Ratings based on 88 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

My favorite retreat in Shanghai

Posted Nov 10, 2016 on Hotels
Amazing sanctuary in Shanghai. Only a few rooms and a stable staff and management makes this a real gem. Never disappointed and I try to stay here whenever I am in Shanghai. Great style great clientele great vibe. It's the best.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Uk

Fabulous hotel in French Concession area

Posted Nov 5, 2016
Stayed two nights in November. Arrived early after overnight train and staff were extremely helpful and had room ready for us within an hour. Romm itself was great- stylish and well equipped. Need to take care with sunken bath right next to bed though !!! Breakfasts were good and lovely bar/beer garden.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2016 by Fergus, Hotel Management
Dear Charlotte, Thank you for your kindly reviews. I am happy to read that you found our staff to be friendly and eager to help. As a sustainably responsible design-focused boutique hotel, it is wonderfully rewarding to hear that our guests enjoyed those aspects of the URBN experience! Our restaurant, BeerGRDN, does indeed have a beautiful terrace, and the food and drinks are excellent! Thank you again, and we are very much looking forward to seeing you again. Fergus MacDougall
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I love this hotel!

Posted Nov 2, 2016 on Hotels
Very stylish and constructed of recycled building materials. The bathtub was comfortable and camewith lovely bath salts. Their breakfast is small but high quality. I would live here if I could.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Fancy hotel in a nice area

Posted Nov 2, 2016
Pros: We stayed in Shanghai for 5 days for visiting our daughter. We arrived late in the evening and got a warm welcome. The hotel manager is very kind and nice. The room was spacious and very clean. The breakfast was amazing, all that goes with it. Freshly squeezed fruit juices, all kind of eggs, chinese specialities, cheese, ham, .... It was fantastic. A perfect beginning of a day. Most of the staff could speak English, what is very helpful.
Cons: There is nothing we didn't like, not more than some of the staff barely speaking English.
Location: Nearby there are a lot of nice bars and restaurants. Metro is within walking distance also the Jing'an Temple and shopping malls.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from boston

Swanky sweet cool hotel!

Posted Sep 8, 2016 on Hotels
First time staying at this swanky hotel and I will definitely be returning everytime I visit Shanghai. This place is so freagin cool, comfortable, trendy and just overall awesome I didnt want to leave. Staff is top notch! We left early AM and the dude at the front counter who was just starting his shift was awesome, had a brown bagged b-fast with juice ready for me and hailed a cab CLASS ACT! Thanks guys!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 3, 2016
Second time in this B hotel ... Very good!! Recommended for business or tourism trips!
4 out of 5
by peter from seattle

Posted Apr 5, 2016 on Hotels
hotel was super w/ arranging restaurants, and manuevering around shangahi
5 out of 5
by Richard from Austin, Texas

Back in Paradise

Posted Mar 29, 2016 on Hotels
This is not the first time i have stayed at URBN and it certainly will not be the last. While i have my own apartment in Shanghai, when my wife visits I prefer to stay more centrally and URBN is my first choice. It is a small property (26 rooms) and it is so thoughtfully designed and constructed it is a true joy. The rooms are spacious and inviting. The bedding divine. But the staff at the hotel really do make the difference. I am writing all these positives in spite of the fact that there was a waterline pipe break one night during my stay which meant no morning shower before work and no kitchen. I was not pleased, but the general manager down to every hotel staff member was exceeding apologetic and did make me feel much better about a bad start to the day. I am however, still waiting for my promised Sunday Brunch invitation, which the GM has somehow forgotten to send me. I am sure he will remember...hint.. The URBN is a great hotel in a great location. I will be back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Recomended!

Posted Jan 13, 2016
Well located and nice atmosphere. Good room service and bfast !
4 out of 5
by Jackie from Sydney

Great boutique base for exploring the French con

Posted Jan 7, 2016 on Hotels
Small boutique hotel really close to jing'an temple metro station. Shopping and restaurants all within walking distance and service was really good. Complimentary food and drinks every evening. Massive and comfortable bed and the gym was small but perfectly formed. Restaurant downstairs had a nice ambience but coffee not great.