Ratings based on 31 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Eric

Posted May 3, 2017 on Hotels
Nice place to stay. Next to railway station and subway. great breakfast buffet.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient location. Not a four star quality

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Clean and relatively comfortable room. Breakfast buffet pretty good. Don't recommend the hotel restaurant for lunch or dinner. We Had dinner in the hotel's restaurant one night. Surprised to see that there was no one else there and only two tables were set for dining with no napkins. Food was extremely salty and staff uninterested in taking care of the customers. They were on their phones the entire time. Front door staff barely spoke English and wouldn't answer any questions or help with anything. We asked one of them to get us a taxi and he showed us the exit door to go outside and get it ourselves. Not a four star accommodation.
3 out of 5
by Denis

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 20, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sheffield, England

Comfortable hotel close to the railway station

Posted Mar 19, 2015
Pros: Clean and comfortable, safe outside, lots of nice extra touches that make the stay easy. Also it was nice and warm.
Cons: Our bathroom door wouldn't stayed closed so my husband's boot became the door stop. Shower was odd, you had to master it!
Location: Perfect location for train and bus stations. Set on the town square were people congregated to do tai chi, ballroom and chinese dancing etc
Stayed here for a couple of days on arrival in Shanghai and were quite happy with it so booked a couple more nights on returning to shanghai. Outside looks a little jaded but the inside is bright and clean and so were the rooms and restaurant. Lovely views from rooms and public square in front hosts an assortment of Chinese activities which are great to watch even if you don't want to join in. Are was safe and always a police presence, no trouble. People friendly, breakfast plentiful if a little weird, but remember it is Chinese, although they do toast and cereal as well (warm milk though). Nice extra touches in room such as slippers, combs and toothbrushes all new and sealed.
4 out of 5
by Stephen from Kowloon

Perfect for the station

Posted Jan 29, 2015 on Hotels
If you need a hotel near the railway station this place is perfect.
5 out of 5
by xueke from China

great

Posted Jan 8, 2015 on Hotels
thats a great hotel beside the train station. i like it thanks
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 10, 2014
good service and very clean hotel,, good rooms and the price also good
2 out of 5
by j21099 from Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

The four-star ranking is a mistake

Posted Aug 18, 2014 on Hotels
Choosing Zhongxiang Hotel in Shanghai was a mistake. The only thing that is good about this hotel is that it is by the Shanghai Railway Station. As a result, it is very convenient to travel around. However, this hotel does not deserve its four-star status at all. First, when I tried to check in, a front desk lady told me that the hotel had not received my reservation from hotels.com. She asked me to call hotels.com, and it took me around one hour to solve the problem with poor online phone connection since I was outside of the United States. The way she handled the problem was hardly professional. Second, the hotel does not truly have a non-smoking room. The smell of smoke goes into my booked “non-smoking” room via the ventilation system. Third, I was assigned to a room on the 13th floor, and there was no WiFi signal. As a result, none of my hand-held devices could access the Internet for four days. I called the front desk to solve the issue. The rep told me that someone would call back, but nobody called back. Fourth, there was not even tissue paper in the hotel room. Finally, the hotel Web page on hotels.com says that the hotel has a pingpong room. I asked for access, the front desk told me that it had been deserted for many years and could not be used. In short, my experience with this hotel was nothing but daily frustration, and I would not go back to it again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by sue from China

The Best Hotel Staff Ever !

Posted Mar 5, 2013
Pros: the staff, my room, breakfast, location
Location: it is directly opposite the train station and a 5 minute walk to the bus station, but a 220rmb taxi ride from pudong int airport.
i arrived from the airport at around midnight and the staff informed me my deluxe double i had booked was unavailable but would put me in a business double at no extra cost then processed it swiftly so that i could get to my room and sleep. The breakfast was brilliant,offering a choice of both chinese and western and the staff in the restaurant were so friendly. i needed to book a bus ticket and they were so helpful to me taking me to the bus station and helping me buy one. also needed to contact a friend in jiangsu to meet me from the bus,my phone wasnt working and they let me use their phone,my friend didnt answer,so they let me use their internet too. My friend informed me that he picked up the missed calls and when he called the hotel,they remembered me and gave him all the details about the bus, he said they were so friendly and helpful to him also, enabling him to meet me from the bus ontime. Probably the nicest, kindest, friendliest and most helpful hotel staff i have ever met in all my travels. i will most definately stay here again when i am in shanghai in july.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 19, 2017
good location and very close to the train station.