is a large city but the central city river area is fairly compact and this hotel location is good for walking and touring that city experience. There are a number of bars and restaurants in the area that are a good mix of local and semi-western bars also. Make sure to get a river view room - by far the best part of the hotel is the nice older atmosphere along with great views of the Bund and Pudong along the river. The hotel rooms are normal Chinese standard with very hard beds. The hotel facilities are also normal Chinese standard with very poor internet, largely inedible breakfast catering, no hotel bar facility at all and very smoky common areas. There is the Metro and there are plenty of taxis around for heading out to other parts of Shanghai such as the French quarter or business meetings. It is somewhat similar to the other older hotel across the street - the Astor House, but the Seagull has much better room views.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Great location, excellent views

Posted Oct 21, 2015
Older hotel but in good condition and in an Excellent location for the Bund and Nanjing Road. Spacious rooms with good facilites and rooms facing the Huangpu have a fantastic view. Definitely recommend for practicality, value and location.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mike from Melbourne Australia

Excellent Location on river with fantastic views

Posted Oct 24, 2013
Pros: Location and views
Cons: Needs renovation
Location: On the Bund and very close to everything.
Very poor reception on arrival, Hotel is very tired, breakfast was basic though cheap. OK for overnight whilst in transit.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dr A .K. Rehni from Patiala, Punjab, India

good hotel but carry food along, may be from ashop

Posted Jun 5, 2013
Pros: Staff cooperation
Cons: food options
Location: great
All facilities were of good standard but the only problem was meager food options for a typical person from abroad (a nasty problem when you cannot go out). Good point: ideal location in Shanghai in terms of scenic beauty as well as distance from various important parts of Shanghai
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Not as good as it seems

Posted May 24, 2013
Internet in room is hard wired not wireless - so Mac users bring a thunderbolt connector
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Very good for easy going people

Posted Mar 19, 2013
Pros: Location and price
Comfortable, good value, great location. Room without window is fine if you aren't spending too much time in the hotel. Could have done with a vacuum. Much better than other hotels I have been in for a little cheaper.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

Bad condition

Posted Nov 21, 2011
condition and maintenance is bad, except that, others are acceptable
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from vancouver

never go back, bad service

Posted Jun 12, 2010
Bad Service, Bad Food, Poor Management
Comment from Hotel Management
by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing our hotel and I would like to apologize for the unpleasant experience during your stay with us. Our hotel has been renovated and we would improve our service continuously. Thank you for your feedback.