Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
40% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not so good

Posted Jul 17, 2015 on Hotels
I would say this is not a good hotel experience
3 out of 5
by Emile from Cape Town, South Africa

So-so

Posted Jan 29, 2015 on Hotels
If you're just looking for a place to sleep, this hotel is alright. It's a short walk to the subway station; one stop away from People's Square. So, it's pretty central. The hotel itself is so-so. There are some spots that are in need of maintenance/repair work. Though helpful, the unsmiling staff can barely speak English, so unless you dumb it down significantly (or can manage some basic Mandarin) you're probably going to feel rather frustrated. The air conditioning (as mentioned in some of the other reviews) seems to be an ongoing problem. Generally, I found the room a bit too warm for my liking. I cannot comment on the restaurant's food because I only had a light meal at the second-floor coffee shop. It wasn't very good, and the giant rat running around was a bit off-putting :P
1 out of 5
by Khaled from London

Absolutely waste of money and time. Very bad hotel

Posted Feb 14, 2014
Pros: Nothin
Cons: change staff and make room comfortable and be honest
This hotel staff can’t speak English. Room like a cold storage. Horrible room Said have in room WiFi but actually nothing there. Please do not book this hotel. Not recommended.
5 out of 5
by Fede from Milan

Very Positive stay

Posted Nov 19, 2013 on Hotels
This hotel is a typical 4 star that might look awkish if you speak 0 mandaring but if you get by in Chinese is fab.Breakfast is phenomenal, location very positive at one tube stop from People Square. Zhabei is getting up and in Joy City closeby you can find Starbucks, Wagas and so on.Excellent value to money. If you are tourists hotel staff english is very basic and scholastic so make an effort to simplify your language like say "we need a taxi" and not "can you get us a cab"...
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cheap but average

Posted Nov 3, 2013
Pros: Cheap, location.
Cons: Staff English, wi fi in rooms.
Location: Good cheap street food in adjacent block.
Well located, cheap. Hotel staff dont have great English. Rooms average.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location and quality stay

Posted May 24, 2012
Very helpful staff,in good location lots of eateries , walking distance to metro ,
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from coppenhagen

...

Posted Jan 19, 2012 on Hotels
The hotel was fine,and the room was pretty ok. however the location of the hotel is not considered as great. Because its located in a really old area....and you can't find any restaurants, except the ones for the local ppl.. It's like 5min walk to the nearest metro, so its ok as it's only a couple of stops away from nanjing lu
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Shanghai hotel at reasonable price

Posted Oct 22, 2011 on Hotels
Reasonably priced, but very nice hotel. Don't let the neighborhood scare you away, but you must be a brave traveler. Ask for an english speaking manager, if necessary.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Puxi New Century Hotel Shanghai

Posted Oct 17, 2011 on Hotels
I stayed here for 2 nights and had terrible experience. The hotel refused to switch on the cooling engine of the rooms and left it solely to fan is utterly unacceptable. Room service lady even asked me to open the window. Will definitely not recommend this hotel to all!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

Good Service and Clean

Posted Nov 22, 2015
Booked a double bed room but there were only twin bed room available. The receptionist insisted that there were two beds in the double room. After negotiating, I was upgraded to a suite room.