Ratings based on 110 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stourbridge, w. midlands

Welcoming hotel with glorious coastal views.

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Pros: Its relaxed country house atmosphere, friendly and attentive staff and the glorious coastal views and gardens. Indoor pool for cooler months.
Cons: poor WiFi in some areas rooms. creaky floorboard above our room.
Location: A short walk down into Shanklin old village with teashops and food options, and steep walk or steps to beachside food drink and family entertainment.
we had a lovely, quiet relaxed week mid September at Luccombe Hall Hotel, exploring the islands attractions by foot and car. We were offered upgrade to sea view on arrival as there had been a cancellation and felt all the staff were always helpful and accommodating. Lovely gardens and facilities, including well maintained pools and hot tub and the view from restaurant is spectacular. We chose to eat in several evenings. Would recommend to others.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Corsham

Disappointed

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Pros: Good location, close to the chine and sea front. Parking was free, with an overflow car park in addition to the main one.
Cons: I think the things I have highlighted here could all be corrected with a little more care and attention to detail.
The staff were all very helpful and pleasant. Breakfast had a good selection of normal cooked breakfast foods, coffee was delivered to the table promptly. Our room was located at the top of the building, probable were the staff quarters were when it was a privet residence. The stares to this top floor are quite narrow. I managed them with the cases with some help from the gentleman from reception. The bathroom was let the room down. At some point it had been redecorated and a number of paint spills were still in and on the bath. The toilet took forever to refill after it was flushed, and there was no shower curtain. The mirror over the basin would be OK for anyone under 5ft 3inc, but as I am 6 foot tall it made shaving quite difficult. The main room was in need of a deep clean certain areas were quite dusty, and the bedside lamp was quite disgusting. I had to ask on arrival for one of the towels to be changed as it was still dirty. Safety: Now for the biggest problem. There was a fire door at the top of the stairs that would not fully close. This looked to be down to an incorrectly fitted door; that could not fit into the frame. I wonder when the hotel was last visited by the Fire Safety Inspection.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent

Friendly efficiently run hotel.

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Always helpful staff on hand. Enjoyed the indoor pool and hot tub. Varried dinner menu and well cooked food. Useful information about allergens. Pretty gardens with lots of little seating areas and lovely sea views. Quite central for getting out and about.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Sea view from the balcony makes it the best!

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Pros: The amazing sea view.
Cons: Hotel maintenance and cleanliness
Location: Perfect location by the sea and close to the town center
My stay at Luccombe for 3 nights and 4 days was amazing. On arrival, I was greeted by Tom who made me feel welcomed. The lovely view of the sea from the hotel is indescribable. I had an executive room with a balcony which gave me the liberty to enjoy the breathtaking sea view and lovely garden of the hotel. However, the cleanliness and the maintenance of the hotel did not live up to my expectation. For the price I paid, I expected a bit more. Spider webs in the room, on the balcony, dusty drawer and gray hair on the chair did disappoint me. I experienced the problem with the temperature of the water during the shower and had to struggle to take shower and bath which was sorted out when they were made aware of. At the end of the day, the bewitching sea view from the balcony, relaxation from sitting on the balcony with a glass of wine, listening to the sea waves and waking up to see the beautiful sunrise just makes your holiday worthwhile. Every ounce of disappointment is overthrown by the pleasure you get being so close to nature away from the crowd. If I get a chance, would love to go there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from YORK

September break

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Cons: It is a little tired and could do with a make over and a better hand rail on stairs to room 12
We stayed for a few days in September. Hotel Ok Breakfasts adequate but dinner on 2 nights good value. Staff very friendly and helpful
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Hertfordshire

Great location with super staff

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Wi-Fi and the sauna door!
Location: Great beach, pubs & restaurants
Great stay in a lovely part of the island. Excellent location and staff. Lovely old building which is clean and tidy. My daughter and I enjoyed our time there. The Wi-Fi was a bit lame but who needs that when you have a beach, pools, beautiful gardens, cream teas and pubs all within 5 minutes walk.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from littlehampton

not great

Posted Aug 25, 2017
black mold in the bathroom, dated décor, hotel looked like a tired B&B from the 80's wifi was non existent which is unacceptable for a hotel in 2018
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from UK

The Hotel with a View.

Posted Jul 25, 2017
Pros: Facilities for children. Staff friendliness.
Cons: Some stair railings / banisters in the hotel are quite wide so a little one could fall through them.
Location: Shanklin Chine, Shanklin Old Villiage, Beach, Shanklin Shops, Shanklin Theatre.
The staff give a warm welcome and genuinely seem interested in how you are experiencing the holiday. They seemed happy to help and have good knowledge of the area. They also interacted with the children rather than ignoring them, like we've experienced in other establishments. We found the facilities for the children to be absolutely brilliant. There are two secluded play rooms (rooms that one can shut a door to which is good for little ones); one for 0-5 year olds filled with good quality toys and books, and the other for toddlers and older children downstairs, plus one general room with a pool table & air hockey. There is also a games room by Reception. The indoor heated pool was very pleasant. Very good if it's raining / if you want to stay in the Hotel instead of going out. The sauna and jacuzzi were nice. The food was cooked and presented to a good standard. We really enjoyed the choice of dishes available and the children's meals were a good portion size. He restaurant staff were accommodating and always smiley. The breakfast was enjoyable but the buffet selection seemed smaller than our last visit. The hotel has beautiful views of the gardens, sea and cliffs while you eat. The room had a wonderful view. The bed was comfortable & bedding clean and appropriately layered for the current temperatures. Cushions were a good width and support. The linen smelt lovely. Good storage for clothes! This hotel has a lovely atmosphere, it feels like coming home after a day out.
4 out of 5
by Charlotte

Comfortable and clean, but needs modernizing.

Posted Jun 11, 2017 on Hotels
Stayed here for 1 night as part of a mini break. Its location is brilliant being 5 minutes either way to the beack or into Shanklins old village. On arrival, we was greeted by a lovely lady who showed us the facilities and grounds prior to checking in. For what clearly is an old building it was well kept, dated, but comfortable. Their facilities are great but can defiently suited highly for families. Theres a pool, sauna, childrens area, pool table, air hockey table, table tennis and etc etc. We skipped the evening meal but menu looked lovely. Did a deal as a guest for 3 course meal for £17.99pp which i think is very reasonable. Breakfast was what you needed! Help yourself to fruits youghurts toast cereals etc and they take your hot food order. Was delicious and could find no fsult there . Our only down side was our room. Our particular room wouldnt be good for people who dont fancy walking up 2 flights of stairs one of which being very steep and narrow. It was on the 3rd floor and right at the end of the corridoor. Again where its an old buildling the floor boards creek and the walls paper thin. It was a good size room but could seriously do with some modernizing! A good lick of paint and some new chairs would do the trick. Other than we enjoyed our brief stay and would possibly consider a return in the late future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from England

Beautiful view from the Hotel

Posted May 5, 2017
Pros: see above
Cons: see above
Location: see above
Shanklin is by far the best place to stay on the island and the Luccombe Hall county house hotel is very well situated in it. The old town of Shanklin has some very nice pubs, restaurants and shops which are a short walk from the hotel. It is also close to the Theatre if you are lickt enough to be visiting when there is something on. The hotel itself had fantastic views from our balcony, the restaurant has great food which changes everyday and excellant service. A beautifully kept garden can be seen from the restaurant with activities from adult and kids alike. The place is let down a little by the desperate need for a lick of paint, especially on the hotel exterior and the emptiness of the reception area which has been recently decorated but needs some 'decoration' of some kind to stop it looking like some kind of civic building. The access stairs to the upper rooms are like some kind of classic Blackpool B&B and really need addressing. The Island itself is lovely, with really great and unexpected historyand everyone is exceptionally nice!